We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel with personalized service & great food”
Review of W15 Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W15 Escape
Ranked #6 of 43 Ahangama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish boutique hotel with personalized service & great food”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were there in 2012. The accommodation has approx. 6 stylish bungalows with outside garden/ bathroom; They serve Amazing breakfast (different options available) on the outside veranda and also have great dinner choices; Owners also give you good recommendations for excursions and other good restaurants. Overall great and very relaxed vacation;

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BianchinaLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay at The Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us, experiencing a comfortable & spacious room to stay in and enjoying the sumptuous cuisine we offer.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDAGAMA
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
92
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

As you walk in to 'The Three' you realise the entire process of renovating this old Sri Lankan house was a labour of love for it's owners. The Scandinavians have gone all white and looked at a lot of finer details that make this special to any other villa. Few things you must note, if you don't like insects do not visit. The outdoor toilets and the pure white rooms and the surrounding vegetation makes it a thriving place for Mosquitos, ants and others. But as time progressed we got used to it. The villa has a lovely pool. The beach is a few hundred meter walk away. It was nice spot to have bathe though the rain gods were not very kind to us. We also visited the folk museum and the turtle hatchery which were close by. The truly special service we got was our highlight of the entire visit. Jayaweera the great man at the front desk attended to all our needs. And the other staff were more than accommodating. Despite being short staffed they were excellent. We also had the pleasure of meeting Upali who manages the villas for Jetwing in the area. When we mentioned that we were heading to the beach he invited us to their other property Mosvald which had a beautiful stretch to swim in. Overall I would recommend the villa. So what's with the four stars? Well we went on full board and though the Sri Lankan dishes were good the rest of the food was quite mundane. It would nice for some variety in the menu. This is an ideal place for a nights visit to absorb it's unique style. Thanks again to the lovely staff.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at The Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours, for it clearly conveys that you have indulged in the Jetwing Hospitality rendered by our team.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and we are glad you also enjoyed the visit to one of the sister properties in the area.

However, we regret if any inconvenience caused and we hope that you would stay with us again the next time you visit Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDAGAMA
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and loved it there, but accept it will not suit all. Most of the time we were one of two guests so large parts it felt like a private villa. There are only 6 rooms in total so even when the hotel is full it still feels exceptionally personal.

My highlights:
- Very friendly staff - all of them are very keen to help and always full of smiles.
- Lovely pool and beautifully kept communal area with comfortable beds, good shade and very clean pool. This area also gets nice sea views and benefits from a nice breeze by being a little elevated.
- Food was consistently excellent - breakfast was particularly recommended.
- Wildlife is abundant. we had monkeys, squirrels, lizards, beautiful bird life and tree frogs. To be fair the tree frog was in the outside bathroom, but it's normal in the tropics.
- Airport transfers were well organised.
- Check in/out was quick and efficient.
- Free wifi throughout the property. It's not fast, but it worked.

To be aware of:
- It's a short walk to the local beach and it's not developed for tourists or good for swimming. Our tuk-tuk driver walked us to his local beach another 3-4 minutes walk away : completely undeveloped, but safe for swimming and very peaceful.
- THe hotel is in Angama. It's about 25 minutes in a tuk-tuk to Unawatuna. THere's a partly developed beach near Unawatuna that is as beatiful as any I've seen in the world.
- All the bathroom facilities are very private, but outside. No problem but it means the mozzies are a problem. Personally I would live with this to keep the local wildlife (or move the bathroom inside!!).
- There are no TVs. THere is one in the reception area and we watched the cricket there. Personally I did not miss the TV.

Room Tip: If you want alcohol bring your own or buy local Arak!! Hotel can keep it cool in their fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at The Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, while enjoying sumptuous cuisine offered.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and it is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests who have understood the concept of this little haven.

However, we regret if any inconvenience caused. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDAGAMA
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hideaway villa, small chalet type bungalows situated in a beautiful garden. The rooms were basic with outdoor shower/ toilet etc my own preferences are definitely indoor. The mosquito problem was annoying.
Unfortunately no tv but wifi is available.
This villa is charming with a lovely pool
and sunbeds with canopies and towels.
The staff were very attentive and polite service very good. The food was good and enjoyable. Just a few tweaks here and there to be done but on the whole very pleasant. This place is ideal for people who want alot of peace and quiet nothing
much going on.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your descriptive review on the Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

The concept of this small haven, based on peace and tranquility is adored by Guests who wish to have nothing better than a relaxed holiday, hassle-free from the busy schedules. This being the reason we have very minimal entertainment facilities within the premises. Nevertheless, we are happy to know you had enjoyed ourwi-fi facility.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities we make this an opportunity to welcome you again for yet another memorable stay with us.

We will be more than happy to serve you.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDIGAMA
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and stayed at Three by TVP/Jetwing, expecting a very high end luxury hotel, unfortunately when we arrived the first thing we noticed was that the beach was not a tourist beach and in between the hotel and the beach was a main road with constant beeping or horns. You have to take a tuktuk to access the tourist style beaches which takes around 20mins.

Having had quite a tiring trip around Sri Lanka without much luxury we decided to order some cocktails, soon to be told that the hotel no longer held a liquor licence since been taken over by Jetwing (something we were not warned of in advance). With no other bars or hotels nearby we were forced to make do and managed to buy a very expensive bottle of wine.
Our first two nights were not the tranquil restful nights we'd hoped for as unfortunately we had very noisy thoughtless neighbours who banged the door to the outside bathroom and talked at the top of their voices until 2am. The design of the rooms meant the noise travelled across the structure. The manager who was standing in, did offer to move us, but it turned out the other room was booked and as our neighbours were departing we hoped for quieter people, luckily this was the case for our last three nights.
The grounds of the hotel were lovely and after getting used to the road noise, we managed to relax by the pool and I spent a happy afternoon watching the monkeys swinging through the trees and run along the roofs of the rooms.
The staff were friendly, warm and helpful especially the waiters and young manager who was thrown in at the last minute in what was obviously the change over period from TVP to Jetwing.
The room cleaning and towel replacement was not consistent throughout the stay, but we were gifted with a lovely Sri Lankan artwork on New Year's Eve and I enjoyed ginger tea most mornings in bed. We were not provided with bathrobes or slippers as originally advertised through our booking operator and the outside shower was let down by the poorly designed wooden floor with rusting nails showing through the paintwork. The bathroom area was generally poorly maintained and to echo this the sun-loungers around the pool were also in desperate need of maintenance.
The food was very good and I really missed the lovely spread of fresh fruit and English style eggs and toast on return home and smiley waiters in the mornings. Some evenings the choice for vegetarians was quite limited though.
During our stay we booked a lovely massage through the hotel, which was a highlight of that part of the trip. We felt other options and tourist attractions were poorly advertised and the staff seemed unclear about destinations or how to access things and the trip we did book was disappointing as we didn't get to see any wildlife.

Style over substance would be our summary of this hotel and a dream honeymoon destination it was not, but we did try to make the most of the good points, which could be built upon in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxy-Duffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all allow me to thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. Going through your comments I trust you will allow us to extend our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us, whilst assuring you that your feedback has our full attention.

The few mishaps when it comes to the service will be immediately looked in to. As a Villa property of the Jetwing Group of Hotels, we maintain a unique level of hospitality, which we have slightly failed to extend to you and your husband during your stay with us. Please accept our humble apologies once again.

Nevertheless, we very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and we hope you will visit us again in future someday soon, giving us yet another opportunity to greet you and treat you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDIGAMA
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Upon finding this resort (which is tucked away off the main road)- ask locals around ahangama for directions- google maps fails- found out managed by JetWing

Room was lovely, pool was lovely and the bed was comfortable. No tv in the room but time is best spent here either eating or by the pool. Ahangama beach is about a ten min walk (the three is across road on a hill)

Food was good- let down only by new years meal which we opted in for, cost 50 but lacked variety. Was pork, fish or cheese cauliflowers.

Staff were friendly and attentive

Would say the hotel needs a spray in bathroom areas as the mosquitoes get ya

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borlange, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We visited the TPV for lunch. Nice setting but unfortunately we were disappointed. Mixed fruit juice tasted bad. All others we had in Sri Lanka been soo good. Ordered chicken, feta, avocadosalad and the portion was enough to be a starter. No bred, no dressing, just a bland salad, OK taste and fresh though. Went straight to another lunchplace after for 2nd lunch! And on top of this it was our most expensive lunch during our two weeks in Sri Lanka. Not recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OnedgeXiphiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at W15 Escape, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, allow me to thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your experience at the Three by Jetwing, Ahangama. We assure you that your comments have our full attention.

It is very unfortunate you had to face such a situation at the Three. We most humbly extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I will personally see to this matter and make sure necessary actions are taken to make sure such situations do not repeat in future.

I hope you will not allow your previous experience be your last with us. We hope you will visit us again, the next time you come to Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

UPALI WISIDIGAMA
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.7 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 14 in Weligama
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
194 reviews
9.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
264 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#2 of 6 in Ahangama
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W15 Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W15 Escape

Property: W15 Escape
Address: Mahavihara Road | Ahangama Kanda, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — W15 Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W15 Escape is what happens when Asian design, modern thinking and western standard come together in perfect harmony. This boutique hotel offers all guests a piece of tranquility and luxury living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your W15 Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
W15 Escape Sri Lanka/Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing