We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT PARADISE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalinaw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siargao Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalinaw Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT PARADISE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Have just spent 2 weeks in Kalinaw Resort and all I can say is "OMG" . The resort is immaculate, the villas are beautiful and the staff are great, always smiling and happy to help. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is very good, but for us British a little posh HAHA! Fred and Pierre, the owners are very attentive and very friendly. The whole experience for me was superb, however it was made better by the Manager....Patrick.....all I can say is 'Angel!' Thank you all for a great holiday.

Room Tip: 4 villas with ocean view. 1 suite. All great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lianmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    16
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Actually we planned to stay for two weeks on Siargao and then to discover other spots in the Philippines, but in the end we remained for three and a half weeks - one of the reasons being that we realized that two weeks are simply not enough to explore the island, and the other one that staying at the Kalinaw resort was overwhelmingly pleasant.
The whole place has an extremely tasteful minimalistic design without being just ambitious. It simply lets you breathe and enjoy your privacy and the beautiful nature around you. Our villa was as perfectly maintained as the pool and the beautiful garden. Food is excellent and the whole staff is acting in a very charming and personal way and would never bother you with learned by heart service-smalltalk. Special thanks to the resorts manager Patrick who was around every time we needed something, came up with so many ideas for activities, organized everything in the most flexible way around our wishes and was always open for an early morning or latenight talk which reached far beyond expectable hotel conversations. Thanks also to the owners Fred and Pierre who created this tropical paradise and made us feel so welcome. We miss the beauty of the place as much as the smile of its people and hope to come back in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sabina_and_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

On a recent visit to Siargoa island we myself and family total 9 persons had booked into a different resort, after a bad and frightening experience we moved in the Kalinaw resort..bliss.. it was just a great feeling to sleep in a comfortable bed and to have a 24 hr security especially when we had young children...The resort was lovely just what we needed to relax from a hectic schedule...the pool was just bliss, the villa was also very comfortable...Due to a last minute booking the staff were very accommodating to our last minute needs... What a beautiful location for the dining area, the breakfast was great and we never had a poor meal...the pizza...die for..:)...We also celebrated my sons first birthday, with the help from patrick the manager who help us organize a lechon for the dinner celebrations, the food was just devine...overall is was a beak break...just what we needed...yes i would love to return again..it is such a tranquil place to escape from a busy lifestyle...regardless of the weather or the surf and you just want to relax this is a resort for you...All the staff are extremely friendly and the owners were great as well....patrick the manager is a very comforting person to have a round and was always at hand for our constant needs...would recommend this resort....but its a place that i would like to keep as my little secret.. i will return

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taitung
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

DO Not Ever go to this resort so call "the Luxury One" When we first arrived, we were greeted by The two French owner, Fred and Pierre with a welcome drink, then the staff leaded us to our the Deluxe villa, from the outside, it looks very deluxe, when we stay inside and try to relax ourselves after a long journey, little insects like spiders, ant, moths came to greet us time to time, few cobwebs at the ceiling, rusty smell water form the shower and tap, we thought it's a remote area so we've tried to put up with this.
After our activities in the afternoon, we went to bed quite early after an exhausting day. Right in the middle of the night, we woke up by the raindrops that was leaking from the roof, my face, a quarter of our bed were all wet. Some dark bits all over the bed sheet and us falling down from the ceiling as well. When we went to the toilet, our tissue roll was also wet because of the leaking roof, there is only one roll of tissue in the whole villa, ants were gathering at the corner of the toilet maybe the rain, we’ve had a sleepless night and next morning we complained to the staff, they offer to transfer us to another deluxe villa,(another poor maintenance one I asked)? We want them to ensure it’s not going to leak if it rains, he keep silence, I really don’t want to have another sleepless night, so I asked to talk to the owner Fred or Pierre. We were waiting for them while we were having breakfast, which was suppose to be ALL included in our room rate… (I have been to many Luxury Hotel or resorts, but never once will charged you to have your coffee refill, hey, I am paying the luxury rate, we were finally charged 400 pesos on top of our free included breakfast). Anyway, We waited for two hours, the owner didn’t show up nor bother to talk to us directly on the phone, only sent his staff Patrick to deal with all the problem, without any solution, finally we decided to leave the villa because we did not want it to spoil our holiday.
They charged us some CANCELLATION fees of the leftover nights we were suppose to stay of 3950 pesos/nights !! And, on top their staff asked us to pay more than our original 50% deposit we gave them!!! (This was coming from the owners order through TEXTS on his staff cell phone !!)...They just kept all the deposit, and NEVER dared to come and talk to us.
Also, They are located in the middle of nowhere. If you want to do some activities, you have to go through them, and they overcharged you 3 to 4 times the activities.
This resort is only MONEY oriented, and does not WORTH it !! NO DELUXE SERVICE and really Poor maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank audrey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierback, Owner at Kalinaw Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Kalinaw resort, as a 5 villas resort have a very strict cancellation policy. This is to avoid people to change their mind during their stay when we already refused some other bookings. Each of our guests is aware by email of this policy before booking. Each 50% down payment is not refundable as it is in many small resorts.
NEVER give them any DEPOSIT. You will loose it !!! As said by this guest. Of course a DOWN PAYMENT and not “deposit” is made to secure a booking and not to be refunded as guest want it anytime.
In this case, the first day, Even before their first night in Kalinaw, our guests went to visit another economical resort and decided already to transfer there(as per the owner of that resort).
We notice after the check out, the guest ate in the villa, they even asked me personally hot water to make their instant cup noodles in the room. First, we don’t allow this cause Kalinaw Resort is not a camping and second, guest should not be surprised if insect come in the rooms with left over food. Our manager Patrick noticed also during the check out that the bed was not wet at all. I can believe a small leaking sometimes happened during strong rain but never really serious. We propose our guest, if it is possible, to transfer to another villa in this case.
Kalinaw resort is located 800 meters from Cloud9, enough far from the crowds and the nightlife noise. This is a luxury that many of our guests appreciate. Guests can rent motorcycle or we can call for them motorcycle taxi (30 pesos only /person to cloud9) anytime. 30 pesos is USD 70 cents FYI.
Our free breakfast is very generous and well served, we charge supplement order as well as we charge our services, activities, food and drinks. These guests did not pay anything of their food and drinks.
People sometimes over react with bad faith just to get what they want or revenge. This review is not sincere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We chose Kalinaw Resort on the island of Siargao based on 2 things. A top 10 recommendation by Gourmet Traveller online and the fact that the resort owners were french. Risky criteria I know but there was also an intuitive feeling that this place would deliver. And deliver it did!

A boutique resort of only 5 authentic islands style vlllas, resort owners Fred & Pierre have managed to create a chic yet laid back beach resort vibe without the actual need for a beach. Siargao is an island that rises somewhat scrappily out of the coral reef with a diurnal tide. Beaches are either non existent or covered in seaweed much of the time. Sounds awful but is completely nullified by the amazing grounds of the resort and the convenience of boats arriving at your door daily to whisk you off on an island discovery trip. Within 30mins you can be sitting on a stunning, secluded beach, snorkeling through subterranean cities of coral and tropical fish or simply sunning your city-white body on powder white sands.

Kalinaw is a beautiful, grassy, palm fringed oasis where french style meets tropical sensibility. Each villa is huge containing huge furniture, huge private veranda & an all important ipod enabled stereo in every room. The architecture is typical to the area with the key feature being triple height A-frame ceilings clad in palm leaf thatch.

The central hospitality pavilion is another cavernous space perched in prime position for gazing contentedly out towards the ocean whilst sipping on your banana juice or margherita. Meals are mod-euro style with authentic filipino cuisine a rare visitor. Breakfasts are included in your tarrif and consist of a 3 course feast worthy of the best french cafes. However, if youre an Australian and used to world class coffee, consider now a good opportunity to give your heart a break and switch to tea. Coffee is notoriously bad in France and it is just as bad here. The sublime banana juice more than makes up for it though...and the mango for that matter.

An infinity pool is apparently a fairly recent addition although its already looking in need of a new paint job. Dont get me wrong, the pool is chic and well designed, serviced by attentive staff whenever in use and the perfecrt spot to while away a few hours reading your favourite novel. Just needs a bit of a touch up and it will be worthy of the chicest boutique resorts of Asia.

Staying in a boutique resort means that all the staff know your name and get to know your favourite drink (margherita) and Kalinaw takes it to another level by offering guests the family-style treatment of 'mi casa su casa'. Want to take a trip into town? Borrow a scooter or someone might give you a lift on their way to the market. Feel like a surf? Just grab one of the resort boards and wander down to Cloud 9 with Fred or one of the staff as they go for their daily ride. What I loved about Kalinaw was the feeling that I was staying with family friends who knew when to leave you to your book or game of cards. Everything I could ever want was easily arranged yet I didnt get the feeling of being separated from the locals by a five star service mentality.

Siargao Island is a fairly undeveloped pocket of paradise and is still very much under the radar. If winding down amongst coconut palms and laid back islanders is your bag, then Siargao is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We wanted to have good time far away from the city, We got a little piece of paradise.

This resort is confidential with only premium rooms (bungalows) face to the beach, amazing view.
Our room was HUGGGGGEEEE, very elegant and charming with an amazing bathroom and shower.

The best breakfast in my life, good food and great service.

they organized for us an afternoon of game fishing, surf school ...

Close to the surf spot, There is nobody on the beaches, peaceful, quiet, that is the place to go in the middle of the Ocean.

The island and villages around are very charming, people is nice.

The only negative point is that the holidays are still too short.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellyfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We spend 10 days in the resort, went surfing in Cloud 9 and waves around the resort, motorbike&boat triping around the Island. A great place to stay, with excellent food!
The bungalow are realy big, clean with a spacious bathroom! Just amazing.
The pool is just amazing with an fantastic view of the lagoon.
We'll come back 4 sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valvinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
0.0 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#3 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Cabana Resort
Isla Cabana Resort
#4 of 37 in Siargao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Resort
Bravo Beach Resort
#1 of 15 in General Luna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalinaw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalinaw Resort

Property: Kalinaw Resort
Address: General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalinaw resort is the accomplished dream of two French guys who decided to leave Paris for a tropical life. Located 500 meters from world-famous surf spot Cloud 9, on the island of Siargao, in the Philippines, our resort is facing a peaceful lagoon. Both of us will be proud to introduce you to our little paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalinaw Resort Hotel Siargao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing