We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My co worker and I were in Minden for business overnight. The room was beautiful but would be more suited for couples (the tub was exposed to the rest of the room). Our stay was very comfortable (awesome memory foam topper and linens). Bob is lovely and made us a beautiful tasty breakfast in the morning.. lots of food! Hopefully you have a big appetite. Overall great experience and would recommend for couples definitly!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have never left a review on TripAdvisor before, but I feel compelled to comment because I was blown away by the hospitality of Bob. Bob goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. It is a lovely older home that is well-kept and immaculate. Our room (Riverview) was perfect- a good size, and had my 'necessities' (i.e. its own bathroom facilities!). The B&B is by a river and walking distance to town. Very picturesque.

Bob was full of interesting stories, and recommendations on where to go. The restaurant he recommended, Rhubarb, was great - atmosphere and food!

Finally, the breakfast in the morning was perfect. Fruit, yoghurt, juice and coffee/tea and we chose the "world famous" waffles and bacon - delicious!!

I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We found this wonderful B & B quite by accident. How fortunate for us!
This house is a perfect example of combining charm, quality, luxury and true hospitality to produce a 5 star experience for guests.
Bob makes you feel welcome and pampered. A professional with all the appeal of a beloved friend. We loved the Wild Swan, and Bob, and will definitely go back and recommend it to friends.
Lynda and David Parkes

Room Tip: They are all perfect and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Bob was very accommodating to our allergies for breakfast. He also was considerate in asking what food we wanted for breakfast. Breakfast was really good both mornings. The antique decor is lovely inside the rooms and throughout the house. We had a large jacuzzi tub in our room and was a pleasure to use. The bed and pillows were top quality and comfortable. If we were ever in Haliburton/Minden area again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archiefromthecomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Beautifully decorated B&B, comfy and cozy, terrific host, and delicious food. The B&B faces onto the Gull river, and although the weather was rainy, my husband and I still enjoyed a walk into the main part of town, along the river. We are looking forward to coming back here in the late Summer/early Fall. Great for a mini get-away. Bob is a very charming host and wonderful person.

Room Tip: Our room faced the river, and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Host Bob aims to run a first-class establishment and succeeds in many ways, but we got off to a bad start.

This is a great location, with excellent food, and we believe that Bob's guests will usually find him a wonderful host. The 5* reviews are deserved. I recommend trying it for one night, and then book to come back again if you love it.

In early May Minden was one week past the peak of an epic flood, which closed many businesses and roads including a Thai restaurant (Suwan’s), reputed to be the best anywhere! We had to access the B&B by footbridge across the river, or a long complicated back-road drive. We enjoyed lovely walks along the Gull River, and as a bonus,I found an outstanding RMT in town!

Now for our story:

Our honeymoon had to be cheap, or not at all. So I researched 20+ B&B's in the near north of central Ontario, on multiple websites for each one. For the Wild Swan I found a website offering three nights for the price of two, and contacted him on that premise. Bob replied that there was no such discount. I sent him the URL as proof. Curiously, when I called to confirm our booking, he made no reference to the URL, as if he had not gotten--or read--my email. We booked the three days trusting that he would offer whatever he felt was fair.

When we arrived, Bob had us pay immediately (contract and credit card) for our full intended three days. We did get a break on the cost--about 10% off the normal shoulder season price. We got the feeling that he expected us to be “difficult” customers.

We were in the "Angelina Jolie stayed here" room. Beautiful--but after using the hot-tub, the room would not cool down, and we found the windows were permanently sealed shut. The bathroom ventilation (which Bob claimed would cool the room???) seemed to accomplish nothing.

We reported this the next morning, and Bob said he would see what was wrong with the rooftop AC unit. When it was still just as hot the 2nd night, we became more assertive--asking Bob to turn on the central AC or something--and he told us no can do. He said the new guests, who had arrived from Holland that afternoon and ate dinner there had just asked for it to be turned down. Sigh.

so we cannot in good conscience give you 5 stars, Bob. Many others in our place would be a lot less polite about it, but the trust is that most of what Bob provided was wonderful! The thing we likes least was the feeling that Bob did not like us! Hospitality is the #1 reason we choose to go to a B&B.

So I have three recommendations for Bob:

1) Do what you can to fix what's wrong-like installing some kind of window ventilation!;

2) Give the customer's a break when they find something less than ideal. Yes, some can be unreasonable, but we were not. I think your Dutch guests might have been willing to bundle up a bit, or use a space heater, of they had known our circumstances;

3) And most important, lighten up! We understand that you want to be the best, and that bad reviews cost you serious money, but how you handled our situation worked against you.

You don't have to be the best to be very, very good. Stay well.

Room Tip: Check for ventilation. Does it work? Hotter, Colder? Fresher?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Wild Swan, and we highly recommend this B&B. The house was lovely, and the breakfasts were great, with fresh wild berries every morning. Bob, the proprietor, was friendly and had high standards for his inn, which included the rooms, his role as innkeeper, and the food. He provided many recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area, which included advice about which ones to avoid. We had a great, relaxing visit and look forward to returning. The one bad review here should be disregarded- the reviewer was never actually a guest! The Wild Swan is the only place to stay in this part of the Haliburton Highlands.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Highlands room, which was beautiful and had a huge jacuzzi for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minden hotels
5.2 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
200 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
6.1 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#3 of 8 in Minden
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dominion Hotel
Dominion Hotel
#7 of 8 in Minden
15 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
6.4 mi away
12 Mile Lake Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 65 Invergordon Street, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range: £74 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn Minden, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing