We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two week stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahangama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
7th Sky Idyll Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 39 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great two week stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

For 5-Star paradise check into the Fortress at 600$ a night, alternatively check-in to 7th Sky Idyll for a clean, friendly, atmospheric stay at a reasonable price. This is Sri Lanka; adapt.

The staff will go out of their way to help you; the owner has local knowledge and genuinely wants his guests to have a great time - but of course he is trying to make a profit at the same time, be realistic.The rooms are very basic but clean; the trick is getting to know the cleaner and he will confirm with you whether you need your room serviced - and if necessary he will do this every day, The guest house also has a 24 hr security patrol.

Breakfast is included and is a good spread of fruit, bread and eggs. The menu in the restaurant is however limited and food takes quite some time to arrive.

The guest house is right on the beach, you can hear and see the sea from your room, and apparently the surf is great (I don't know anything about surfing).

The Christmas eve party is great fun and really well organised - BBQ, DJs and photographer and all the staff get involved.

7th Sky is undergoing constant upgrading also, so the standard is likely only to improve and returning guests were complimenting all the changes that had been made in just the past year since their last visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    7
    7
    19
See reviews for
8
22
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I really can't understand the other reviewers. I think this is a great place and It's own by locals. Sure you could check in to your classic 4 Star Hotel, but this place has a real Vibe.
The Owner is always happy to help and the guys in Service are really friendly.The Rooms are simple and clean.

Chilling out directly at the Ocean is just great. There are also 3 Surfing Spots just in front of the Hotel-Perfect!

Room Tip: I would recommend to get a Room in the Top of the main house, You will have a really nice view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evilnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Its interesting to see that the other bad reviews about this place fit neatly with my experience. A booking that was never actually made. Being put in the shed in the back and charged a bomb for it to have a shared toilet with no toilet seat. Terrible food. Waiting 3 hours for a toasted jaffle (No lies!). The manager is an absolute scammer. He basically traps tourists who organise surf trips through companies and pay upfront who are then forced to stay there for a week as they've already paid. There is NO reservation at all. After staying for 2 nights we left to a guest lodge a few kilometres down the road which was amazing. We stayed in Sri Lanka for over a month.

Its a shame, as this place has a great location and beach for surfing. The owner also seems to have a strange relationship with locals. On our Christmas dinner which was cooked terribly and so overpriced, we had to bear witness to drunk locals coming into the place and then starting a fight and scaring girls. Another local got bashed on the beach in front of us and several cameras were stolen.

Do yourself a favour and never come here. There are places a million times better for a tenth of the price!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ralph150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ahangama hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We went, got put in a back room beside the road, shared shower, had dinner, burned overpriced fried rice, wanted to leave the next day, owner charged us a room rate for sea view upstairs room, when we commented about this and said that the prices on the internet said different, he said that the website was out of date and not the prices anymore? That's easy hey? My opinion owner is seeing dollar bills and wants to make as much money as fast as possible, without providing the quality... Don't go

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The guy that runs the place is a jerk and will rip you off whenever he gets a chance. Don't bother trying to book because he tells you that you have a reservation but when you show up he has nothing and offers you spot in his shed for a ridiculous price. I am so glad he stuffed us around because I had a amazing holiday staying elsewhere! Don't ever stay here please it will ruin your holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fonzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The positives of this place?

- Friendly Owner who speaks great English and is always willing to help you and can arrange for any trips, motorbike hire etc. etc.
- The excellent location right on a quiet beach that's great for swimming or surfing (except for sandflies - See below)
- The grounds are pleasant places to be (except for rubbish - See below)

The negatives:

- When my wife and I stayed there the cleanliness of the place was a disgrace. The bathrooms (which for some rooms are communal and none have hot water) were cleaned once in a week. There was rubbish on the ground outside which we recognised as having been in the bathroom bin a day before - This lay there for several days and wasn't picked up by the time we left. The toilets by the bar in particular resembled something at the end of Glastonbury festival by the time we left. We also had to go and ask for our bedding to be changed after 5 days as it hadn't been done.

- The restaurant serves an average breakfast (disgusting coffee, barely cooked toast, some fruit, eggs) and poor food for lunch and dinner. It's also outrageously over-priced (things must have changed since the guy below said it was good value in 2010).

- The beach is infested with sandflies. This is a great shame as it's a lovely beach. The management didn't tell us this when we booked in advance or checked in etc., so we didn't buy any citronella oil on the way there (which is what wards them off, Deet doesn't work). Hence my wife and I are still covered in their bites. Everyone else staying in the guest house was also covered in bites to a greater or lesser degree.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely guesthouse. The location is super: it's close to Galle, but not too close, so the beach isn't busy and it's almost on the beach. The rooms are big. We had a triple room for the 4 of us (2 adults + 2 children).
You will have the lovely beach in front of the hotel with white sand and blue sea almost for yourself.
The food in the open restaurant is good. It isn't the best we've had in Sri Lanka, but it's not bad. But the food is expensive. Ons saturday there was a barbecue and the've charged 2000Rs for 1 person. That's the most expensive meal we've had in Sri Lanka, and it wasn't that good (chicken was burned, tuna was very dry).
You can use the bodyboards and surfboards they have (old ones) but they charge you another 900Rs for 1 day (no matter how long you use them).
Would I go back there? Probably yes (because of the atmosphere and great location) but I certainly would eat somewhere else...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahangama hotels
0.7 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timeless Villa
Timeless Villa
#7 of 39 in Ahangama
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mosvold Villa
Mosvold Villa
#1 of 39 in Ahangama
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Crest
Ocean Crest
#5 of 39 in Ahangama
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kabalana Hotel by Ceilao Villas
0.5 mi away
Camp Poe
Camp Poe
#1 of 36 in Ahangama
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7th Sky Idyll Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7th Sky Idyll Guesthouse

Property: 7th Sky Idyll Guesthouse
Address: Welhengoda, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
7th Sky Idyll Guesthouse Sri Lanka/Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing