We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature lovers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nature lovers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very good hotel. Location is in the buffer zone of the national park and animals are free to roam through the grounds at will. Safari tours organised by the hotel are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the safari staff who also organise drivers for trips out not in the national park. Food is excellent and all staff are very attentive. Chalets are well kept and are well spaced from each other. Weather in June is dry but very hot. Two suggestions for the hotel: have a shop or make it easier to visit the national park shop and secondly have a notice board where recent wildlife sightings, daily temperatures, special events etc can be viewed.

Room Tip: All rooms look good and there is little reason to pay extra for superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We thank you for taking your time to share your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. While thanking you again for your feedback & for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    458
    123
    26
    20
See reviews for
409
781
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed two nights here in early March, mainly to do a safari in Yala National Park and it certainly did not disappoint.
The rooms were spacious and extremely well appointed. The restaurant, bar and swimming pool were all close together. One evening in the bar a wild boar came walking through - rather surreal to be in that situation. The food was great and they had a wonderful buffet, extremely varied. After an early morning safari, arranged through the hotel - amazing too, we returned to a buffet breakfast. Relaxing by the huge swimming pool overlooking a lake we were entertained by the water buffalo and could see crocodiles swimming below the surface.
Definitely a place to return too for a bit longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a jungle hut which was interesting as we had to be escorted after dark to the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chalets are quite similar to game lodges in Africa and as our hotel in situated in the buffer zone and just 10-15minutes away from the national park this particular aspect brings an experience of wildlife passing by together with a distant beach and jungle view. Also our rooftop bar gives a great atmosphere along with a great 360D view of the hotel from the rooftop observation deck. While thanking you for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location. Being a few minutes out of the park made it super convenient, especially since we did both a morning and evening safari. The full-service facilities, comfortable rooms, excellent service and view of the lake are a bonus. And it's true about wild animals roaming the grounds. Within 3 minutes of stepping out to go for dinner, I saw a herd of wild boars, a sambar deer, a mongoose and langurs just outside my room. And the monkeys woke me up at 4am in the morning, jumping and running up and down the roof of my chalet. But hey, small price to pay for being right in the heart of nature.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chalets are constructed in such away that you have a wonderful view of the wilderness and as our hotel in situated in the buffer zone this particular aspect brings an experience of wildlife passing by throughout the day within the hotel premises. While thanking you for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We extended our tour in order to visit Yala and we were not disappointed. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff very helpful. It felt very surreal to be that close to the wild animals roaming around. The food in the restaurant was good, I particularly enjoyed the fresh pasta. We were a little put off our meals in the restaurant however as it was so hot and humid so just wanted to eat our meal and leave as quickly as possible. They definitely needed more fans everywhere. That said, we were there for the safari's and they were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. And we thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at Cinnamon Wild Yala. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and it's only 15minutes away from the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises at all times. We do regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly valuable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. While thanking you again for your kind and constructive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for two nights here and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is the closest to Yala national park and has easy access to the park. We had a great little bungalow in the jungle. The hotel has a lovely pool, two bars and a good restaurant. The rooftop bar has great views out over the jungle and the ocean. Having dinner one night we watched an elephant walk around the restaurant and pool, a site we will never forget! Local wild boars, deer, water buffalo and many birds were also around all the time. We did two safaris to Yala which was absolutely amazing, we'll never forget seeing two leopards in the wild mating, absolutely amazing - but it did take two days to spot them!

Overall we loved our stay here and would highly recommend it, our guide said that other accommodation nearby to Cinnamon Wild is newer but built badly and gets very hot so we were very happy to have stayed here. Apparently this hotel also survived the tsunami when others didn't as it is build behind the sand dunes, this means it's a bit of a walk to the beach but is built with nature in mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. Because our hotel is located in the buffer zone and it's only 15minutes away from the national park hence wildlife roams free in and around the premises at all times. Also we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful safari and an experience you'll never forget. Our yala national park has a wide range of animals and birds for you to enjoy and also have a first hand in experience of seen the prince of cats in a very small country such as srilanka. it is also assumed that the park is host to one of the most highest densities of leopards in the world. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another wonderful and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Spent nine fabulous days at Cinnamon Wild Yala with my daughter. Delicious food, attentive staff, comfortable accommodation and amazing wildlife all in a superb setting. Would definitely recommend the hotel's official safari, the guides are very knowledgable and ensure that you get the most benefit from visit to the national park. Would love to return sometime.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We are truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful safari and an experience you'll never forget. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable and fantastic stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

A lot of good things to write about Cinnamon WIld so I will stick to bullet points.
Great location
Beautifully designed property utilizing the natural surroundings to full effect
Good food, although lacking a little on variety
Excellent views from the top deck, the pool and most of the rooms
very friendly staff, efficient service

You do get some less costly options for accommodation in the area, but if your looking for luxury and comfort and to get a little pampered, very few hotels in Yala can match what Wild will offer. Hoping to visit this year too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. And we thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at Cinnamon Wild Yala. Our rooftop observation deck & bar gives a great atmosphere along with a great 360D view from the highest part of the hotel also with the wild life roaming around the hotel at all times it gives you a very strong feeling that you're living amongst the wild animals. While thanking you again for your kind feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.9 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#4 of 36 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Property: Cinnamon Wild Yala
Address: P.O. Box 1, Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing