We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy stopover”
Review of Hotel de Bordeaux

Hotel de Bordeaux
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Bordeaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pons
Kent UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Handy stopover”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here 1 night on my way to Spain on my motorbike. As said before exterior was quite shabby but inside the hotel was OK. Helpful service and a useful secure garage just across the road. The restaurant is excellent and the food is very good indeed, perhaps a little pricey. Wine choice is pricey too and our €25 bottle of Cotes du Rhone didn't live up to the price tag.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KeithMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Finding a hotel open on a Monday night is always tricky in France, but the Bordeaux was, it's in the Michelin and the double room was only 69€, so I thought I would chance it for one night.
The hotel is in the process of refurbishment, but the decor of the reception,stairway and our room was reminiscent of the 1960's, the room was of a reasonable size, with a large double bed, adequate storage, dressing table & TV. The carpet consisted of thin carpet tiles and the wall paper was a gaudy orange. The cover on the bed was a thin blanket. There was a sizeable bathroom with a WC, basin, shower cubicle and bath, the furniture looked rather utilitarian and as with the room was badly in need of a makeover. The towels were on the small side and rather flimsy. However everything was clean.
We ate dinner in the courtyard area of the restaurant, on a warm evening. We chose their "Bib" menu at €23 for an amuses, starter main course and desert. I had a crumble of ris d'anegeau (lamb's sweetbreads) followed by carre de veau with roasted melon and strawberry melba. There is a fine line in cooking between presenting an ordinary meal and one with a "wow" factor, although all,the food was edible and nicely cooked, it just failed to deliver what it appeared to promise. Service was efficient and friendly. The restaurant did have a huge selection of Cognacs. Breakfast was a simple buffet, consisting of yogurt, packaged cereals, ham & cheese, bread & croissants.
The hotel had covered parking @€6 per night, adjacent on street parking was in the blue zone however there was plenty of free public parking nearby.
The hotel is only 2 star, so perhaps I am being too critical, we paid €156 for dinner, bed and breakfast, without any alcohol, the hotel was a convenient stop for the night and I would use it again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stay here at least three times a year and have done so for at least 10yrs as we journey back and forwards to Spain. As others have said the exterior of the hotel has suffered a little but the interior is great the dining room is superb the food being excellent, we have always found the staff to be helpful and polite, the bedrooms have recently had a face lift and are always clean with extra pillows and blankets available if necessary. I will always make a point of stopping here before tackling Bordeaux and the N10 in the morning. Pons is a lovely old medieval walled town, we never tire of having a walk around the square and the Donjon before and after supper although we have been doing it for a long time.

Room Tip: All rooms we have slept in have been OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
803 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We picked staying here because of their michelin bib gourmand restaurant.

the peeling paint on the outside of the place gave us pause but the room was functional and clean and modestly priced.

the restaurant was good but not great. small menu with not a lot of choice available on prix fixe menu.

the waitress did not know the names of the 3 cheeses on the plate that was served to me. they picked the cheese-not me.
i figure it is the same cheese every night. how could they not know what they were serving?

not worth going a long way out of the way for

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Don't be put off by the exterior the room we stayed in was a little outdated but very clean. the staff were most helpful especially when I fused the lights in our bed room. The food was magnificnat well worth a detour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley499522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel de Bordeaux regularly over the last 10 years. After all this time, we have yet to be disappointed by the restaurant and service. The food is of a very high standard with a regularly-changing menu that delights and surprises. The building will soon be renovated and I expect even better things. Patio area is lovely for a summer evening meal and prices are very fair. Great cheese board and selection of wines. JLR score - 43/50

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co. Down
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Tucked away in the small town of Pons, a most comfotable hotel of character, close to the A10 motorway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pons
7.2 mi away
Hotel le Relais
Hotel le Relais
#1 of 1 in Jarnac Champagne
10 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Vieux Logis
10.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecu
Hotel de l'Ecu
#1 of 4 in Jonzac
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel Les Thermes
Hotel Les Thermes
#3 of 4 in Jonzac
25 reviews
13.0 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bordeaux

Property: Hotel de Bordeaux
Address: 1 avenue Gambetta, 17800, Pons, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Pons
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Bordeaux 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing