We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
168
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaprivate poolhouse stafffantastic holidayfood preparedcolonial charmbeautiful sandpersonal chefour home away from hometrusted driverholiday homebeautiful locationromantic settinglovely swimmingcalamariboat tripgalle fort
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Sri Lanka's coast in this area is devoted to surfing with most accomodation suited to younger, "enjoy people," as our driver described them. But South Point Villa is very different. If you've ever wondered what it would be like to step in off a busy, boisterous costal road and enter the cloistered tranquility of totally different world, this would be a perfect opportunity. The original house is over 200 years old with walls sturdy enough to have withstood the 2004 tsunami that devistated the area. Large, poster beds in spacious rooms adjoining a tiled veranda downstairs and a polished teak (I think) floored balcony up-stairs. The ocean view is gorgeous and the grounds and pool are beautifully maintained. Breakfast is a fresh-fruit bonanza and if you choose, the lunch and dinner selection is out of this world.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank billkilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southpoint, Owner at South Point Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for staying at South Point Abbey and for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at South point Villa and delighted to echo other remarks here about the quality of the accommodation, food and service.
We had 2 memorable evenings with bbq's served at tables yards from the sea.
A truly Idyllic holiday was had by all.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank simonandfamily2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This villa is situated in a wonderful location with the beach and a reef only a few steps away. We were 3 generations from toddlers to grandparents and EVERYBODY had a fabulous time. The staff, particularly Prageeth and the chefs were fantastic and could not do enough for us. The food was first class, and much better quality and value than the several meals we ate outside of the Abbey. We were slightly apprehensive about paying by bank transfer up front when we booked 9 months before, being more used to paying by credit card, but on arrival there was no issue and everything was as we had been promised. The cost of trips, meals etc while there were completely transparent, and at no time did we receive any shocks on the financial front. I cannot recommend this villa and its staff highly enough, and cannot think of a negative to balance up my review. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank robertmiles1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southpoint, Owner at South Point Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for staying at South Point Abbey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent villa. We were a large family group occupying both South Point Ocean and South Point. Great location right on the sea, great service and absolutely wonderful home cooked meals. One of the best holidays we have had.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Shavak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Even though I went there a year ago I just got trip advisor so I have to put this in. My family and I came here expecting it to be good but after the first day we loved it knowing we had a good 9 days ahead of us. It was the best food, right in front of a lake where you can go on a boat and go fishing, in a great spot, warm pool and down a very cool lane. This was the best place I have ever gone to.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sam_Herring06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews