We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gran Rey
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Punta Marina(Valle Gran Rey)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Balcon Canario(Valle Gran Rey)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
      Charco Del Conde(Valle Gran Rey)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Pool
      • Beachfront
      El Platanal(Valle Gran Rey)
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
        Hotel Borbolan(Valle Gran Rey)
        View Hotel
        Very Good 4/5
          Casa Tia Delfina(Valle Gran Rey)
          View Hotel
          Good 3.5/5
            Residencial El Conde(Valle Gran Rey)
            View Hotel
            Very Good 4/5
            • Pool
            Residencial El Llano(Valle Gran Rey)
            View Hotel
            Very Good 4/5
            Certificate of Excellence
            • Free Wifi
            • Free Parking
            Casa Humberto(Valle Gran Rey)
            View Hotel
            Excellent 5/5
            • Free Wifi
            Reviews (226)
            Filter reviews
            226 results
            Traveller rating
            86
            101
            24
            13
            2
            Traveller type
            Time of year
            LanguageAll languages
            More languages
            86
            101
            24
            13
            2
            Show reviews that mention
            All reviewshalf boardthird floorsea viewlow keybuffet dinnerla gomerareception staffswimming poolhear the wavesrecommend this hotelvery nice hotelsea frontwalking holidayfood was fineevery eveningnice roomclose to the hotel
            FilterAll languages
            Updating list...
            66 - 71 of 226 reviews
            Reviewed 4 March 2014

            A well established hotel immediately opposite the sea with spectacular views of the sun s testing from the upper floors. The staff are all very friendly and so helpful. Rooms are a little dated but very comfortable all with en-suite facilities.
            The one downside is the buffet dinner which can be indifferent and lacks consistency. A great shame as the staff all try very hard to make dining an enjoyable experience.
            Valle Gran Rey provides lots of opportunities for walking either from the hotel to within the immediate environs but also to the main high spots of La Gomera. The scenery everywhere is stunning and totally unspoilt. Long may it remain so.

            Room Tip: Front rooms facing the sea if available
            • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            2  Thank MikeFSurrey
            This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
            Reviewed 24 February 2014

            Stayed for five nights as part of an escorted tour. Valle Grand Rey is a relatively isolated and self-contained resort that offers an adequate range of services. The 99 room hotel gets full marks from us for everything. The service is first rate from a efficient and interested staff. Food is buffet style catering which seems to have become the norm in most tour hotels an interesting and well cooked selection is offered. Our clean room was quite small and had sea view. The sound of the surf could have kept some folks awake but we found it to be quite soporific. The view of the sunset was truly memorable. We will return in ther near future to this gem of a hotel.

            Room Tip: Sea view room for the sunset, rear roomfor the view of the valley and mountaains
            • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            1  Thank nudgermanchester
            This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
            Reviewed 25 January 2014

            This hotel in Valle Gran Rey is right on the coast and could not be in a better position. The rooms are on the small side but OK if a little 'tired'. The bathroom needs refurbishing just to freshen it up - the bath is very small (but there wouldn't be enough space to have a larger one) - I'm 5 feet 10 inches and people much smaller wouldn't fit in either! As others have mentioned, the evening buffet meal isn't over-exciting but was reasonable value at 18 euros. Breakfast on the roof terrace was better. Nice atmosphere in the hotel and friendly staff both in reception and throughout the hotel. Mainly because of its position and despite some of these comments, we would stay here again.

            Room Tip: Choose an upper floor (there are only two) sea view room and pay the little extra.
            • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            2  Thank JackNicklaus
            This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
            Reviewed 19 January 2014

            Stayed for 2 weeks half-board (Halbpension) and really enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and facilities. The previous reviews of the evening food were a good warning, but really I have no complaints. It is not 'top quality' but more like food you find at home. The salad bar was great and there are plenty of non-meat options for main course. Breakfast was a top full service.

            The service is fast, polite, and efficient. Very helpful front desk staff and thorough cleaning staff.

            We took a sea view room and loved having the sun all afternoon and the sunset over the water. A bit of noise from the early morning arrivals/departure buses but the sound of the ever beating waves on the shore were more than a compensation!

            Would definitely stay here again.

            .. As an example of this hotel, there was a blind guest staying alone. It was inspiring to see how the staff took care of his extra needs, with patience, friendliness, and humor. To see this, was a reflection of the general satisfaction of the staff, meaning it is also a great hotel behind the scenes.

            Room Tip: Seaview is great for sun on the balcony and sunset views. Rear rooms have great view of impressive mountain and so either is a great choice.
            • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            4  Thank RichTravelWorld
            This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
            Reviewed 24 November 2013

            We stayed in Hotel Jardin Tecina in Santiago in February but there is little to do in Santiago. It seemed from pictures as if Valle Gran Rey would be more interesting. So we went to Valle Gran Rey in November 2013 and we were not disappointed. In my opinion Valle Gran Rey is the best resort on the island. The hotel was more than good enough. Rooms are spacious and clean with a nice enough bathroom and very effective air conditioning. We had a room at the back looking at the hillsides. I would pay the extra for a room at the front next time. The balconies for the rooms at the front get sunshine for most of the day. Our balcony at the back got the sun for about 10 minutes around 10am.
            We ate the buffet meal on our arrival on the first night. Plenty of choice and the food was fine. However we prefer to try local restaurants at night and so our booking was for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was perfect for us. Plenty of fruit, cereals, bread, cooked foods, drinks, cheeses etc etc to choose from. We ate a brilliant breakfast every day.
            Reception staff was cheerful, friendly and helpful throughout.
            This hotel may have only a 3 star official rating but we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back to this resort and we would definitely stay here next time. There are some brilliant local restaurants nearby so the hotel's location was perfect for us.

            Room Tip: I would choose a room at the front next time. The balconies at the front get the sun for most of the day.
            • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            3  Thank Duncan G
            This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
            View more reviews