We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud Construction Noise, 730AM, wake up call.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantic Beach Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Romantic Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Loud Construction Noise, 730AM, wake up call.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Let me first start off by saying this place is really nice. My husband and I loved it. Staff can not do enough for you. The hotel has free use of kayaks and even a motorbike. It’s in a wonderful, beautiful and picturesque location. The pool overlooks the ocean. Cottages are of a good size with all the amenities.

As noted, by others, the owner is there all day,but he is a non entity when it comes to customer service as noted above as the staff is at your beckon call. The food is good, but expensive Walk up to Ronaldo RestoBar, where food cost is literally about half as much as it is as Romantic Villas. The worst mango shake we ever had, repeat ever had, in the Philippines was at Romantic and cost twice as much as the nearby Ronaldo’s. My husband and I never said a word to them as they were so nice we did not want to upset them.

It is on beach, very nice for walking, not a big beach though and really no sand per se for sitting. It’s hard to pass some areas at high tide. Water is Boracay quality if not more beautiful and clearer. Pool is much smaller than the photos appear on the net, but still nice. Some cottages face the ocean.

We had power outages and the generator never came on a few times, but sure enough, the electric saws, grinders etc were turned on at 730 am, adding to the lack of power frustration for the rest of us. It seems the generator was used for the construction only. A staff member also told us they did not buy fuel.

The bed only has small cover sheets big enough to cover one person. This was very uncomfortable. The shower is open meaning everything in the CR gets wet when using it.

All and all, I can go on and on about how great the island is and in fact this place is wonderful, but the construction at 730 AM going all day was too much at times to handle. We were amazed that no one else who reviewed this place mentioned it. Wait till they have finished their new rooms, and then go enjoy or go now and ask for a discounted rate. My husband and I had a great time but the noise started to unnerve us. We will go back again though for sure after we get back from Norway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    25
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
53
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a blast in SIARGAO! The Island was GORGEOUS! The PEOPLE was very nice. We had a BEST time ever. The staff was very cool ate Vicky-Irish-Melot but most of them were really nice. I would love to come back and see the island and people again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rax U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

- first a mix between the rooms, the second bed in the room was just a mattress on the floor. Only 1 sheet and 1 pillow to sleep, nothing else, even if we asked for more.
- staff super lazy, very hard to get what we asked for and it took hours for anything (a boat, a motorbike, some food, etc..). we booked a boat, but we never got it actually.
- quite overpriced for all activities, better you ask directly at the pier.
- The owner is a drunk guy who screams on the staff and breaks everything at 8am. It didnt seem to surprise anybody, so I guess it's usual over there...
- lots of insects in the room, coakroaches and others.
- location not so good, the small road to get there is a bit dangerous in motorbike.
- the food was quite good most of the time

Room Tip: maybe the rooms near the beach are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pierrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wonderful find, on a fantastic little island. On our first day there we were invited to join the owners Roman and Ester and their friends Mike and Cecile on a boat trip to a beautiful little uninhabited island for a BBQ....and until the day we left we had nothing but positive vibes about the place. It's laid back, but efficient, and the rooms are spacious and clean.
If you're looking for a place to relax and unwind, look no further. It's not a 5 star resort, but it's absolutely charming. The food is also good and the staff very friendly, including the dogs that accompanied me on my morning beach walk every day.
Suffice to say, we'll be back again. For us, this redefined the concept of value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at Romantic Beach Villas as a surf camp. The villas are very simple but very clean and well maitained. We had half-board which was very simple, but very fresh and good. the staff is very helpful, they even organized boat tours for us in the evenings. As the island itself is half-wild do not expect five-star villas or stuff like that, for people who are well-aware of where are they going it is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noskova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

First of all: the location. The beach was nothing too special but the surrounding islands were lovely. Unfortunately I do not have sea legs (sorry, Roman, for blowing up one of your trips) but the quick island tours were visually very interesting. The rooms, quality of sleep, hygiene (almost what you can expect to find in Europe) were more then adequate and so is the food and drink but what is more important is the way you're being treated: the couple that run the resort (Ester and Roman) and their staff make you feel as if you're a visiting family friend or a part of the family. Birthday celebration and all. So if you like a hands-on staff, owners that actually join you at the table this might be the place to be for you. (A little background info: I visited this resort in August 2013 with my girlfriend and one of our mutual friends).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchtristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This stay was for us a "pre-honey moon" just before our wedding. The managers and the staff pay a lot of attention to us in order to make our stay the most comfortable. We've enjoyed some of the tours proposes by the hotel and it was a very nice experience for the two of us. The view of the white sand beach from the swimming pool is just amazing. Actually, we recommand this place to everybody who wish to spend some romantic holidays in Siargao... We're looking forward to come again in the next future. Salamat karajaw. Melody and Chris.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.5 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.1 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#3 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Cabana Resort
Isla Cabana Resort
#4 of 37 in Siargao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Siargao Inn
Siargao Inn
#2 of 14 in General Luna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Beach Villas

Property: Romantic Beach Villas
Address: Barangay 5, General Luna, Mindanao 8007, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantic Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located directly on the beach with white fabulously fine sand which runs into a shallow lagoon protected from the rough Pacific Ocean by a coral barrier. The turquoise water in the lagoon is crystal clear and can be as warm as 35°C so you may feel at times as if staying in a spa resort. We offer accommodation in spacious, nicely equipped and neat villa-like bungalows. All of them are provided with air-conditioning and powerful fans (selection possible), fridge, hot water shower, large veranda with an ocean view and a panoramic front sliding wall.Resort has a new infinity swimming pool with amazing view on Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Romantic Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Beach Villas Hotel Siargao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing