We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem”
Review of Kalu's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalu's Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericia, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I stayed one night as part of my trip to Uda Walawe National Park.

Kalu's Hideaway is built and owned by former Sri Lankan wicketkeeper/batsman Romesh Kaluwitarana - dubbed Little Kalu by cricket commentators. I was very lucky that Kalu was there during my stay. He is a very down to earth person and meeting one of the former top stars in Sr Lankan cricket made my stay special.

Kalu has really tried to keep everything looking natural using lots of teak wood - furniture, floors and ceilings.

My room was nice with satellite tv, fan, air condition and mosquito net. Big bathroom with nice hot water.

Food was delicious and the staff were superb.

Kalu's Hideaway does not have a liquor license, but it's not a problem bringing your own bottle. Nearest off license is in Uda Walawe town about 2 km away.

The only downsides were:
- LKR 1,000 had been added to my bill for food for my guide and my driver because I was a solo traveller
- LKR 400 for a pot of tea. It was actually a pot of hot water and a LKR 2 tea bag.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans_DEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    188
    87
    30
    16
See reviews for
141
299
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Kalu's Hideaway for one night in order to go on a game drive at Uda Walawe National Park. We could have definetely stayed longer - it was gorgeous!! The manager Lucky and his staff are superb - will cater to your every need. There is a very homely feel about this place because of these staff.

There are 7 rooms and a lovely dining area and brilliant pool. They have really tried hard to keep everything looking natural with lots of wood etc. The room was fantastic and clean with cable TV. We were asked by Lucky what we wanted for dinner in advance so that we could chose a hot or mild curry which was brilliant.

The dining experience was incredible, despite asking for a curry each, our table was filled with Sri Lankan food, about 4 types of curry, side dishes, bread etc. It was fantastic, Lucky explained to us that this is the traditional Sri Lankan way and that if guests come into the home it becomes a feast.

You cannot go wrong with this place, it is really special how it incorporates being modern but with a natural feel to it also. It was the staff though that really made it, only about 4 staff when we stayed but everything you could want was catered for. Definitley stay here if visiting Uda Walawe.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We struggled to find a good place to stay in this area .. but we were delighted with our choice. It is very close to Uda Walawe Nat Park and is like a little miniature resort. The food was great, the pool was wonderful, and service was excellent by Sri Lankan standards. Our bathroom was wonderful, but our only complaint was that our bedroom had no outlook at all .. like the proverbial black hole !
Don't miss the Nat Park .. it was the highlight of our Sri Lankan trip, and the Elephants amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

If five star travel is your thing then don't stay at Kalu's. It's in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do other than visit Uda Walawe National Park (which we did).

Booked to stay for one night, we extended to two. Rooms are simple but very comfy with around 60 tv channels. Internet is available upon request, at a minimal cost. The food was simply magnificent. After watching a Sri Lankan couple being served traditional breakfast food while we stared at runny fried eggs we opted for a full Sri Lankan menu. Being the only guests there possibly gave us an advantage but I get the feeling Lucky and his crew would have gone out of their way for anyone.

We were treated to magnificent food and Lucky even sent someone out to find fresh Jackfruit for me to try. Nothing was a problem.

A mini safari in the nearby Park was a highlight. Saman our tracker had a nack for elephant spotting and we saw many wild elephants at close quarters.

All in all a top spot for relaxation and rest.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquagirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed one night as part of our trip to Uda Walawae National park. It was a great little gem. The people were friendly. the food was great and the Hideaway was very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DohaWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piliyandala ,Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

it is located very close to udawalawa national park,little kalu's concept is wonderfull,three very large rooms with every facilities and very clean,very safe pool, nice garden,beutiful restaurant,child's play area,vollyball court and everything is there.especial thing to say ,manager lucky and his staff is very freindly and their service is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69696969pullaperuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Kalu's Hideaway is a wonderful jungle retreat. The setting is beautiful, the management team goes out of their way to accommodate you and the hotel is very close to Uda Walawe National Park.

Let's get this out of the way at the start: Kalu's isn't a 5-star resort, nor does it claim to be. The rooms are simple and have all the essentials (excluding shampoo.) Every effort is made to keep the rooms and common areas clean. Let's be realistic though, this is the jungle. There bugs, critters, and yes there is even a dirt road. Anybody who is complaining about bugs in their room should not even be travelling to Sri Lanka. I'm sure there is a Four Seasons somewhere else in the world where you would be more happy (and you'll pay 5 times the cost of Kalu's.)

Now on to the good stuff: The staff at Kalu's is amazing! Lucky, the manager, is very kind and helpful. He was very concerned about us because we showed up late. We told the hotel in advance we would have a late arrival, but Lucky was still genuinely concerned for our well-being (he knew we rented a car and drove ourselves, crazy Americans.) Even though we arrived after 9pm, dinner was ready for us. We paid for half-board which is an excellent option in this part of the country. The food at Kalu's is delicious and the portions are huge. The staff even played with our 9 month old while my tired wife and I ate dinner.

Our room was a nice size with two twin beds pushed together to form a king size. The staff had procured a crib for our daughter as well. The bathroom was basic, but functional, with an electric shower. There was almost too much heat with the shower. Any previous review complaining about no hot water couldn't figure out how to turn it on (the outlets themselves have a switch to power on.)

The hotel has 5 rooms and they plan to add another building with some more. If you are able to get the upstairs room, that is the best option. It has great views over the countryside. There is a very nice pool right off the open-air dining area with deck chairs, towels and two bathrooms. The staff was constantly working on cleaning and improving the hotel grounds. Everybody was quick to give us a smile, but completely respected our privacy.

If you are going to Sri Lanka, I highly recommend going to the interior of the island. Uda Walawe is a great place and you are guaranteed to see Asian Elephants, water buffalo and plenty of other wildlife. We also went to the Elephant Orphanage to watch the babies getting fed. This was a 45 minute excursion and well worth the price. Even if you can't get to this part of the country, try to get to Kandy. The interior of the island is very different than the coastal areas.

All and all we couldn't be happier to have chosen Kalu's Hideaway. The staff is excellent, the grounds are beautiful and the accommodations affordable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
2.4 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
174 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
771 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 24 in Uda Walawe National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#6 of 32 in Uda Walawe National Park
115 reviews
11.8 mi away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#8 of 32 in Uda Walawe National Park
101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nature House Udawalawa
Nature House Udawalawa
#1 of 20 in Udawalawa
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalu's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Property: Kalu's Hideaway
Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalu's Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Kalu's Hideaway Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing