We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for ATV riders”

South Wind Motel & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Wind Motel & Campground
LACKAWAXEN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for ATV riders”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

If you are looking for an ATV get away, This place is awesome. Dave and Pat are the perfect hosts. The trail riding in this regions back country is amazing. My wife and I spent a week here and will return again. We spent our days riding the trails, and fishing the many lakes that you find along the trails, no one lives on these back country lakes, and we had them to ourselves. We also saw plenty of wildlife. The people in the area are friendly. The efficiency unit we stayed in was clean. Dave was knowledgeable about the trails and always available for advise, or help. You can ride the trails right from your room, and its OK to ride most of the roads. Thank's Dave and Pat for a great vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Pat and Dave are great hosts and will go out of their way to ensure your visit to the entire area is pleasurable.
Dave really knows the land for miles and miles around the premises and is great for pointing things for out for ATVers and snow mobilers on detailed maps (we've been there summer and winter).
They are both very knowledgeable and friendly with all the shops and services in the area and are eager to help out with recommendations on where to go and what to do.
The rooms are very clean and tidy and the types of people we've met there are generally very friendly.

Room Tip: Check out the trailers/RV's they rent on the premises in addition to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We heard about South Wind while researching ATV trails. Our first visit was in 2011, we rented one of the motels. We were pleased how clean there are (we have stayed in 3 different ones).
We now own a travel trailer and have been back several time to camp, with and without the ATVs.
You can ride all day, they have easy going rail trails up to extreme trails. You can access the trails right from the grounds.
Dave and Pat are the bests hosts ever!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed there this past long weekend for a motorcycle trip and the place was great. Beautiful riding location and the perfect set up to kick back and relax in front of a campfire with friends.

I'd stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: If you are going to share a room ask for number 7, It's huge inside and has a small kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoklkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed at south wind with my 3yr old and grandmother, Pat and Dave were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. we stayed in the fall and the room was cosy and, warm and the ATV ride was a big hit. next time we are in canada will pop by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have stayed at South Wind Motel quite a few times. We have tried all their facilities. We have stayed in a tent, rented a trailer, stayed in the motel and the round cabin. Every experience that we have had was fantastic. We usually travel with friends, and Pat and Dave are sooo friendly and willing to do anything for you that it makes you feel like family. I can't say enough good things about South Wind, so everyone should just go and experience it themselves.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nut4cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just returned from a long weekend at Southwind. As other reviewers mentioned Pat & Dave are excellent. They truely work to ensure you have everything you need and help in any way they can.

We went for a weekend of ATVing. They have a trail that connects to all the main trails. Their trail is not a simple trail its an expert trail for those who are looking to get into rock climbing and mud! You will enjoy the trails I am sure if you are a serious ATVer!

Rooms were extremely clean. We stayed in a room with a kitchen. It was exactly what we wanted for a weekend.

Can't beat the price and service - period.

It seemed like every single person was their to ATV which for us was really nice. Not every place is ATV friendly.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wercanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minden hotels
8.3 mi away
Ogopogo Resort on Mountain Lake
9.0 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
185 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dominion Hotel
Dominion Hotel
#7 of 8 in Minden
13 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wild Swan Bed & Breakfast Inn
9.8 mi away
Red Umbrella Inn
Red Umbrella Inn
#4 of 8 in Minden
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Wind Motel & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind Motel & Campground

Property: South Wind Motel & Campground
Address: 121-6254 Cty Rd | Box 464, Minden, Ontario K0M 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Minden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful country setting with 131 acres of ponds and trails close to Minden and Kinmount. In-ground pool, efficiencies, cottage & RV rentals. Full service and tent sites with free showers. Main ATV & snowmobile trail access. Clean and quiet, all rooms have fridge, full bath. air, many rooms with kitchens, BBQs available. Continental breakfast in season. Shopping and restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Wind Motel & Campground Minden, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing