We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Food, Great Staff”
Review of Sagana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagana Resort
Ranked #6 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food, Great Staff”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Did just three nights here in October...we got one of the two cottages with AC which was nice...surf was going off! The REEF surf team was staying there and ripping up the waves each day...Location is right there at cloud 9.

Food? Wow best during my 3 week stay in the philippine! Whether is was breakfast, lunch, or dinner it was fantastic!

Cottage was clean and nice with very comfortable best.

Gerry, Susan and their entire staff was fantastic.

Hey they have a pool too!

Wireless internet work great from my cottage

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank beautiful-looser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
44
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I stayed for about a week at Sagana last Chinese New Year. Despite the surf being blown-out, my stay was amazing. The cottages are beautiful, the food is INCREDIBLE, and the whole atmosphere is relaxing, comfortable and easy-going. Naoki was a super cool host and a lot of fun. Even though the surf sucked, there was so much to do around Siargao that I wouldn't hesitate to go again during the off-season. I hope to be back one day soon...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My husband and I decided to go to Siargao very last minute near the end of our Philippines vacation. I went on Tripadvisor to help find a place. After reading the reviews (I wish there were more!) on Sagana Resort, I emailed them the night before we arrived in Siargao. They were able to get us in last minute and with no hesitation. Once we got there, there was a fantastic laid back energy along with the with a hospitable presence where you know that they will do anything to make your stay an amazing one. We needed a boat to go surf Stimpey's right before dark, and they got it for us. My husband needed a surfboard, and they let him borrow one. We needed to leave at 5 am to catch the ferry back to Surigao, they called a Habal Habl for us...and they made us sandwiches for the ferry ride! And the food....WOW! It was gourmet food without the pretentiousness. STAY at SAGANA RESORT! You will not regret it. We will be back. There is no doubt about that!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank femme142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Not your typical resort. Its laid back nature suits the island perfectly... The Sagana is made up of a mix of cottage style with personality rooms, and a couple of hotel style rooms. Don't go to Siargao expecting a Hilton style sterile room. The cottage we stayed in was breezy and open.
It is very laid back, run by Susan and Gerry who are Aussies and fantastic hosts. Its the sort of place where you feel like you are part of it for a while. Food was beautifully cooked when we were there. Either Susan or Gerry seemed to be about to answer questions most of the time, arranging trips etc...really can't say enough about them as hosts and the effort they put in to help us explore the island as we had arrived just too late for good waves.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend anytime and we will go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We couldnt fault a thing here! The cottages are very clean and the atmosphere is very laid back. We thought we would get bored of eating at the same place every night, but the food here was amazing, we managed to try something different every night, its definitely good value for what you pay. The owners are very helpful - they organised our day trips/island hopping and generally made our stay a very welcome one. We extended our stay as we liked it so much.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny1983uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The two nights I spent at Sagana Resort were probably the best of my holiday in the Philippines. The cottage we stayed in was beautifully built and furnished, complete with king size bed and balcony with a hammock. The resort has a pool which is especially good when the tide is low and swimming is difficult. Sagana seems to be predominately designed to accommodate surfers as it's located right in front of Cloud 9 surf break. But, we didn't surf and this wasn't a problem at all and there were still lots of fun things to do.

For me the best aspect of Sagana was the relaxed atmosphere the resort staff created. Everyone was amazingly friendly and full of information on things to do. While there they organised a island trip which was fantastic and took no commission at all, so all the money went straight to the local boat owner. Also, on the occasion that no staff are around the bar, their self-service honour system is great.

Another cool aspect is that Sagana is doing their best to accommodate those of us who like to travel as eco-friendly as possible. There was a compost toilet in our room (which didn't smell AT ALL), very cheap water re-fills to save on plastic bottles, and the buildings are made with beautiful old recycled timber.

I would choose Sagana over other resorts on Siargao every time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makabiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Susan and Gerry know what's up with Siargao. If there is anything you want to do on the island, from yoga to cock fights, they can make it happen. Even so they can't control the surf. However, although the surf was relatively small during our stay, we could see that the wave had great potential. It's a place where advanced surfers and beginners alike can have fun in the waves. Although Cloud 9 may be too challenging for beginners on a bigger swell, there are plenty of other breaks for anyone to enjoy.
The resort looks directly out on Cloud 9 and from their new "viewing hut" you can enjoy a beer or even a massage while watching the waves. The food is delicious...best on the island, and the staff is incredible. There is a great vibe to this place.
P.S. try the banana pancakes!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#11 of 41 in Siargao Island
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Siargao Inn
Siargao Inn
#2 of 14 in General Luna
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Resort
Bravo Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in General Luna
155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#9 of 41 in Siargao Island
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagana Resort

Property: Sagana Resort
Address: BGY Catagnan | General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sagana Hotel Siargao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing