We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Slano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent five nights here during August of 2012. The hotel is new, modern, well-run and perfectly-positioned at the base of the bay in Slano, Croatia. The staff is also very friendly and helpful, so that gives this big hotel also a personal touch. My only complaint is that there is no real character to the place: it has everything you could hope for, nice rooms, beautiful views, great beach, large outdoor and indoor pools, excellent breakfast. Still, there is a sterility that pervades the entire hotel. I only consider this a minor point and would definitely go back; but there was nothing memorable about the Admiral Grand (other than location) to distinguish it from other "top" hotels. When we booked the hotel, I thought to myself: reasonable prices for a 5-star hotel. But in my view, it really isn't a 5-star hotel; and if you go there with that expectation, you will be disappointed. It is an excellent 4-star hotel with 4-star prices. Take it as such, and you will be happy.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a seaside view: it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tarnungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having just returned from a week in the hotel I just wanted to write a review of the hotel.

Overall we really enjoyed the trip - it was our first time to Croatia in general so wasn't sure of what we would get - but we enjoyed our time and would go back again.

Nice hotel with a good location, rooms are modern and well laid out (but as someone else pointed out - a simple kettle would be nice).

Hotel "beach" area is a man made one comrpising crushed rocks so you need to have some shoes for swimming. If you can't find them where you travel from you can always get them from the shops close by at what looked to be reasonable prices. There are also two pools (1 indoor (with a small jacuzzi), 1 outdoor) - both of which are salt water and fairly refreshing (as was the ocean for the majority of the time we were there.

Food is excellent and as everyone has said previously varied. Lots of fish on offer (Hake, Dental Fish, Monk Fish, Grouper etc) all very nice and fresh. They also do a lot of different cooked meats; chicken, turkey, steaks etc. Had very nice fillet mignon and venison one night as well. Good selection of vegetables and the portions are well sized - so you can pick pieces of everything and not be over full. Not to sure what Ivan F was expecting.

They also do an extremely tasty Prosciutto style meat. Couldn't stop eating it...

Good selection of deserts which my son made the most of, along with fresh fruits, peaches, apricots, figs, watermelon etc

We went half board so our only realy cost was lunch (which we didn't need) and drinks for dinner. We stuck with a Chardonnay degrassi for Kuna 150 (approx Eur 20) which was ok. During the day as other people have said there are a couple of local shops (2 mini markets a bread shop and local pizza place etc etc) so we would go for a walk to those to get soft drinks etc.

Our flight back was a late one so we needed a late check out, as it was their busy time we were lucky our room had ben allocated to some travellers arriving that evening - so we could keeo the room but at a charge of Eur 15 per hour. Would have been nice if pricing was flexible or deferred seeing as room not needed but I guess thier season is short and our choice to keep room.

One irritation were the fishing boats that use the moorings to the left of the hotel as on occassions you could smell the diesel fumes etc and on one day they seemed to anchor just outside the swimming zone and clear their bilge waters and you could see the water wasn't as clean and the smell of fuel was in the air.

Hotel management should see if there is a way to cooperate with the fishermen so that they respect the hotels beach front.

Oh yes - Bus #12 runs you into Dubrovnik - about 45mins and then taxi or 2nd bus to the castle. well worth getting out for a half day. Bus ticket each way Kuna23 (Eur3) and they didn't ven charge for our 8year old son.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiFoodie_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This really is an excellent hotel on all counts. Not too large, not too small, wonderfully located within a small south facing bay, 30 minute taxi ride from Dubrovnik.

Food is excellent, varied menu, local dishes of an extremely high quality. Relaxing spot no busy night life but to compensate you can watch the fishing boats unlading in the morning and if you are so inclined you can buy some fish as do many of the locals.

A couple of small shops and restaurants near by to supplement the facilities at the hotel and provide a change of scenery.

Spa area is of a high quality, under used and incredibly good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Party_of_eight_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July. Having never been to Croatia, I chose this hotel based on the location (we just wanted to relax), and other traveller reviews and was not disappointed - the hotel is exactly as it looks on their website. Approximately 1 hours drive from the airport, we arrived earlier than check in time, however we were accomodated with our room straight away with no extra charge. The hotel is very modern and spotlesses clean. It's a very picturesque setting with mountains on the entrance side of the hotel and sea view to the rear. Just outside of the hotel there is a small supermarket, a newsagents, tourist info and a very handy bus stop. One evening we took a stroll around the bay to find a couple of nice family resturants and bars, ideal if you fancy a change from eating in the hotel. We felt very safe walking after dark and locals are friendly.

We stayed half board and the food was fine. Meals are buffet style but there is plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner (I am a vegetarian and this was not an issue). You simply choose your table, inside or out and then the waiter will brink your drinks. For those who like to eat late (we would go down at 9pm) the food was cleared away around 10pm however we didnt feel particularly rushed. I would say drinks are priced reasonably for a 4/5 * european resort, and for lunch we ate most days at the poolside pizzeria. The food was lovely and seemed very reasonably priced. All of the staff were extremely polite and most spoke english.

The rooms are very modern and stylish. There is lots of wardrobe space and storage and a large balcony where you can sit. There is also a mini bar and free safe in the room, the beds were very comfortable and we had a large sofa. We also had a tv so were able to watch some of the coverage of the olympics in our own room, however this was also available on a large screen in a conference room downstairs for those who wanted, which meant you could avoid watching tv if you so wished. Bathrooms are spacious with lots of towels and toiletries. The rooms are operated by key card which needs to be inserted in the wall unit so you can operate your lights and air con. Air con can not be left on whilst you are out of the room. There are no hot drinks facilities in the room, but this is made clear from their website.

The pools are saltwater, stunning and very clean, if slightly chilly. There are lots of loungers around the beach and pool and each set of 2 loungers has umbrellas. You help yourself to towels from either of 2 points and there are pool staff available if you need any help. The beach is shingle and fine to walk on but is larger rocks as you walk into the sea. Its better to wear your flip flops as you walk in, but we actually bough cheap beach shoes to swim in. There is also a ladder to access the sea from the deck. You can use the indoor pool, jacuzzi and gym, however note there is a cost to use the sauna and steam room which we felt was excessive. The only sight irritation was the huge number of empty beds with towels on them when we saw no one go near them all day, however every day we were able to find beds regardless of the time of day.

There are lots of places to sit in the evening, and indoor bar, the outside pool bar and several large sofa areas outside. Most evenings there was entertainment around the pool bar but this finished by 11pm and it was lights out shortly afterwards so several evenings we finished our drinks in the dark ;o) We also tried the disco on the Saturday night but were not suprised to find we were the only people in there. Considering the hotel was full when we went, we did not see many people at all in the evenings.

All staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, arranging transfers, checking the bill, changing money and helping us with our bus journey planning into town however there were a couple of staff members we felt we looked after us - our waiter at the pool for lunches and evenings, and a waitress from the evening bar. Whilst the location is quite far down the coast, we were still able to take the bus outside the hotel and spend a half day in old town doing some sightseeing.

All in all this was of a very high standard of hotel in all areas and if you are looking for a relaxing/ sunbathing break, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Advantages:
- location ( really 15m to the sea from the main restaurant )
- more or less comfortable entrance to the sea ( no big and sharp stones )
Disadvantages:
- no WI-FI in the rooms
- no children room
- very poor restaurant menu ( not a five star ) - even if you want to have an a-la carte dinner- the choice is poor
- meanwhile the food is overpriced ( if you think you will get "fresh fish from the sea" for reasonable money - forget about it ). 1 kg of rare fish is 80-100eur
- the staff is not friendly ( of course they do their job, but if you want something extra- NO WAY )
- the hotel charges for everything ( from usual drinks at the dinner till 30eur penalty for one hour late check-out )
- it looks as if they work the last week and their mission is to get as much money as possible

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Previous reviews cover the details of the hotel comprehensively so no need to go in to too much detail.

Spotlessly clean throughout, modern contemporary style, excellent service, superb swimming pool, polite and attentive staff, beautifully clean beach and excellent buffet style dinner and breakfast with more than enough choice to satisfy all tastes. As another reviewer mentioned if you like your early morning cuppa take a travel kettle as Croatian hotels don't supply tea or coffee making facilities.

This is a hotel catering for couples but not necessarily families with smaller children. This isn't a complaint at all as it lends itself to a totally relaxing and peaceful environment.

The Croatian coastline is exceptional and our decision to hire a car for the duration of our 11 night stay was well worthwhile.

If you are like exploring a little there are some exceptional places to visit. The small town of Cavtat is beautiful and well worth a visit. The town of Ston with it's town walls is a short drive away. If you fancy walking the walls take some appropriate footwear as it can be a little steep in places. A drive up the coast and a short passenger ferry trip to Korcula is a lovely day out and only about £2.50 for the ferry trip.

Obviously Dubrovnik old town is a must but try and get there early as by late morning/lunchtime the narrow and very hot streets are heaving with visitors. We also hired a small boat from a trader just down the road from the hotel and spent a lovely day just gently cruising the glorious coastline.

The absolute jewel in the crown of the area though is the island of Mljet which is home to a national park. This park where the two lakes are situated is simply one of the most stunning areas I have ever visited. It is possible to swim in both lakes and I would defy anybody to find a more beautiful location to swim. The ferry trip across isn't cheap (about £50 for the two of us and the car) but this didn't stop us going twice. Simply stunning.

We took the three island trip organised by Elite travel from the hotel and I wouldn't put this on my list of things to do. The first two islands visited weren't worth going to and the 45 minutes spent at each were difficult to justify. The final island (the name escapes me) was ok but only if you took the golf buggy trip to the sandy beach on the opposite side of the island where we spent a pleasant couple of hours. The cruise was over subscribed and you were packed on the boat like the proverbial sardines. The lunch provided was edible but you wouldn't pay a lot in a restaurant for it. Not recommended.

We also took a car drive north through the Bosnian border just to see what was up there. There isn't a lot, I wouldn't bother going up there.

Anyway, to sum up. A fantastic hotel in beautiful coastal surroundings with lots to go and see if you want to. Equally, a glorious place to be if you want to lie around soaking up the sun.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Paying that bit extra to guarantee a sea view is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just spent 1 week at The Admiral Grand, if you are looking for relaxation mixed with stunning location then you won't be disappointed. The hotel complex is modern and contemporary with glass ceilings that allow you to view the beautiful views around the hotel of the bay and mountains. We had a room with direct views over the bay and it was worth the extra cost. Breakfast choice was excellent. Our only disappointment was the lack of evening restaurants with only the main restaurant open which mainly catered for half board with a choice of buffet, great if that's what you want as the choice was good. We ventured out into the village to eat and along the bay to eat in local restaurants, we were not disappointed!! I can honestly say we ate some of the best seafood ever and the local people were really friendly. The hotel itself might have been a bit too quiet for our teenage boys, evening entertainment was pleasant but not for a teenager. We would definitely stay here again though the whole experience was fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saw242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
1.1 mi away
Hotel Osmine
Hotel Osmine
#2 of 3 in Slano
257 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
5.4 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Sipan
Hotel Sipan
#1 of 1 in Sipanska Luka
273 reviews
12.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range: £116 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Grand Hotel Slano, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing