We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, very relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July. Having never been to Croatia, I chose this hotel based on the location (we just wanted to relax), and other traveller reviews and was not disappointed - the hotel is exactly as it looks on their website. Approximately 1 hours drive from the airport, we arrived earlier than check in time, however we were accomodated with our room straight away with no extra charge. The hotel is very modern and spotlesses clean. It's a very picturesque setting with mountains on the entrance side of the hotel and sea view to the rear. Just outside of the hotel there is a small supermarket, a newsagents, tourist info and a very handy bus stop. One evening we took a stroll around the bay to find a couple of nice family resturants and bars, ideal if you fancy a change from eating in the hotel. We felt very safe walking after dark and locals are friendly.

We stayed half board and the food was fine. Meals are buffet style but there is plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner (I am a vegetarian and this was not an issue). You simply choose your table, inside or out and then the waiter will brink your drinks. For those who like to eat late (we would go down at 9pm) the food was cleared away around 10pm however we didnt feel particularly rushed. I would say drinks are priced reasonably for a 4/5 * european resort, and for lunch we ate most days at the poolside pizzeria. The food was lovely and seemed very reasonably priced. All of the staff were extremely polite and most spoke english.

The rooms are very modern and stylish. There is lots of wardrobe space and storage and a large balcony where you can sit. There is also a mini bar and free safe in the room, the beds were very comfortable and we had a large sofa. We also had a tv so were able to watch some of the coverage of the olympics in our own room, however this was also available on a large screen in a conference room downstairs for those who wanted, which meant you could avoid watching tv if you so wished. Bathrooms are spacious with lots of towels and toiletries. The rooms are operated by key card which needs to be inserted in the wall unit so you can operate your lights and air con. Air con can not be left on whilst you are out of the room. There are no hot drinks facilities in the room, but this is made clear from their website.

The pools are saltwater, stunning and very clean, if slightly chilly. There are lots of loungers around the beach and pool and each set of 2 loungers has umbrellas. You help yourself to towels from either of 2 points and there are pool staff available if you need any help. The beach is shingle and fine to walk on but is larger rocks as you walk into the sea. Its better to wear your flip flops as you walk in, but we actually bough cheap beach shoes to swim in. There is also a ladder to access the sea from the deck. You can use the indoor pool, jacuzzi and gym, however note there is a cost to use the sauna and steam room which we felt was excessive. The only sight irritation was the huge number of empty beds with towels on them when we saw no one go near them all day, however every day we were able to find beds regardless of the time of day.

There are lots of places to sit in the evening, and indoor bar, the outside pool bar and several large sofa areas outside. Most evenings there was entertainment around the pool bar but this finished by 11pm and it was lights out shortly afterwards so several evenings we finished our drinks in the dark ;o) We also tried the disco on the Saturday night but were not suprised to find we were the only people in there. Considering the hotel was full when we went, we did not see many people at all in the evenings.

All staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, arranging transfers, checking the bill, changing money and helping us with our bus journey planning into town however there were a couple of staff members we felt we looked after us - our waiter at the pool for lunches and evenings, and a waitress from the evening bar. Whilst the location is quite far down the coast, we were still able to take the bus outside the hotel and spend a half day in old town doing some sightseeing.

All in all this was of a very high standard of hotel in all areas and if you are looking for a relaxing/ sunbathing break, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    106
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
92
208
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mariupol, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Advantages:
- location ( really 15m to the sea from the main restaurant )
- more or less comfortable entrance to the sea ( no big and sharp stones )
Disadvantages:
- no WI-FI in the rooms
- no children room
- very poor restaurant menu ( not a five star ) - even if you want to have an a-la carte dinner- the choice is poor
- meanwhile the food is overpriced ( if you think you will get "fresh fish from the sea" for reasonable money - forget about it ). 1 kg of rare fish is 80-100eur
- the staff is not friendly ( of course they do their job, but if you want something extra- NO WAY )
- the hotel charges for everything ( from usual drinks at the dinner till 30eur penalty for one hour late check-out )
- it looks as if they work the last week and their mission is to get as much money as possible

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Previous reviews cover the details of the hotel comprehensively so no need to go in to too much detail.

Spotlessly clean throughout, modern contemporary style, excellent service, superb swimming pool, polite and attentive staff, beautifully clean beach and excellent buffet style dinner and breakfast with more than enough choice to satisfy all tastes. As another reviewer mentioned if you like your early morning cuppa take a travel kettle as Croatian hotels don't supply tea or coffee making facilities.

This is a hotel catering for couples but not necessarily families with smaller children. This isn't a complaint at all as it lends itself to a totally relaxing and peaceful environment.

The Croatian coastline is exceptional and our decision to hire a car for the duration of our 11 night stay was well worthwhile.

If you are like exploring a little there are some exceptional places to visit. The small town of Cavtat is beautiful and well worth a visit. The town of Ston with it's town walls is a short drive away. If you fancy walking the walls take some appropriate footwear as it can be a little steep in places. A drive up the coast and a short passenger ferry trip to Korcula is a lovely day out and only about £2.50 for the ferry trip.

Obviously Dubrovnik old town is a must but try and get there early as by late morning/lunchtime the narrow and very hot streets are heaving with visitors. We also hired a small boat from a trader just down the road from the hotel and spent a lovely day just gently cruising the glorious coastline.

The absolute jewel in the crown of the area though is the island of Mljet which is home to a national park. This park where the two lakes are situated is simply one of the most stunning areas I have ever visited. It is possible to swim in both lakes and I would defy anybody to find a more beautiful location to swim. The ferry trip across isn't cheap (about £50 for the two of us and the car) but this didn't stop us going twice. Simply stunning.

We took the three island trip organised by Elite travel from the hotel and I wouldn't put this on my list of things to do. The first two islands visited weren't worth going to and the 45 minutes spent at each were difficult to justify. The final island (the name escapes me) was ok but only if you took the golf buggy trip to the sandy beach on the opposite side of the island where we spent a pleasant couple of hours. The cruise was over subscribed and you were packed on the boat like the proverbial sardines. The lunch provided was edible but you wouldn't pay a lot in a restaurant for it. Not recommended.

We also took a car drive north through the Bosnian border just to see what was up there. There isn't a lot, I wouldn't bother going up there.

Anyway, to sum up. A fantastic hotel in beautiful coastal surroundings with lots to go and see if you want to. Equally, a glorious place to be if you want to lie around soaking up the sun.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Paying that bit extra to guarantee a sea view is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just spent 1 week at The Admiral Grand, if you are looking for relaxation mixed with stunning location then you won't be disappointed. The hotel complex is modern and contemporary with glass ceilings that allow you to view the beautiful views around the hotel of the bay and mountains. We had a room with direct views over the bay and it was worth the extra cost. Breakfast choice was excellent. Our only disappointment was the lack of evening restaurants with only the main restaurant open which mainly catered for half board with a choice of buffet, great if that's what you want as the choice was good. We ventured out into the village to eat and along the bay to eat in local restaurants, we were not disappointed!! I can honestly say we ate some of the best seafood ever and the local people were really friendly. The hotel itself might have been a bit too quiet for our teenage boys, evening entertainment was pleasant but not for a teenager. We would definitely stay here again though the whole experience was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saw242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We got back from a week's honeymoon a few days ago, staying on a half-board basis. Overall I'd highly recommend the hotel and surrounding area, with only one or two fairly minor complaints.

First, the pros (and there many of them!)...

It's spotlessly clean throughout. From the atrium to the bedrooms to the restaurant to the beach, the staff have clearly gone to huge efforts to ensure incredibly high standards of cleanliness.

The food is of an extremely high quality, particularly in consideration of the informal buffet-style service. Evening meals are especially tasty. Everything is served fresh, bar some tinned fruit deserts (which are there in addition to - not instead of - fresh fruits). The variety is 'admirable' (gettit?!), with great effort being made to tweak the menu each evening - some dishes inevitably reappear, but without fail there were several each night that were unique to that evening. The meat selection was especially good, with special praise going to the mouth-wateringly succulent venison served on one evening. Vegetarians would in no way go hungry though, with a more than ample and varied choice on offer. To top it off, the restaurant is right on top of the beach, and a table on the outside balcony offers an unrivalled (and romantic) view over the bay.

Customer service levels are high, with reception staff consistently polite and helpful, and the waiting staff in the restaurant always quick to take and serve drinks orders.

The bedrooms are lovely (or at least ours was) - we had a mountain-side view, which may not be as picturesque as the sea one but nonetheless offered its own charm. The shower was suitably hot and powerful, and the king-size bed was one of the most comfortable hotel ones I've had the pleasure of sleeping in.

The beach is a clean man-made shingle-based one rather than sand, which may bother some - but there are plenty of sunbeds and the sea is beautiful to swim in - very calm being in a bay, and the water pleasantly cool-to-lukewarm when we were there (weather was 30+ degrees sun every day). People leaving towels on unattended sunbeds in the middle of the day was a slight annoyance but I guess is par for the course, and it didn't affect our ability to find spares.

The only quibbles we had were relatively minor irritations. There's no kettle / tea-making facility in the room, which though a disappointment for my tea-addicted wife was not unexpected. However, what was unexpected was the non-presence of an iron & ironing board, or the facility to have one delivered to your room. This was the first time I've experienced this in any hotel I've stayed in, worldwide - ever. Maybe it's a Croatian thing as the in-room brochure says something about anti-fire regulations. If you do want a shirt ironed, you have to pay a maid the best part of £5 to do so - a lot for a 2 minute job! To me this had echoes of a previous reviewer's complaint about having to pay for ice - an unnecessary irritation.

Drinks are perhaps a little on the expensive side - not compared to UK prices, but certainly compared to the small number of bars and restaurants located in Slano. A bottle of (local) beer was a shade under £3; whilst the wine choice is varied but fairly pricey - the cheapest local plonk came in at just over £12 a bottle, but most were priced at £20 and upwards. Not a major issue though as you can't really begrudge paying for a drink in such lovely surroundings, and any profit that helps ensure the hotel maintain its high standards has to be a good thing. Plus, as mentioned, there are a few alternative places in Slano to go for an evening drink - we particularly liked the modest little locals bar down by the harbour (less than 5 mins walk from the hotel).

Other points of note... there is some evening entertainment, though it is limited. Of particular note was the pool-side 3-piece band performing a mixture of UK/US/Croatian pop music covers and ballads - they played on 3 evenings during the week and made for pleasant accompaniment with an evening cocktail or two. Other than that there was a piano player / singer of dubious talents who performed in the lobby on a couple of evenings, and a sparsely-populated night club - open 3 nights a week in high summer, but still dead on the Saturday night we visited.

The hotel is situated at the 'base' of the bay, and there are pleasant walks to be had up either side of the bay. There are 2 mini-markets in the village - useful, though we only used them to buy water, beer and an emergency bottle of sun lotion. The bus to Dubrovnik couldn't be more convenient as it stops just outside of the hotel (costs about £2.50 per person) and is well worth the trip.

To sum up: if you want some good quality R&R (and a good feed) you won't be disappointed by staying at the Admiral Grand. It's probably half a star short of a genuine top-line 5* hotel, but it's still a fabulous place to base yourself for a holiday - and indeed a honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimmyTheGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nine days in June 2012. Flew Monarch from Manchester. My wife and I had a large en-suite at the front of the hotel with views of the mountains and the pretty village. Everything, shops, post office, chemist, ATMs, restaurants and picturesque harbour were all within easy walking distance. The hotel is modern (rebuilt after the war in former Yugoslavia), very clean and efficient. The beach is not tidal, is shingle (buy footwear locally) and all of five to ten meters from the open-air restaurant. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the buffet-type restaurant food is plentiful and tasty. Drinks and snacks prices are OK for a 4*/5* hotel, but much less in the village restaurants and bars. There are indoor and outdoor salt water pools and lots of sunbeds and parasols. Oddly, toilet rolls seemed to be rationed in the bedrooms. One word of warning - travel by bus outside the village is tricky as the bus drivers are, without exception, surly and unhelpful. Fortunately, this does not apply to your fellow local passangers who came to our rescue.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room - you might be lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conallcearnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napajedla, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Second stay here fortified my opinion that this is IT.
Beautiful located, luxurious, wery well maintained and modern hotel with best kitchen i have ever tasted. Staff does maximum for you as a normal thing. Beach is wonderful and PRIVATE!!! Lots of place and beds here. You do not need to place towels on them like a fool early morning. Pool is big and clear like just filled everytime.
Beach is good for chilren with calm sea with almost no waves.
Rooms are great also.
Best choice in Croatia for me, I will return many times ;)
The tranquility of the place is amazing.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jiri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
21.9 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
12.9 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
12.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
12.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Property: Admiral Grand Hotel
Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Grand Hotel Slano, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing