We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect surfing vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaka Sign Surf Camps - CLOSED

Shaka Sign Surf Camps
Type:
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shaka Sign Surf is the one stop shop for surfing and beach holidays here in Sri Lanka. We provide you with attractive surf training packages (Dry&Wet Program), Surf Explore for intermediates and budget packages for surfing backpackers. Beach holiday packages customized to meet your expectations, Yala Safari tours as well as other excursions including cultural and heritage tours are managed alongside the surfing in Sri Lanka while still in par with affordability.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect surfing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a great time at the Shaka Sign Surf Camp. The rooms were beautiful and freshly painted. Because of the sea just in front of the house, we enjoyed a nice sea breeze all day long. Manu and Eva, together with the local guys, made our stay perfect with great food and on small wave days, trips to nice places, like a snake farm and a batik factory. We surfed the best surfspots guided by Manu, who is a great surfing teacher! I would love to go back there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, cool surf, loveable people and best food in hole Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed only 2 nights included 1 day surfing lesson. It was the best place in 2 weeks travelling through Sri Lanka. We totally enjoyed everything and definitly would love to come back and stay longer. The camp at lace rock beach is a great place to chill out, having an awesome time, good surf and enjoy real local sri lankan food from Akhila. Eva and Manu - a loveable german couple - are always busy making the guests feel like in paradise!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank linksherum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surf-Devil - Surf Camp Check (no 4): The Retreat Madiha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Mid-March 2013, it was called for nine “devils”: Pack your bags! The luggage contained, next to the surfboards, primarily some boardshorts and sun cream. Finally, it was to leave behind the snowy Germany to explore the warm waves of Sri Lanka.



The aim of the two-week trip was "The Retreat Madiha" resort runed by "Shaka Sign Surf”, which we headed with Etihad Airways. Landed in Colombo, we took the shuttle to the south, to the nearby Mirissa located accommodation.

Formerly known as the "Royal Surf Resort" bungalow, it´s led by Shaka Sign chef Mr. Gallage. The house has four 2-bed rooms, which are connected each with small bathrooms. These are like known in many surf camps, modestly furnished, and to keep clean on your own. The community area is equipped with wireless internet and as generously spacy as the facility itself. After a few days on plastic chairs we noticed that there were missing also other possibilities to take seat, for example in the form of armchairs or large pillows, but the excellent dishes that had been served up daily by Gallage, we even could enjoy without such western luxuries. For breakfast they served fresh fruit, toast, jam, omelets or scrambled eggs and on demand also the traditional "string hoppers". Lunch and dinner (not included in the price), we could order for little money. The choice of food was enormous: fish, meat, rice, pasta - cooked in every possible way. We tried everything (on demand even lobster) and everything was excellent. That no one gained weight, is probably only due to the good waves ...



Just in a two minute-walk from the house there is the surf spot "Turtle Peak", for which Madiha is already well known by insiders. Imagine a small bay, where there is coming in a right and a left wave and where there are turtles frolicking sometimes ... here there is the channel to paddle out right in the middle of the bay. In this flow, surfers can effortlessly drive right into the lineup without even make their hair wet. If you arrive outside, you only need to decide: "backside or frontside?"

Both waves pass over a coral reef. The right-running waves break in more pleasant, deeper water, so that the ground contact is actually excluded. But they are also a little slower than the left-running waves. This has the disadvantage that they break into very shallow water here and that there should really rather advanced surfers go. But attention of the running water - at some point it is still only knee deep, and it may be dangerous at certain wave size and missing surfing skills.



Apart of Turtle Peak, numerous other reef and beach breaks can be reached with the surf camp belonging Tuk Tuk's. Also some cultural highlights, such as the temple-house with the unpronounceable name "Weherahena Purvarama Raja Maha Vihara" and its 39-meter high Buddha statue, or the on the southern tip of Sri Lanka situated lighthouse Dondra are comfortable to reach with the Tuk Tuk.



Madiha itself is a small and quiet village, which homes many friendly locals and many, mostly small dogs. In addition to a mini-kiosk around the corner of the camp, you can reach in about ten minutes on foot a bakery and a "Bake and Take", in which there is incredibly cheap food. (Recommended for example, is the vegetarian burger menu, including French Fries, on top a freshly squeezed juice with vanilla ice cream! It´s not recommended to start your trip to the restaurant in the midday sun).



At all, "The Retreat Madiha" definitely is worth a visit. The surf, the weather, the people, the food, the chipmunks, the turtles and the whole environment will make your stay in Sri Lanka unforgettable. Another tip: Pack definitely the strongest sun cream, which you can find and do not skimp when applying!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mathias U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akhila G, Public Relations Manager at Shaka Sign Surf Camps, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hello Mathias,

Greetings from the Sunny south of Sri Lanka.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We surely enjoyed hosting your group as much as you enjoyed staying with us.

Shaka Sign Surf team look forward to welcoming you and other similar surf groups from Germany, always with a smile!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great surf instruction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Akhila was 100% reliable. He was totally flexible with me and everything worked out exactly as planned. Weligama was the perfect location for surf instruction and Priyal was a fantastic teacher. My only gripe was the accommodation and town are very remote so be prepared so sit around doing nothing when you're not surfing (most people probably won't mind this).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akhila G, Public Relations Manager at Shaka Sign Surf Camps, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Ayubowan!

It was a treat having you with us! Thank you for a great review and we hope that you will be back soon to experience the thrill of surfing in South Sri Lanka again!

Warmest Regards,

Akhila Goonetilleke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“they know the best that SL has to offer :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

These guys are the best thing that has happened to SL tourism. They know how to do every single thing and done it to perfection on their program.
Akhila - Great host, good friend, knowledgeable, sensible, and visionary.
Priyal - Great host, good friend, good teacher, a very patient person, sensible and his passion to surf has made me realize at times we can still chose the passion and live life change.
Shaka Sign Surf - These guys deserve a 9/10 rating for all that they have done.
A definite real thing.
Wishing you all the best in your future endeavors.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dhivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaka Sign Surf Camps also viewed

Ahangama, Southern Province
Ahangama, Southern Province
 
Ahangama, Southern Province
Ahangama, Southern Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing