We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
188
36
11
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
36
11
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka surfing beach cafe ceylon exquisite food connecting rooms immaculate service suite overlooking the pool clean water swim directly true oasis stilt fishermen enjoyed every moment road noise plenty of sun loungers deluxe room coastal road stunning location
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018

A small and delightful, well managed hotel, that ticks so many boxes.
Our spacious and comfortable bedroom with en-suite bathroom was spotlessly clean.
The food - we ate too much - was beautifully presented and tasted so good. It was nice to see the chef talking to so many guests and getting direct feed back on what they had just eaten. There is a good size swimming pool, which has recently been re-grouted and a small spa which was amazing. The garden area at the front of the hotel is beautifully maintained. How they have such a fine green and healthy lawn is a mystery to me! The staff were very friendly and tirelessly helpful.
Can't wait for our next stay,

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosvoldHotels, Public Relations Manager at Mosvold Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your humble words. Our staff work dedicated to uphold service and quality standards, it is indeed a reassurance for us to hear encouraging words and we truly are thankful to you. Certainly the garden is a challenge, but we work tirelessly to keep it green as we can because we understand how much value it adds to the hotel's ambience, all praise goes to our Head Gardener Mahesh. Our manager, Spa manager and the chef sends you their compliments for sharing your experience with them and we sincerely do look forward to having you again next year.

Wishing you well and a great year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

My wife and I have just spent 2 fabulous weeks at this stunning hotel/villa and can thoroughly recommend a stay here to anyone. It is a beautiful villa in a stunning location right on the beach but what really makes it special is the people who work there. The friendly, happy and helpful team provide a very high level of service and made our stay such a memorable trip - we really felt welcome and there was nothing that Sean (Manager) and the team could not do for you.
The food was great with lots of choice for all palettes and to eat in such a beautiful location under the stars and trees with the waves crashing in the background will never get boring!
All the rooms looked great and while it is not noisy at all the quieter rooms would be to the right of reception.
The location we found to be ideal with Weligama (for more surfing) just a quick tuk tuk ride away and Galle (worth a visit) well within reach. We also organised a Safari to Yala National Park through the hotel and this was another great day out (3.30am start but back by 3pm).
We were fortunate to meet Kurt and Nilanka who own and and run Mosvold and you can see that the positive approach to life, people and business they have really rubs off on the whole team at the Villa.
When we get to Sri Lanka again we will certainly visit and will be recommending this place to a lot of friends!
Obata stutiyi

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosvoldHotels, Public Relations Manager at Mosvold Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your humble words. Our staff work dedicated to uphold service and quality standards, it is indeed a reassurance for us to hear encouraging words and we truly are thankful to you. Nilanka, Kurt, Our manager, Spa manager and the chef sends you their compliments for sharing your experience with them and we sincerely do look forward to having you again next year.

ඔබටත් ස්තුති! ආයෙත් හමුවෙනතෙක්!

Wishing you well and a great year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This place is an experience! The beautiful entrance just giving you a hint on what to expect; The amazing location beachfront, the beautiful view, the nicely designed room (all but one with a sea-view), the food and the attentive staff: Mosvold villa does not disappoint! Try the spa with a view as well, and leave yourself pampered from one of the skilled crew, or simply nip a glass of wine in the bar or a ice coffee on the verge of the garden where the beach begins. OR you can simply go a two hundred meters to your right and be on a nice surfing beach.... Highly recommended, and one of the best places - to our experience - on Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Over the bar is the suite - adds even more to the experience
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kehovda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosvoldHotels, Public Relations Manager at Mosvold Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Kehovda,

Thank you for your humble words. Our staff work dedicated to uphold service and quality standards, it is indeed a reassurance for us to hear encouraging words and we truly are thankful to you. Our manager, Spa manager and the chef sends you their compliments for sharing your experience with them and we sincerely do look forward to having you again next year.

Wishing you well and a great year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

A beautiful place to stay with the most beautiful sunset views. The beach right in front of the hotel is not suitable for swimming so you need to walk about 200 mts. The sea is absolutely wonderful and suitable for small children to play around in. There’s a small surf place on the beach where you can rent our surf boards. The hotel itself is lovely. Rooms are large and luxurious. and so are the bathrooms. It’s nicely located if you want to do whale watching in mirisaa or a day trip to galle. The food is really good although the some of staff has a little difficulty communicating in English.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Heera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosvoldHotels, Public Relations Manager at Mosvold Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Heera,

Thank you for your humble words. Our staff work dedicated to uphold service and quality standards, it is indeed a reassurance for us to hear encouraging words and we truly are thankful to you. We're actively working on improving our staff language skills and would like to assure you that you'd definitely have a better experience next time. Our manager, Spa manager and the chef sends you their compliments for sharing your experience with them and we sincerely do look forward to having you again next year.

Wishing you well and a great year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Where to even begin! My partner and I have been staying at WEscape, that is a sister property to Mosvold Villa, since it was our anniversary, we wanted to have something special and what can be more romantic then a three course meal with cold champers on the beach during sunset? The experience we got exceeded my highest expectations! It was better the what you see in movies! We were greeted at the very entrance of the hotel and were shown around the hotel and it's amenities that we could use. Then we were led onto the beach, where a beautifully set up table, with candles and rose petals, was waiting surrounded by torches that would be lit later as the sun sets adding to the ambience and a feeling of being alone on a paradise island! Our butler popped open a bottle of champagne, so as we were sitting down, I had a glass with strawberries in my hand! a great start wouldn't you agree? I have to mention that the food was exceptional, the soups, salad, starter and, of course, main dish a platter of pure deliciousness were exquisite! The desert was divine and on top of all of that we were also given a chocolate cake to take with us with anniversary wishes! The icing on the cake was their notion of presenting the bill, I won't tell you, you have to find out for yourself :) In all honesty, this was a meticulously thought through dinner experience and my gratitude to the man behind this can't be expressed in words. Randeeka, you are an artist and have risen the bar very high for the next anniversary! well, I am sure we will be celebrating it in Mosvold Villa again! Thank you!

Room Tip: Have their romantic dinner arrangement! You won't be dissapointed
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosvoldHotels, Public Relations Manager at Mosvold Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Lovel,

Thank you for your humble words. Our staff work dedicated to uphold service and quality standards, it is indeed a reassurance for us to hear encouraging words and we truly are thankful to you. Randeeka was very happy to be in you service. Randeeka, Our manager, Spa manager and the chef sends you their compliments for sharing your experience with all of us and we sincerely do look forward to having you again next year for your next anniversary.

Wishing you well and a great year ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews