We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not reliable staffs”
Review of Cinnamon Wild Yala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not reliable staffs”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and husband checked in on June 5 for one nite, we stayed at room 419. Everything was ok, except it took more than 12 min. for the staff of reception to pick up the call during the dinner time! We checked out on June 6, we found out that we left the CF card (digital camera memory card) at the room, so we had the driver to call them, they actually found the card and called us back. They promised to mail the CF card to the driver (in Sri Lanka only), so the driver can redirect the card to us. Almost a month has gone by, the driver notified us that, the hotel hasn't send the card to him yet! I'm surprised that they don't honor their words!

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding you had with us after your departure. We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially about your lost and found SD card issue. We contacted your driver and when we asked for an address he gave one but it was not the correct address so we could not send it through to him. Afterwards we contacted your driver again and got the correct address and sent the SD card. Now we have already sent the SD card to your driver's address as he said that he could send it through to you. If you have any queries please feel free to e-mail me on 'fom.wild@cinnamonhotels.com'
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    488
    131
    27
    22
See reviews for
442
820
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in the heart of the forest, which gave me the feeling of "Living in Wild". The hotel staff (front office & restaurant) is excellent in hospitality and this should be definitely spoken about and appreciated. The forestry cabin experience in the zone of a national park (jungle) is remarkable. One of the best available hotel in Yala and I Would recommend it to anyone. Missed the chance of seen the LEOPARD :( But this provided me with a privileged to visit you again soon.

Thank You Guys,
Keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minali k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you are looking to be close to nature then this is the perfect place. Bordering Yala National Park you actually feel like you are staying within the park itself with so many animal in close proximity. We only stayed for a couple of days, but in the hotel grounds we saw a family of monkeys, a crocodile, an elephant, birds and even wild boar that slept under our chalet on one night......I can't express how great this hotel is! For safety purposes, you always get escorted around the hotel after dark due to the wild animals, but the staff are promptly there for you when you need to be escorted.

The jungle chalet was actually very nice, my only concern is the bugs and other insects that like to join you in your chalet! (This is to be expected though in this type of location). However, it was worth it for the lovely animals that you get to see around you.

The staff at the hotel were lovely as was the food and also the beautiful pool area close to the lake. A great place to stay and very close for those safaris in Yala. We travelled in November 2013 and were pleasantly surprised to have seen so many animals on the safari - including the Leopards.

Fantastic place!

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet close to the main section of the hotel. Jungle chalets attract the animals whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Cinnamon Wild in Yala National Park for two nights in June 2014. Our accommodation was clean and spacious and was like a cabin on stilts. The staff were lovely, the food was excellent - good choice for vegetarians. On our wedding anniversary the hotel presented us with a cake after dinner - such a nice touch. You have to be walked from your cabin to the restaurant in the evening due to the location and wild animals, but the staff were very quick to come after reception had been called. The swimming pool was great for relaxing and you could watch the crocodiles from the loungers! Brilliant. We enjoyed the 360 degree viewing area - we were lucky enough to see a leopard through our binoculars. Our barman spotted it with the naked eye! Would highly recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The best available hotel in Yala
Would recommend it to anyone. Food and rooms are up to standards and it's located minutes from the park. Staffs service was Excellent. Another love site there is the wildlife roaming around the hotel at daytime

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ijaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Bungalows are terrific (we were upgraded to Ocean View - thanks!), common areas are well thought out, staff are very friendly and efficient, and food was lovely but the standout for us was definitely the location - right in the buffer zone next to the National Park so we had monkeys, deers, crocodiles and elephants wandering around the area by the pool.... outstanding!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very good hotel. Location is in the buffer zone of the national park and animals are free to roam through the grounds at will. Safari tours organised by the hotel are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the safari staff who also organise drivers for trips out not in the national park. Food is excellent and all staff are very attentive. Chalets are well kept and are well spaced from each other. Weather in June is dry but very hot. Two suggestions for the hotel: have a shop or make it easier to visit the national park shop and secondly have a notice board where recent wildlife sightings, daily temperatures, special events etc can be viewed.

Room Tip: All rooms look good and there is little reason to pay extra for superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shehan2014, Public Relations Manager at Cinnamon Wild Yala, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We thank you for taking your time to share your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Wild Yala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. While thanking you again for your feedback & for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirinda
0.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,512 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nikara Yala
Nikara Yala
#2 of 2 in Kirinda
94 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
303 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tissamaharama
566 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Wild Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Wild Yala

Property: Cinnamon Wild Yala
Address: P.O. Box 1, Kirinda 82614, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Wild Yala)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kirinda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Wild Yala 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Wild after undergoing a brand enhancement is more than a resort; it is an extension of the Yala National park and is intended to be part of the National park. It is designed to represent rustic luxury, resembling a game lodge. Cinnamon Wild Yala exceeds guest expectations with interiors that give the camp look and feel, embedded with large trunk boxes, old vintage furniture, director's chairs and indigenous artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Wild Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Wild Yala Hotel Kirinda
Yala Village Kirinda
Yala Village Hotel Kirinda
Cinnamon Wild Yala Sri Lanka/Kirinda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing