We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection personified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfection personified”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel deserves every one of its five stars. this ultra chic ultra sleek hotel is positively luxurious with attentive, friendly staff and all the amenities one could wish for. Breakfast is a feast, delectable with plenty of choices, hot and cold,on a par with other well-known 5 star hotels.The setting right by the lake is peaceful and serene.Whether you stay for a couple of days or a fortnight,you are guaranteed to come away relaxed and revived.The hotel offers all treatments at the spa and the indoor, outdoor pools are truly inviting.The rooms are beautifully appointed with fantastic bedding!!!!
Only 30 minutes from Dubrovnik, with a bustop just outside the hotel, do not take your car and enjoy the view all the way in to the Old City and back. You won't be sorry.The Admiral Grand is a grand hotel without the silly pompous attitude of some 5 star hotels. It has conference facilities as well as a great place to bring the family. Do not go anywhere else as this is a hotel of your dreams and I am a fussy customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    125
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
112
238
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here for the first week in July this year. Impressed and very happy from start to finish. Everything was clean, well maintained, well staffed and in top order. The staff all appeared very friendly and mostly speak pretty good English.

Room was spacious and comfortable, plenty of cupboards and drawers, air-con worked well and had an excellent private balcony overlooking the beach with superb views. The sound-proofing and light-proofing qualities of the balcony doors and curtains were also excellent.

Food was really excellent and plentiful. We were half-board and there was a wide variety of hot and cold breakfast choices, plenty of fruit - plenty to smuggle out with you for lunch also! The evening meals were superb - massive choice of meats, fish etc and plenty of veg options, we both ate far too much. The restaurant was open from 7-10 for breakfast and again 7-10 for dinner, so very flexible hours and they never seemed to run out of anything or mind if you turned up for a late sitting.

The one trivial annoyance was the over-zealousness of the waiting staff in terms of their plate/cutlery collecting: i.e. the instant you finished with something then a waiter would swoop in like a hawk to take it away. Almost every evening we had to ask them to leave our plates alone until we had both finish. Maybe this is just their custom, but they got the message in the end.

The other guests seem to consist mainly of Russians with some Germans, Dutch and French: not many other English guests, which I didn't mind at all. The Russians don't seem to venture very far and prefer a sun lounger holiday. We prefer to get out and about, but on the occasions we fancied slugging on the beach or poolside for an hour or two there was never a problem finding unused loungers or sun-shades.

The hotel have a supply of hire cars that you can rent there and then the same day, or there is a tourist information office right outside where you can organise this and other excursions and hire. Other facilities on offer are tennis, volleyball, pedalos, kayaks and bikes, but you have to pay extra for all of those. If you go about 200 yards down the bay on the right there is a small cafe where they hire out the same, plus motor boats, speed boats and jet-skis at lower rates. Quad bikes were available from another place in the village.

There are good walks to be had on both sides of the bay and if you don't fancy the hotel beach (which is ok but not very interesting) there are loads of other coves and little beaches in walking distance with excellent snorkelling to be had. Look out for the secluded little cove on the left hand side near the bay entrance which is a really nice place to hole up in, although you can only get to it by water, or a very long clamber over rocks.

I recommend a visit to the villages of Mali Ston/Ston a little way north where you can walk over the mountain on top of the town walls - very interesting indeed.

We would definitely go back there with no hesitation.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the sea are the rooms to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cyberdyne_T-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

A beautiful resort in a idyllic setting. The hotel is two years old and is supposedly a 5 star , lovely rooms and dining area virtually everything is first class. my only winge is the food although reasonably good, became very boring after the first week. Umbrellas were initially in short supply , when the russians turned up in some numbers the supply suddenly increased? The price of beer and all drinks were much to expensive, and very limited entertainment was provided. The area is gorgeous and nice walks to other bars etc where drinks were affordable. Because of the drinks prices and the food i class this hotel 4 star. But the setting and the building etc 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StockportPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

From the moment you walk through the door you instantly feel a sense of peace and relaxation come over you at this lovely hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. For the greater part the staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent. We enjoyed a lovely a la carte lunch as well as a good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadiaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

First, let me present my view on a "5 stars issue" about hotel Admiral in Slano. If a "5 stars hotel" means a pure luxury & excellence in every single detail of the facility and service - then this hotel is not the one. However, this hotel is so beautifully located, so modern, so clean, so comfortable and so relaxing that I would definitely recommend it to everyone... except maybe to grumpy people who would only search for a reason why this very fine hotel should not be the one with 5 stars.

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel directly since they had a great spring 2011 promo: 3 nights in king-sized bedroom with a balcony and a sea view (buffet breakfast and a la carte dinner included) for only 100 EUR/night. From the price list in the room we found out that in high season i.e. July-August the same room is around 220 EUR. The hotel is in an excellent location: in the middle of a small place Slano, directly by the sea in a fascinating bay. Hotel Admiral has its own car parking (free of charge), private beach, indoor/outdoor pools, spa area, 3 new tennis courts, beach volley, WIFI in lobby and everything else they say on their web pages.

Our room was very spacious with more than 20m2 and very modern and comfortable. King-sized bed is in dimensions 200x200cm and I think it is the biggest one we've ever slept in. The bathroom is pretty big, stylishly decorated, very clean, with lots of little shampoos, soaps and different kinds of towels - definitely a touch of luxury. Mini bar and 20'' multi-purpose LCD TV are also available. There is no classic room key so everything is solved via hotel smart card - even "do not disturb" sign is managed digitally. There is a possibility to adjust temperature in the room but once we had tried to use it we realized that the hotel did not activate such possibility. Our room looked exactly like on photos on hotel's web pages and that is what every traveler appreciates. Through reasonable sized balcony there is a fascinating first-row view on the sea so you can listen pleasingly sea waves in the morning or in the evening. During the day it is not so because there is a hotel beach nearby so the sounds of waves are mixed with voices of the swimmers, but the view is just marvelous.

Breakfast and dinner were very good with lots of choices and types of food. There was even an option that the staff prepares a warm meal according to our wishes completely free of charge... so we used the option couple of times :-)))) - nice touch of excellence. More fresh local fruits and products would be our suggestion to hotel's management because Neretva Valley, one of the most fruitful areas in Croatia, is only 40km away. I would like to add that cutlery and plates were really classy and my girlfriend loved it.

Hotel bar is nicely decorated and situated near hotel beach so you can order a drink and enjoy it on easy-chair right by the sea. Prices are more than OK for this kind of service: cocktails like Mojito or Cosmopolitan are around 8 EUR, freshly squeezed orange juice is 4 EUR, a glass of a solid local wine is around 4 EUR.

Next to the hotel beach there are also lots of nearby beaches where one can relax or swim in crystal clean sea but the sea temperature in April was around 16 Celsius which was a bit cold for us.

Hotel staff is really friendly and tries hard to keep up with guest's expectations. In only few occasions we noticed that their service maybe is not a "5 stars": for example, in the middle of our dinner conversation a waiter interrupted us with a question whether the food was OK and if we needed anything. I mean it's really not a big deal but after visiting some excellent places where waiter is "invisibly around" you can notice when the service is interfering with your private space more than needed. However, we got the impression that such minor mistakes are more lack of experience rather than a clumsy or bad service. Generally speaking, we have to admit that the staff indulged to our every request - and that is the sign of really good customer-oriented service.

Finally, a few tips for nearby trips and sightseeing. Firstly, the visit to old city of Dubrovnik - the amazing pearl of Adriatic and Mediterranean - is a must. Just in front of hotel Admiral there is a public bus line for Dubrovnik which operates 5-6 times a day (timetable is available at hotel's reception). Buses are clean and modern, the ticket is around 3 EUR in one way and the travel takes approx. 40 minutes. Of course, there is an option for a taxi but the price is around 50 EUR so I would definitely recommend the public bus. It is the best way to comprehend a local way of life. I was in a city of Dubrovnik before but I wasn't very impressed - all the beauty of streets and buildings I saw in Dubrovnik I already saw in other coastal towns like Pula, Zadar, Sibenik, Trogir and Split. But this time I realized that an extraordinary beauty of Dubrovnik can only be spotted if you go (1) to a hill Srdj above the city with a cable car and (2) take a tour on city walls. After those 2 tours I realized how Dubrovnik is remarkable and unique place in the world and why so many tourists are visiting Dubrovnik every year... this time I personally was more impressed with Dubrovnik than with also amazingly beautiful Paris overlooked from the highest level of the Eiffel Tower. But maybe that's just a bias patriot in me :-) Ticket price for the cable car to Srdj is 10 EUR, and for the tour on city walls 9 EUR + 5 EUR for multi-language audio guide.

Second tip is to visit the old town Ston, approx. 20km north-west from Hotel Admiral. There is a 5,5km long wall which was built in 14th century by the City of Dubrovnik to defend their salt fields and factory - in those days the salt was precious as oil today. Ticket for the wall tour is around 4 EUR and the money is used for renovating the wall. After the 3-hour-tour we continued driving a few kilometers to inland of Peljesac peninsula where you can find local restaurants with great local wine and food.

Overall, our visit to Hotel Admiral was an excellent choice. The hotel is great and possibilities for relaxation and sightseeing are extraordinary. Hotel facilities and service are on a high level. With a few corrections this hotel will soon become, not only formally, but truly a "5 stars" hotel. In my opinion at the moment this hotel is a great value for money especially when the hotel is visited out of high season. Hopefully everyone will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MartinV_Zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed here for onw week honeymoon half board. At €260 a night was very expensive for what we got. Room was fantastic with sea view, beach lovely (although last day the water was not clean for swiming), and pools good. Our main gripe was the shared buffets especially for dinner, and that they charge you for all drinks despite being half board! My wife had a bad stomach for a few days which we still blame on the food that seemed to sit around for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tchuliks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Excellent new hotel 30 km North of Dubrovnik, nested in a deep bay. The hotel is just the right size, not too huge, not too small. It is one of the very few hotels in Croatia to have its own private beach. Excellent beds, excellent food. The hotel is slightly understaffed and deserves better guest than agency groups. The only true weakness actually lies in the surroundings: there is absolutely nothing in Slano itself. It could be a lovely little village, butr since it was occupied and destroyed during the 1990s war, thye locals don't seem to want to breathe new life into it. So except for going to Dubrovnik (a 45 minutes ride), I would suggest that you go to this hotel if you mainly want to swim, read, take walks and sleep. You will feel rejuvenated!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
12.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
21.9 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,610 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
12.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,975 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Property: Admiral Grand Hotel
Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Grand Hotel Slano, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing