We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It couldn't be better..”
other travellers have booked this property
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 01
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 01
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 02 Alfie;s Place AT The Alley Facade 03
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 01
Alfie's Place AT The Alley" Facade 02
Alfie;s Place AT The Alley Facade 03
Alfie's Place AT The Alley; Facade 04
Trieq Il Lunzjata / Lunzjata street 01
Trieq Il Lunzjata / Lunzjata street 02
St Dominic's Church at end of Street less than 10 Meters Away
On Right Hand Side of the street are the Historic walls of the Inquisitor Palace
Living Room Upon Entry from front Door.
Living Room
Living Room
Arched Ceiling in Living Room 01
Arched Ceiling in Living Room 02
Arched Ceiling in Living Room 03
Living Room
Kitchen / Dining Room 01
Kitchen / Dining Room 02
Kitchen / Dining Room 03
Kitchen / Dining Room 04
Kitchen / Dining Room 05
Kitchen / Dining Arched Ceiling
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 01
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 02
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 03
Main Bedroom on Ground Floor 04
Ensuite @ Main Bedroom on Ground Floor
Yard's Glass Top Ceiling Fitted with lights
Yard's Glass Top Ceiling
Start of Wooden Clad Stairs from Ground Floor.to 2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor
Outside 2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor.
Wooden Clad Stairs Outside 2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor
2nd Bedroom on 1st Floor
2nd Bedroom on1st Floor
2nd Bedroom's En-Suite (Toilet & Basin) & Another Wooden Clad Stairs leading to 2nd Floor Roof Level
Roof Level Landng @ 2nd Floor fitted with Kitchen Sink Cupboard
Out Door Setting on Roof at 2nd Floor
Your Host Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Katerina...
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It couldn't be better..”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was perfect! The house was perfect in any detail. The location was amazing too. I will visit this place once again for sure.
The owner is an amazing person!!! Alfies place is worth to visit even only becouse of the owner!! ;P

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Με σύζυγο/σύντροφο
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Wow What a Personal wrap :) Thank so much you are an amazing young couple full of life and zest, So glad you enjoyed your stay, and will look fwd to see you again, Keep on smiling :) Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ella_gree...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic residence and an outstanding welcome - we'll be back!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have greatly enjoyed our stay at The Alley in Birgu, and can't thank Alfie enough for his warm welcome - he made us feel at home right from the very start and made sure that we had all we needed.

The house itself is a wonderfully traditional two bedroom house in a quaint little alley within the historical town of Birgu - it has all the mod cons you might require, including an air conditioning, and two sizeable bedrooms, both ensuite. The house is tastefully decorated throughout, and is full of character. We spent many a happy evening sipping wine on the upstairs terrace, or wandering around the beautiful Birgu bastions. There are plenty of cafes, wine bars and restaurants in the vicinity, as well as a tourist info service just round the corner from the house.

Parking was never a problem - there were always plenty of spaces right outside the city walls, an easy 5 minute stroll from the house.

All in all, I will certainly be recommending The Alley to my relatives and will surely be back for another peaceful stay in Birgu.

Thanks Alfie for your wonderful hospitality!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
As Always nothing gives me more pleasure than a happy Visitor going back with a good feeling and wanting to return.

From my end It was an absolute pleasure to meet you, and thank you for looking after the place leaving it in a spotless before departing.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMT725
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From the moment I made contact with Alfie, the process of booking the house was flawless and uncomplicated. He was kind enough to answer all my questions and gave very useful advice prior to our arrival. The house itself is located in a beautiful part of Malta. The alley ways and historic buildings where people still live today just add to the experience of immersing oneself in the Maltese culture. Alfie's place is authentically Maltese and there is everything that you need to make your stay comfortable, even leaving a welcome pack to get you started. To add to the experience, Alfie was a wonderful host and we are yet to meet a better one on our 8 week trip through Europe. He generously meets his guests with a drink at the local bar and then shows you around the area so you can find your way around and know where to go to catch the ferry. He even showed us where to park our rented car which was only a few minutes walk from the house and rang us a couple of times just to make sure all was well with our stay.

Alfie, we had a wonderful stay and we can't thank you enough for making us feel so welcomed. It was great chatting with you about your time in Australia. We are sorry that we only had 9 nights but we are already planning on coming back sometime soon. Will definitely be in contact with you when we venture to Malta again. Cheers Michelle and Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was excellent. Host was wonderful and easy to communicate with
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Hi All, Thank you so much for your wonderful words, Equally it was a pleasure meeting you all and had a good chat about Australia especially NSW.

As always nothing give me more joy and satisfaction that a satisfied Visitor who feel at home, relaxed and money well spent.

Michelle whenever you and your family want to come you are always welcomed and be great to see you all again.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorkieJ
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Rental”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful house in side street but near everything you need and only ten minutes by ferry to Valletta. Birgu is beautiful with good restaurants and bars.
House as good as (actually better than) advertised and Alfie very easy going but makes sure everything is ready for visitors.
Made for a perfect break after a stressful summer.
Cannot recommend strongly enough - just fear if I do it won't be available for my future visits.
Thanks, Alfie
Paul

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of apartment
Liked least: Nothing wrong
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Cheers and thanks for you comment, Thank you for leaving the place spotless, I sur hope to see you again in the future. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you so much, It was a pleasure having your young family over, certainly hope to see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BertieKS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation and even better host”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dear Alfredo thank you for everything, the apartment is great, very clean and well equipped and suited all our needs. We had such a great time and I'd recommend it straight away to anyone. Amazing value for money and thanks again for your hospitality and help of renting the car. Next time in Malta there's no need to find another place. Everyone sends their regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you so much, It was a pleasure having your young family over, certainly hope to see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie410
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday cottage and great host!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at The Alley for 2 weeks. The house is great, with everything you need for a comfortable stay, there was already food in the fridge when we arrived which was much appreciated. Alfie is a great host, nothing is too much to ask and he was really easy to contact. He took us on a tour of Birgu when we arrived and even bought us a drink! Birgu is really lovely, easy to reach Valletta by ferry but there is lots to see and do in the town itself. There is also a (reasonably quiet) beach just a 20 minute walk away. We had a great stay and if we return to Malta we will definitely book again. Thank you Alfie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for such a great review and the speed you put in, was defiantly the quickest one ever. You are Two Lovely young Ladies with Big smiles, full of fun, well educated and got the world at your feet...... Would be great to see you again, good luck with your last year of studies. Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing