We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in General luna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherinicole Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 41 Siargao Island B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in General luna”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in Cherinicole from July 10 to 17, nice and very clean resort with a big swimming pool. The have a very kind receptionist named Preachey, first she showed the room, then she gave us discount when I told her that we will stay longer, A very good place to stay especially for family traveler, very near in town center and also just enfront of that cheap restaurant Ronaldo. They have also brand new motorbike for rent for 350 pesos a day. We were very satisfied with our stay, very polite personnel,they always greet you with a smile, very recommended resort.

Room Tip: Select a cottage just beside the restaurant because its good internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaEllina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the cherinicole, came in on the ferry from suragao city around 3 hours with nice views and calm water.. Dont wast time in suragao but get cash and supplys there cuz theres not much on the island. I fell in love with the island on my 35 min motorbike ride though the country side of green rolling hills and lots of fresh air and little traffic. Anyway my one week side trip from manila turned into a month so i really got to no the people and the island well and loved it all. Ok Ill just give you the pros and cons of the resort.

pros
The staff were kind friendly and made my stay extra nice.
The owner was on site to over see the operations.
I think they have the nicest pool and grounds of all the resorts
The rooms are nice clean and simple with a nice choice from around 1000-3000
Nice little beachfront with cabans tables and loungers.
free wi fi pool table and ping pong
new resturant with a nice ocean view and good food
Close enouth to town to get around on foot for shopping market and resturants
cuttest little puppys around girls were not bad ether

Ok the cons
One of the girls was a bit mean maybe it was something i did
The pool was not always cleaned but did it when asked
Meals were ok but best to get food at the market and pay them to cook it.
your a long way from cloud 9 if you surf just rent a scooter

Island tips

Rent a scooter for 500 a day and see the area and the island
Get a massage at the niwa tie spa 5 min down the road best on island 300
Take your scooter to the end of the road by union theres a huge nice all sand beach all to your own. ps bring your girl and some wine.
Take a day trip to see the island its big and some roads are gravel. get a map at from desk
go island hopping shop around and work right with the boat guy for the best deal
Spend a few hours in dapa with a big market then general luna
vist cloud 9 u can get surf sessons or rent board there at the hippy surf shop
nite life friday nites juggle island disco hot spot for all starts late like 10 lot of cold red horse
you can get a cold beer and burger on the boulavard in town by the market for 150
There seem to be lots of stuff happing surf comp and shows on the pier

I have travel a lot of the phil and this is the best spot so far

Room Tip: the new poolside room cuz its all new
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawainguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We traveled from butuan to surigao seaport for 2hrs, then, another 2hrs to dapa seaport at siargao on dapa express. From dapa, another 25mins to cherinicole beach resort,general luna. Its a nice place and we even got a discount on the room. The beach was nice and clear waters. They have billiard pool table and table tennis. But the swimming was not well maintained. There were 5 of us in 1 room. The staffs were helpful, especially, when we asked to cook our food before going on an island hopping. The charged was 150 per kg when you want the resort to cook what you bought at the market. Generally, the resort was nice, the beach was nice, and the staff were. friendly. The crew on our boat stole our food.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ordinarywty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

the resort is nice and serene, and they serve a very good selection of food. its a beach front resort where you can walk along shores and you can hear the splash of great waves at siargao island. the rooms are decent and spacious. they also offers free wi-fi at the public areas of the resort. and the staffs are accommodating and honest because when our group check out at the resort and and waiting for our boat ride, my friend noticed that she left her iphone at the resort and the staff confirmed it and they have it delivered at port. very good gesture. definitely will go back at this resort

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidlatonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

SERVICE / AMENITIES

1. It's the only hotel with swimming pool around the area which is free to for guest to use anytime you need it.
2. Ocean View restaurant offers only casual dinning. Most of our orders in the Menu list were not available. We switch dining outside the resort.
3. The receptionist are courteous.
4. Hotel appears to have good security day and night.
5. Landscape Garden pleasant environment to relax.
6. Island hopping available upon request P1,500 or $40.(2012 rates)
7. Shuttle service airport/pier available upon request P1,000 or $25. (2012 rates)
8. Massage available upon request. P500 or $15 (2012 rates)
9. Free use of billiards.
10. Wifi available near the pool area.
11. Back up generators available.
12. Accept credit card.
13. Private parking available.


ACCOMODATION

A.OCEAN VIEW ROOM
1. Not recommended. Cannot view the entire ocean as there are trees and cottage along the way for both villas. They have only 2.
2. Fridge were not opened. Nothing inside.
3. Poor airconditioned.
4. Small bathroom.
5. TV available.
6. P2,900 or $ 70 /night.
* It suppose to be the best room but did not meet the criteria we were expecting.

B.POOLSIDE ROOM (NEW)
1. Recommended than the Villa. Big enough for two guest. If you ask for an extra bed the room still have space to relax.
2. Bathroom is big than the villa. Hot & Cold shower.
3. Balcony for smokers.
4. View of the pool where you can check and see your children go on swimming.
5. Superb airconditioned.
6. Room rates P2,700 or $55 per night. (2012 rates).

C.STANDARD ROOM
1. Recommended for a person who is on the tight budget.
2. Basic airconditioned room with a bed and bathroom. No hot water. Good for 2 only.
3. TV not available.
4. Room rates P1,500 or $40 per night. (2012 rates).

D.FAMILY ROOM
Havent check this room but from what they advertise this may be the best deal among all the rooms. P3,000 $70 per night (2012 rates)

Please bear in mind the General Luna is a third class municipality so don't expect something that extravagant. But with all fairness Cherinicole can be a place to stay for family or group of friends.
Not for a surfer as the resort is almost 5-6 KM away from the famous Cloud9 surfing area.
But not for a beach lover as the beach at the resort has a huge rock formation in front . No place for sun bathing or playing under sun with sand.
It's a must that you go on island hopping. The beaches are so inviting.

Local transportation is not available ALL the TIME . So location wise, again location wise, the resort is a short walk from church, wet market, a major Souvenir store, GL Boulevard, 9Bar (coolest bar in town just across the street), Dine-in store (other choices of food).
This is essential as the streets are not yet cemented, poor lighting and most of the hotels are far away and even just a little rain it become muddy. Not good for a long walk. So wet ,soft and slimy.

That is why during peak season Cherinicole is one of the resort that is fully book because of its amenities and location wise. Most of the time in Siargao it rains.

AREAS OF Improvement:
1. Availability of food in the resort.
2. Housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateSpade9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siargao Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patrick's on the Beach
Patrick's on the Beach
#8 of 41 in Siargao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
13.9 mi away
White Sands Paradise Beach Resort
White Sands Paradise Beach Resor...
#13 of 41 in Siargao Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
Ocean 101 Cloud 9 Surf Resort
#10 of 41 in Siargao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantic Beach Villas
Romantic Beach Villas
#6 of 42 in Siargao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherinicole Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherinicole Beach Resort

Property: Cherinicole Beach Resort
Address: General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Siargao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“One of the most genuine place to stay in Siargao”Cherinicole BEACH RESORT is set in a quiet and relax property with 3,665 sqm, located in the town of General Luna where accessible to restaurant, bars, boulevard, church & market by walking distance. Offering total 16 rooms from suite, deluxe Villa and Standard, nestled in a magnificent tropical garden and panoramic Pacific Ocean view with 1 Swimming pool and a Restaurant.Most of the rooms are made of concrete with a touch of native, simple but in classic style.Rooms are very spacious. Ocean View Suite , Ocean View deluxe and super deluxe is with cable TV, AC, Hot/cold shower & Fridge, except with Ocean suite is with bath tub and super deluxe is without fridge. But all of the 16 rooms are built with private veranda including the Standard rooms.The Ocean View Suite, Ocean View deluxe is situated in beach front with a perfect View of most famous spot in Siargao which are Guyam, Daku and Naked Islets.Both of our Poolside deluxe and super deluxe is also with sea view and facing directly in a swimming pool with beautiful landscaped garden view that adds charm to the place with your comfort and relaxation is guaranteeCherinicole Beach Resort embraces our valued guests with open warmest welcome and meets their eyes with friendliest smiles. Not only does Cherinicole take good care of our guests, we value them and make sure they embark our harbor with unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Cherinicole Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing