We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Minden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minden House B&B and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 8 Minden B&B and Inns
Port Hope, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Minden”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visit family in Minden frequently and stay at Minden House B&B & Cottages because the family is too large to stay in one house. Our most recent stay was in November and once again we had a great time. The hosts are very friendly and flexible and the Inn is cozy and pretty. We stay in one of the cottages on the property so I can't say what the main house is like, but it looks very nice from what I have seen. The Inn is nestled along the Gull River on a fairly quiet street. Our cottage was called "The Pines" and it has a queen sized bed with a futon pullout. It's essentially one large room with a separate bathroom.

The cottage has a complete kitchen with full sized fridge, stove and a microwave. We didn't cook meals at the cottage but it does have dishes, glasses and utensils. No dishwasher but you don't really need one. The beds are comfortable and come with lots of warm bedding and pillows. The television and DVD player were great and the kids liked watching movies just before bed. The bathroom in The Pines is tight but clean and functional. It has a stand-up shower stall, two valve toilet & sink with vanity. It's actually more than you might expect from a small cottage. The hot water tank is small so showers should be quick and to the point.

There are larger cottages on the property with separate bedrooms. I've never been inside them so I can't say what they're like. I'm sure they're similar to the one we stay at, which means well appointed and clean. The Minden House B&B & Cottages is the only place we stay at in Minden.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OTRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mindenhouse, Owner at Minden House B&B and Cottages, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Again, thank-you for taking the time to post your (corrected) review of Minden House and for your positive comments. The Pines cottage is really designed for couples only, and had we been aware the children would be staying in the unit with you (and not with their grandmother) we would have recommended one of the two-bedroom units for your visit. FYI the small hot water tank has now been fitted with a thermostatic mixing valve so now there is plenty of hot water for normal showers, however we still recommend this unit for no more than three occupants

Thanks to all who have posted reviews here and on other similar sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My Husband and I spent our wedding night at this wonderful bed and breakfast, the hosts were extremely friendly without being intrusive, they allowed us to take some wonderful pictures there with our wedding party. The room was comfortable wonderfully furnished and clean. We were served the most delicious breakfast in our room in a wonderful window seating area in the morning.
We could not have dreamed a better place to spend our wedding night

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 905Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and I reserved the Kirkwood Suite for a single night as a warm place to sleep during a two day snowmobile trip mid February but we were so delighted with the experience we ended up staying an additional night.

The room was classic feeling with a super comfy bed, fridge, TV, beautiful alcove surrounded by windows and a full bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Lesley and Gord were such sweet and accommodating hosts we felt right at home and enjoyed chatting with them. Both breakfasts we had were far beyond what we expected... lemon ricotta pancakes with lavender syrup!! AMAZING! And Italian style poached eggs on garlic toast on day 2 PERFECT!

It really was a memorable experience, I think I walked around with a permanent smile the whole time I was there. Located on the gull river right beside town, it's a very convenient location. If you're staying in Minden, this is the place to be. We will be going back without a doubt!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and myself had a very pleasant stay at the Minden House, a short get away for us. We stayed in the Kirkwood Room, delightful, wonderful amenities, small bar fridge, a lovely alcove in the room, perfect for relaxing with a good book. The ensuite bathroom is beautiful. The hosts pay much attention to detail, even including crystal wine glasses in the room. Our breakfast was filling and delicious. Gord and Leslie are warm and most accomodating hosts. A great place to relax and enjoy.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I had a great summer weekend staying at Minden House.
Our hosts, Lesley and Gordon were welcoming, helpful, considerate and warm. They told us about local attractions (floating down the Gull River) gave directions, best places to eat, and where to purchase baked goods. The entrance to this B & B is private and one can come and go at anytime. Our room had a mini fridge, provisions for making tea and coffee and a television...all were in excellent working order and very much appreciated. The breakfasts were outstanding, and the china was beautiful. Although we stayed in a room at this B & B, the hosts graciously showed us through their rental cabins (which come with picnic bench and bbq'ing facilities). We plan on returning to this B & B and we do highly recommend it to anyone looking for accomodation in the Minden area. The fact that it's on the Gull River is an added bonus, and also within walking distance of town makes it an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Gordon and Lesley were the perfect hosts, who made us feel right at home. Lesley made creative and delicious breakfasts for us every morning, We stayed in the Kirkwood room for three nights, which was tastifully decorated and clean. My husband and I have been to many bed and breakfasts, this has to be one of the best ones yet.
Gordon and Lesleys' attention to detail is very impressive and shows the care that is put into their home and the comfort of their clients.
It is located in good central location, not far from HALIBURTON, FENENLON FALLS, KINMOUNT, which we visited. Lovely view of the Gull river where you can canoe.
We will definitely go back again and recommend The Minden House to anyone who wants a relaxing time away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband, daughter and I just spent the weekend in Minden on our way up to visit our son at camp and were lucky enough to have stayed at Minden House. We stayed in the Primrose cottage which was perfectly clean and comfortable. Lesley and Gord are wonderful friendly hosts and went out of their way to make us comfortable. I absolutely recommend Minden House and look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.3 mi away
Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn
9.8 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dominion Hotel
Dominion Hotel
#7 of 8 in Minden
13 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
185 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#3 of 9 in Haliburton
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minden House B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minden House B&B and Cottages

Property: Minden House B&B and Cottages
Address: 23 Invergordon Ave. | Box 136, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Victorian house and 5 self-catering cottages on site. On the Gull River (riverwalk) in Minden, offering use of bicycles, canoe, BBQs, picnic tables, fire pit - all included with accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minden House B&B And Cottages Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing