We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freindly, clean and quiet, with the river on the doorstep.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Castillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Freindly, clean and quiet, with the river on the doorstep.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

There is a choice of pine clad rooms with air conditioning and en-suite shower-rooms, Ours was overlooking the river. There is a large first floor balcony to watch the river from a seat or a hammock. The restaurant serves good food and the hotel will provide a packed lunch. A bonus is the wildlife 'on the doorstep' from massive Amazon Kingfishers in the day to huge Caiman (a crocodile species) sitting in wait below the balcony at night. Trips down river and into the jungle can be arranged by the hotel. Situated at the very end of the small road through El Castllo its a fine location in a fabulous little jungle town. Dont miss it if you visit Nicaragua.

Room Tip: There are rooms large and small we had a fine choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    42
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
56
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Super clean, nice and quite and balcony views onto the river. Well stocked bar (which in El Castillo is surprisingly rare) and good food (again, surprising rare apart from Borders cafe) makes this one of the best places in town. Super friendly staff too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steveslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at Hotel Victoria and were looked after very well, getting our breakfast as a picnic every morning as requested as we were leaving to go down river before 5.30. The rooms were very clean and we had a great view from the lovely balcony. If you like epiphytes, you'll love the tree in front! I did feel, however, that for the price we paid, compared to our friends' at the hotel next door, the difference wasn't really worth it - Victoria had bigger rooms, you couldn't see the river through the floorboards and the view was similar. Food and drink was more expensive here too. I don't think our friends' hotel had air conditioning either, but then we prefer a fan anyway. Another nice feature is the boardwalk just below, so you can watch the world go by - oh, and caymens just beside the restaurant.

Room Tip: We were shown two rooms and chose the one with the better view. Depending on length of stay, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hotel Victoria is certainly the hotel with the highest standard in El Castillo. We had a room in the newer building. The spacious room are in good shape. The house on the whole is very clean. The quiet A/C works very well.
The poor breakfast consisted of a small fruit plate , some pieces of toasted bread, a small sausage, one egg, jam and butter. You get a package juice and can choose between coffee and tea. You have to pay for every additional slice of toast and cup of coffee you request for.
During our stay the electricity broke down and a noisy generator in front of our building was installed. Only the older house and the restaurant got light. Our house remained completely dark. No flashlight was given and no information at all. Later on there was no water. Again no information. When we brushed our teeth in the darkness we didn't recognize that the water was
dark brown it means spoiled. My wife got an infect for more than five days with extreme pain in her stomach. During the night no fresh water was available till the next morning. The owners are not responsible for the problems with electricity and water but they are responsible for the lack of information.
Conclusion: In our opinion the owners who run the hotel are practising the minimal principle which means to get the highest success with the lowest means or commonly spoken - they have the $-sign in their eyes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a nice place to sleep after spending the day in the jungle. The TV does not actually get reception, if that matters to you (I would not have turned it on anyway.) The water is not really hot, but that hardly matters, given the climate of the area. The a/c does work (very well), and that does matter. It's clean and the two women who own it are really nice. It's quiet and the rooms are very private and it's a pretty building. There's a nice balcony upstairs with rocking chairs for watching the river or for people watching. It might be the only place in town that will take a credit card (at least it's one of very few.) El Castillo was my favorite town in Nicaragua. No cars, very picturesque, very safe, very eco-conscious, very friendly people. It's wonderful just to stroll all over the town, the residential streets as well as along the river. No hawkers, just people living their lives. The restaurants typically serve delicious, simple, local food. I just love this town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days travelling down the Rio San Juan. The rooms are clean and comfortable with AC and en suite (with actual hot water - if you haven't been to Nicaragua you may not be as excited as I was by this), though they aren't particularly big. While there were a few power cuts in the morning this working most of the time, contrary to what other reviews said. Breakfast is Nica style, with gallo pinto (rice and beans), fruit, eggs, cheese and bread, and very tasty. There's a good bar/restaurant area overlooking the river. What really sets this place apart, and takes it up to 5 stars for me, is the great service. We don't speak great spanish, and the ladies running the place were really helpful. We messed them about, changing our booking, and asking to borrow their phone to make reservations in other places, and all the time they bent over backwards to help us out. They also dug us out an English speaking guide to arrange trips for us. Cost was around 46 dollars a night for 2 people.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twalker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

El Castillo is a charming village along Rio San Juan with only boat access. Victoria is very welcoming sight at the end of the street. Hotel offers nice views of village and river. Room and beds were comfortable and clean. The owners are wonderful, easily bridging the language gap with good will and service. Staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is a pleasant surprise with a serviceable bar and nice open space. We really enjoyed our meals especially the amazing river shrimp. In the morning, you can enjoy colorful tropical birds like honeycreepers and tanagers visiting the bird feeder near the walkway. Ringed Kingfishers and Great Egrets are a common sight along the river. Except for some celebratory firecrackers, El Castillo is quiet. This village is a delight and a gateway to wild parts of the Rio San Juan region.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingToucans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna del Rio
Hotel Luna del Rio
#1 of 3 in El Castillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lara's Planet
Hotel Lara's Planet
#3 of 3 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nena Lodge and Tours
Nena Lodge and Tours
#1 of 5 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Indio Adventure Lodge
Rio Indio Adventure Lodge
#1 of 1 in Indio Maiz Biological Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catalanica
Catalanica
#2 of 2 in Mancarron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Iglesia Catolica, El Castillo, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rio San Juan Department > El Castillo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in El Castillo
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel El Castillo
Hotel Victoria Nicaragua/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing