We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach-side location and friendly service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Insight Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Insight Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ahangama
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,549 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
“Nice beach-side location and friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have visited this hotel on various occasions whilst on business in the south of Sri Lanka and would describe it as a friendly 'basic' hotel positioned in a very good beach-side location. It is a nice place to stop for a drink or food if you are travelling along the south coast road. Rooms are fairly basic but clean. The hotel is within easy access of the shops and facilities of Ahangama town and one can use it as a base to explore in the western direction to Galle and Unawatuna and east to Weligama.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    62
    24
    18
    15
See reviews for
42
51
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights and was thoroughly disappointed. The hotel was totally devoid of any atmosphere whatsoever and is isolated on the main Galle road with nothing but other large hotels nearby. It appears to cater for tour groups or package deals. As the place was so grim I went into Unawatuna (a very long journey in a tuk tuk) for dinner. When I returned (approximately 11.30) the front gate was closed and padlocked. After knocking loudly for about ten minutes nobody came to the gate. In the end I had to climb over the nine foot wall of the hotel. Once on the other side there were no staff or security at reception to give me my key so I had to find my own room key (just left on the counter as it turns out).
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you like having to climb a perimeter wall before bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thevelvetcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Very sorry to hear this story about the gate been locked and having to jump over the wall. As we have two security guards at night. Complied is on investigation we will further report after the inquiry.

Appreciates if we can know whether you complain this to the hotel next day morning and to whom. Would also like to know the date?

Normal practice of the hotel is to leave the room keys of late arriving guest, at the reception counter and to the security to hand it over to late arrival guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ahangama hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on a beautiful beach. Sadly we were served possibly the worst seafood meal I have ever tasted. Each of the three fish dishes was over cooked and then cooked some more. Rubbery, calamari, dried seer fish and prawns with the texture of cardboard. We returned the lot.

I was here on an organised tour. I'd never choose to come back as the food for both dinner and breakfast was just awful. The rooms are just OK.



Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank NicWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Managing Director at Insight Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We could see the disappointment of Mr. Nicolas Williams, due to the sea food platter provided not being to his taste... Unfortunately the Resident Manager has failed in his duty to organize a BBQ for the group of 12 pax where Mr Williams was in, as the hotel policy when organizing a private BBQ is that there must be a minimum of 15 pax. Nevertheless the decision of the Resident Manager is regretted as we believe that rules and policies are there to guide the management, and in this instance he could easily have stretched a point considering that there were 12 pax in the group. I am sure this would have resulted in a disappointment for the group, particularly since the tour leader had already raised their hopes indicating that a BBQ was being organized.

However, the Resident Manager had compromised by offering seafood platters for all but sorry Mr Williams was unhappy with the texture.

We have looked in to the matter and advised RM about using his discretion particularly when the group was looking forward to a BBQ.

Appreciate Mr Williams’s comment which gave us an opportunity to correct the Resident Manager.

Mr Williams says rooms are just ok. But most who stay at Insight comment that though we charge a 3 star price, the quality of rooms are upper end 3 star.

Thanks Mr Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The intention was to allow us to relax after a fairly hectic tour, and the hotel and setting allowed us to do just that. There were games of cricket, pool volleyball, beach walks, and a relaxing atmosphere. We took a boat trip on a nearby lagoon which was lovely. The food was fine, we had the evening buffet. I went down to reception to request an adaptor and it had been delivered to the room before I got back. The location is handy for the stilt fisherman, although they weren't fishing when we were there, just posing for photographs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

"Dear Readers

We responded with quick action to a complaint from a guest who had got his foot injured in the pool at our resort. We promised to do a complete overhaul in the month of October to ensure that there are no further mishaps or accidents. The attached pictures will tell you how true we are to our promises – the pool has now been fully repaired and is in good condition.”

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanushka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent for those who love to walk around the beach at any odd hour of the day or night. One can enjoy the waves from the windows of the room or may look at the blue water while having breakfast. We stayed for one night only but might have stayed for another night if not in a time constrain. Food in the dinner was good and I must appreciate some innovative and experimental ideas with Sri Lankan cuisine. The singing group sang a special 'love song' for us. In the breakfast choice was rather limited but we liked it. The raw passion in breakfast fruit juice was very tasty. The room and bathrooms are big enough for easy movement. The staffs of the hotel are friendly but service is slow. Possibly they maintain the pace of the calm and quite environment of the whole area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the extended building are with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your great comments and endorsing the Insight Resort. Further at a time when just one in isolation has condemned our food quality as bad, you are praising it. Appreciate your comments about the limited breakfast choice – we shall look into that to further improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

i stayed with my wife on FB basis in October 2013. the place is obviously under-utilized for it's advantages. meals were a disappointment. set menu dinner to start with absolutely no choice except for the question of fish or chicken. lucky to have a buffet for b'fast but then lunch was a disaster with just rice and curry without no choice again except for fish/chicken matter. no choice over dessert. it was no better than a meal served at a budget eatery except for the dish of fried fish. being a critique at food, one had to admit that the hotel was almost empty. point is that the few guests who stayed over deserved at least a few more choices on the set menu.

TIP - stay B&B or H/B and eat at the indian restaurant near the southern expressway exit (15KM from the hotel though). another option is Catalina grill right infront of Koggala airport with eating facility inside an used aircraft.

great location, great beach front, friendly, attentive and very pleasant staff. above average rooms in the new wing passable for 3.5 star only if it had a TV and coffee making accessories.

Room Tip: ask for a sea front room on the new wing ex. 406, 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PieceOfPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
First of all we are not in the habit of responding to comments under fictitious names as we are unable to trace his or her registration if this client has stayed in the hotel to begin with. As in today’s context many things can happen for business rivalry. Although we don’t practice such malicious things there are many others who do it.

However, I am reluctant to accept this comment as so serious since at the same time ‘Farid 94’ has commented that the food is good. Yet, if this client has definitely stayed at the Insight Resort, regret and sorry if you did not like our food.

The hotel is running at an average of 30-35% occupancy during the summer, which in my view is a good occupancy. We are already booked up for the winter 2013 at an average of 72%. For sure in the summer there are some days where only a few rooms are occupied, but as per this comment the hotel has operated a buffet breakfast. Being a 33 room hotel we do not operate a buffet unless there are more than 10 rooms occupied. On this basis as the guest says the hotel was empty I am a bit confused.

When a set menu dinner is offered, we do not offer a wide spread. Yes on a set menu we offer a choice of fish, chicken or vegetable on some days and on other days its fish, red meat or vegetable, as anyone would know this is how a set menu is operated but the quality is assured. Perhaps the client was disappointed that there was no buffet. We do not offer a choice of desserts for a set menu, yet if the clients do not like what is available and express so, we would easily offer the clients a choice of fruits. It is quite unfair to compare our kitchen to a budget eatery – this merely is an exaggeration. If you look at our past records the only flaw we have had in the past is the slow meal service which we accept and are in the process of correcting. I am sorry if the client has expected a choice of food more than a 3* property. Appreciate rating the hotel as a 3.5*, but we commit ourselves as a 3*. I am happy to note from the client concerned the good words about the staff and service level which in my view endorses that we are reaching towards an improvement in our service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
2.8 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 5 in Ahangama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Property: Insight Resort
Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Insight Resort Sri Lanka/Ahangama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing