We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, perfect for national park safari's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely room, perfect for national park safari's”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed our stay. The room was large and spotless, Wifi was a bit dodgy in the room but that didn't really bother us. Another minor point was the shower curtains were hopeless which meant the bathroom flooded everytime we had a shower. The food was pretty good and the location is very convienent for safari's in the national park. We found the staff, esepcially in the restaurant to be very friendly and polite. We would definitely come here again if visiting Uda Walawe national park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPolwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    299
    160
    41
    26
See reviews for
213
377
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel was modern and stylish. The room was the best we had in Sri Lanka. A king size bed with a clean room and a clean bathroom. We really liked this hotel. We had dinner here and although it was a buffet we were offered of only having the mains and dessert at a reduced price as there was no a la carte. The mutton stew if the lamb had been tender was delicious. The food on the buffet was of a good standard but I do not approve of hotels only offering a buffet to their guests. The value is extremely good but I do prefer a choice from a menu. The staff were very good and we ended up in the lovely little bar for a drink at the end of the meal. We had an Arrak cocktail, our first introduction to this locally made brandy. The cocktail was a mixture of Arrak , grenadine, Ginger ale and pineapple juice. It was delightful as was this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the_clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

As you can see from the website this is a fairly ‘soulless’ large modern hotel. However, our (deluxe) room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is fantastically located for the Udawalawe safari drives and the elephant transit centre. Where the hotel exceeded our expectations was the delightful staff and the brilliant Sri Lankan breakfast (probably the second best of our 2 week trip!). We didn’t have the evening meal so can’t comment on that. My only complaint would be that the air conditioning was very noisy but earplugs can solve that!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the deluxe room and it was a very good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Me and my wife spent two nights in the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. Bathroom was bit small but accepatable. Pool area was excellent and the staff in the pool was also very helpful.However the rest of the staff was very unfriendly. May be this was due to the reason that we were locals. Most of them were helping out the forigners almost all the time, but when we ask for something had to wait a long time to get the service in the restaurant. Food was slightly ok, but lacked variation.

Also internet faciluty was available inside the rooms, and wifi was only available in pool side and in the lobby area

Don't recommend locals to go there based on their service. Need to improve a lot on how to properly treat their visitors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chathuranga86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as we were visiting the National Park. The hotel is very convenient and close to the National Park which is a plus. The room was a good size and had efficient air con. The bathroom was small and that's not a problem, my only gripe is that if the hotel provides a shower curtain it should be long enough to stop water! We found the restaurant to be soulless, dark, and I don't like a TV in the dining room. We didn't dine late but at 9pm there was only one other couple in there. The food was ok with a fair amount of choice, but the restaurant lacked soul, the staff in the restaurant were also joyless. This was in stark comparison to other staff who couldn't have been more helpful. My wife used the pool and the facilities there were very good. As a stop over the hotel provided exactly that type of service, good enough to be ok but nothing to make you want to come back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Massive hotel with large reception, swimming and eating areas although only about 60 rooms I think. The buffet breakfast and dinner were both really great. The a la carte dinner when we stayed one night when they didn't have enough rooms to put on the buffet was very poor indeed! As far as the rooms go: Great space and big bed but poor pillows and the noisiest air conditioning ever. Overall the hotel felt 'dated' despite not being really that old I think.

Location is perfect for a safari trip into Uda Walawe though, only being <10 mins from main gate and also about 500m from elephant orphanage (if you do safari you really don't need to go but if the entrance fee helps them keep it going it's definitely a worthwhile cause)


Like many hotels in this part of the world it's slightly let down by the service at times - nobody is able to take control and actually arrange something..... like a safari! (the one thing they should be good at!) and then try and charge you for it when they leave! The staff had nearly 24 hours to arrange our safari and managed to screw it up nearly wrecking the purpose of the trip down to Uda Walawe - step in our driver who despite living nowhere near the area managed to find a suitable vehicle with 5 minutes notice, whilst 8 hotel staff (i kid you not!) scrambled around trying to dig themselves out of the mess.
My recommendation would be arrange your safari directly with a guy outside where you can pay him direct and check out the vehicle before committing. There really isn't a problem doing it last minute if you're on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank topturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Terrible hotel. Terrible staff. Terrible attitude.

We arrived to find our room mosquito infested. We asked the staff to look into it when we went to the pool. They assured us it would be looked into. It was not.

We went out for dinner to a local place. We asked them to look into the mosquitoes. They assured us they would. We returned to find nothing was done. Ironically, the restaurant where we had dinner was by the lake and had less mosquitos.

We asked to speak to the Duty Manager. He was indifferent to our situation and reluctantly moved us to another room. There were only slightly fewer mosquitos.

The quality of the rooms was poor for the money.

Ironically our driver's room had mosquito nets over the bed!

We left in the morning, cutting short our stay. I could not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
4.5 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kalu's Hideaway
Kalu's Hideaway
#2 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
554 reviews
14.4 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 32 in Uda Walawe National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
108 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#5 of 32 in Uda Walawe National Park
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Safari Hotel
Elephant Safari Hotel
#13 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort

Property: The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
Address: No. 912 Thanamalwila Road | (1 km from Thibolketiya (Barrier) Junction), Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, offering 4-star facilities. We have 53 Deluxe and Superior rooms and 4 suite rooms.The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort, situated on 7 acres of land, is located 163 kilometers away from Colombo, We are only 500 meters from the Ath Athuru Sevana (Elephant Orphernage), five minutes drive from the Uda Walawe National Park. It is very conveniently located with easy access to places such as the Mahinda Rajapaksa Cricket Stadium, the Ruhunu Magampura Mahinda Rajapaksa Port and the Mattala Mahinda Rajapaksa International Airport.One of the most significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ picturesque swimming pool. Ingeniously fashioned from the Malabotu Ara, a natural waterway bordering three sides of the property, it preserves the natural ambience and the awe-inspiring quality of the jungle atmosphere with the shade of the stately Kumbuk trees, which were preserved in order to allow the guests of the hotel the coolness and to maintain the healthy quality of the air and water.The other significant feature of the Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort is its’ open air theater named ‘Wala”.The hotel is equipped with a Banquet Hall seating 400 pax and a Restaurant seating 250 pax, a fully equipped Conference Hall and a state-of-the-art Business Centre, a complete Gymnasium, a Mini-Theatre, the Main Kitchen catering to the Restaurant, and a satellite kitchen catering to the Pool Bar and a Banquet Kitchen in the upper floor catering to the Banquet Hall, located so as not to disturb the idyllic existence of the guests, who venture into the jungle to escape the humdrum day-to-day life in the City braving the rat race. The hotel has 24 hour room service and extensive laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing