We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing experiance!”
Review of Soi Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baringo District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soi Safari Lodge
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Such an amazing experiance!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I came here with a group as a volunteer project in rongai. As part of that trip we came to Soi Lodge on the weekend. It was a experiance i will remember forever! Everyone is so friendly! the drinks were good, the food was lovely, the staff were always smiling, the rooms were basic but done the job, the swimming pool area was so relaxing! Then to finish it all off, the boat trip was an experiance of a life time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Dirty, dirty, dirty....lots of bugs . Holes in mosquito nets:( lack good customer service, very depressing. We stayed in July 2009. it was just opened. pool was good according to our friends who visited us. They stayed in campground in tent. cheap. Our room was so basic and so expensive. Last night we did not even stayed in room, but slept in our car.
Food was not good, but we felt bad for all those hungry kids running outside when we had throw away bunch of food from our plates. lake is so dirty, the only nice thing that we saw fish eagle.
we would not not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aruba2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baringo District hotels

Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I visited this place last week and its a quite place where one can sight view lake baringo.Since it was on low season,i managed to enjoy the space and though their rooms are ok....they dont have instant hot showers.one has to await for the timings when they can heat the water on their cisterns otherwise the workers were cool and kind

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had originally planned to stay at another accommodation in the Lake Baringo area, but high flood waters forced the closure of that facility. We arrived late evening at the Soi Safari Lodge and were given rooms with no windows other than a small one in the bathroom that reminded me of a dungeon. The next night we were upgraded to better rooms with a view of the lake. There were three captive ostriches on the grounds that we enjoyed watching, however, we would have preferred them to be wild. The facility also houses other captive animals included some Grey Crowned Cranes that had clipped wings that I found offensive. I understand that they also house an African Fish Eagle. The service was only somewhat average and the food - not so great. However, I don't think there is anywhere else to stay in this small, depressed community. If I were to visit again, I would skip Lake Baringo.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Arrived with a bus load of 40 staff for a retreat only to find that the single rooms we had booked had been given to another group. Took some time to get an apology from management and then sort out the sharing of rooms- something we had not expected. Not sure that the management can cope with catering for a full hotel. Otherwise the views from the conference room on to the lake and along the shore were beautiful and the staff serving us did their best to smooth our ruffled feathers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed three nights whilst doing a survey in the area around Lake Baringo.

My overall thought was that with a little effort it could be an excellent establishment, however, as seems too common in Kenya the staff need to improve their training in hospitality.

Reception was OK, meals (all buffets) with the exception of breakfast, could have been a little more generous. The wifi only worked in the reception area and bar, which had rather too many mozzies for my liking.

My room looked a bit neglected, although the bed was comfortable and after some patience the shower ran nice and warm.

The best facility was the swimming pool which was great to try out in the late afternoon after a hot and dusty day.

Visitors should make sure they take cash to pay, as their credit card machine didn't work when i visited.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

SOI Safari Lodge on Lake Beringo was a really comfortable experience. The lodge is only 5 years old and sits on the lake with a fine collection of large birds wandering the grounds, including ostriches. Food was fine in the buffet and rooms in cabins clean and close to lodge and swimming pool. Power went out during a storm (just like home!). At night dinner is served outside and local singers and dancers entetained.
By all means take a boat ride around the lake to see the wildlife and islands. And, sit in the lodge balcony to watch the sunset over the lake.
You can negotiate the prices if there are vacancies. Road is poor getting there but "TIA". Be sure to also visit Lake Bogoria and see the geysers, rhinos, flamingos and baboons. I am a geography professor and have a lot of experience.
Overall a nice lodge with helpful staff and a relaxed environment.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Soi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soi Safari Lodge

Property: Soi Safari Lodge
Address: Kampi Samaki, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Baringo District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Baringo District
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Soi Safari Lodge Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing