We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but location limited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Admiral Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was more like a business hotel rather than a holiday resort. Slano is quiet with limited eating places other than the hotel. Breakfasts are lovely but dinner buffet is repetitive and uninspiring. A la Carte is very expensive.
Hotel needs a better transfer into Dubrovnik as bus provided was expensive and often unobtainable. There needs to be a local taxi service.
Having said this the staff are friendly and the rooms are spotlessly clean. We had requested a late check out but we were charged 15 euro per hour for 4 hours when we only needed 3 and a half.

Room Tip: Only choose rooms with a sea view on the first or second floor. Third floor balconies have no shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 894julieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great place in a secluded bay on the dubrovnik riviera. Very welcoming of our 19 month old..
Buffet breakfast and dinner both good and a couple of good local restaurant alternatives. Especially the closest pizza place.
K super market has well priced drinks and snacks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank parsas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel at August 2013 with my daughter. Very beautiful place for relaxing rest. Excellent beach, not large? but very pleasant territory. Frendful and kind personnel staff. Interesting architecture of main building - like a great ship with different boards. Good SPA? but prices,for my opinion, rather high. Room was standart double - clean, not very large, but comfortable and cosy. Pools and fitness hall in good state. So, it was excellent summer rest in atmosphere of relaxing, peace and quiet. Ones more!!! At restorant there is a wonderful view to the amazing sea!!!
Thank you for all staff and management oh this hotel! I'll hope to be here next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrinaZay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is neat and clean, in an interesting place. The personnel is polite. However the price is awfully high and one does not get his money's worth. The food is quite varied, but it's more or less the same stuff every day. Basically no activity is available besides sun bathing. The SPA could have been attractive if services were offered at a more reasonable price. The hotel is close to nowhere, and going to Dubrovnik takes roughly one hour.

Room Tip: Please make sure you get a room with sea view, as there are quite a few with basically no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I should start my review by saying that we really didn't have great expectations for this holiday. We had a collection of Tesco clubcard reward vouchers and this seemed to fit the bill for a warm relaxing break.
We've had issues with Cosmos in the past and were reluctant to travel with them again (little choice with clubcard) but it was very smooth. Pick-up from the airport was a mini-bus which drove us about an hour to Slano.
Can't comment on the rep because we didn't meet her but knew where to find her if we needed her.

Journey:
We had similar reservations about flying with Monarch and when we reached the airport and were told the flight was delayed by a few hours we thought it was just the start. But the plane left when they said it would, we had no issues with comfort or space and the service was efficient-except for a cold cup of tea. Try to book a seat at the front of the plane so the water's still hot when they get to you!

Hotel:
The Admiral Grand was rebuilt after the 90's war and opened in 2008 so it's all new. It stands at the head of a bay which is beautiful and very peaceful-tho a bit more like staying by a lake than the sea. The interior is pared back creams and browns, modern clean lines.Just as it looks in the photos.
Staff friendly and welcoming, I find a smile and a polite greeting go a long way.
The hotel wasn't full and the weather hit & miss so no issues with sunbeds.
Didn't use the spa except for the indoor pool and jacuzzi, but was surprised to see that they charge 5euros for a yoga class-something I've usually seen included in your stay at 5* hotels.

Room
The room was fairly spacious with a superking bed which was firm (as we like), and a sofabed at one end. I did have to ask for an extra pillow as there was only one each initially. We had a 3rd floor room (313)with a view of the bay from the balcony.
Everything spotlessly clean and oodles of soft towels in the bathroom.

One nitpick was that they don't have an iron in the room or even one at reception! I was horrified as I'm not too good at packing and tend to iron as we go. They consider electrical appliances like irons to be a hazard so you're expected to use the laundry which is not at all cheap. There's no kettle either but I'd read about this in a previous review and took my own-then hid it in the wardrobe when we went out! If I went again I'd definitely do the same with an iron.

Food
We had read previous reviews about the food being boring and as 'foodies' we were a bit concerned. But we thought the food was excellent, there were the usual choices for breakfast: cereals,yoghurts,fresh fruit-a wide selection, egg station, bacon, sausages, cold meats and cheeses, cakes, bisciuts, chocolates. I guess it could be boring if you have three course breakfasts every day but we don't so there was plenty of variety for us.
We were most impressed with the evening meals especially the fish/seafood selection. There was a selection of fresh fish/seafood carpaccio (octopus particularly good) different every evening. Mussels buzzara, squid ink risotto,2 or three types of fish as well. meats: chicken, beef, lamb pork turkey veal.We even managed a chicken, mash veg and gravy one evening when the weather made us want comfort food! Good selection of vegetables from potatoes and cabbage to aubergine,courgettes, peppers,etc. Salads too.
We found the service excellent but we do come from the 'tip well early' school.

Snorkelling:
Looking at previous reviews we decided to take our snorkels with us. You can certainly snorkel-but there's nothing to see!

Overall this trip really exceeded our expectations, Croatia and it's poeple really lovely.
Would I stay there again-yes definitely if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Lovely views from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There is much to recommend this hotel. It is in a beautiful, quiet bay. There are excellent facilities, such as indoor and outdoor pools, comfy relaxing areas, lovely guest rooms. The buffet restaurant food had a huge selection and was quite good, even if left out a while (this buffet compared very favourably with other 5* hotels we stayed in.) However, the hotel did not quite have a quality atmosphere - the bar was a little pedestrian. And although some individuals provided excellent service, many did not seem to care whether you had a good holiday or not! The reception staff gave us a particularly poor impression, and some senior management seem to look rather stressed! Publicly berating staff is never a good look.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jemcat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just returned from a relaxing 10 days break.

Plus Points
The hotel is spotless and rooms are large.Maids are really friendly, waiters and bar staff are very attentive - after a few days they remembered where we like to sit and what we liked to drink without asking. Not much to add about the hotel that others haven't said expect the food was great; really nice variety.

Spa facilities were good; we had the couples massage and it was reasonably priced and very relaxing.

The hotel was dead on an evening. Everyone goes to their rooms after tea! One night there was a band playing music at the pool bar, only us and one other couple listening.

IMHO its a 4* not a 5*. Little things like service make all the difference.

Things to Note.
Reception staff so unhelpful and miserable on every occasion.
Our rep (Jet2) did not turn up at the welcome meeting (we were the only ones from our flight to stay in the resort so transfer with a friendly Croatian minibus driver who told us the hotel was beautiful but very quiet) and didn't see her the whole hotel. She even rang the maid to bring a message to our room with departure details, not great!

Slano village
It's a great little village but not much going on; bakery is great for lunch supplies as is the little fruit stall just outside the hotel. 2 small supermarkets and about 4 restaurants.
Good for running - 2.5 miles one way, 2.5 miles the other.
If you walk up to the other hotel and take the route behind it you can walk over the small hill and get an amazing view of the sun going down.
Be careful if you hire bikes and go on the route suggested by TI Office - we are both reasonably fit but it was a bit of a task. 1600m ascent, chased by mad dogs, a route that is only partially signposted.

Trips
If you want to organise your own you can get a boat from Slano straight to Dubrovnik old town for 35 euros return, nice way to travel. They also go to the Elphatit Islands.

The bus from Slano is only about £4 return and takes about 45 mins, be sure to ask the driver to drop you off at the stop for the old town (or else you will end up in the bus station which is about 45 mins walk!). From the bus stop take note of the route to the old town, down some stairs in a little alleyway, turn right then cross the road. Walk straight down the hill to the old town (look on the floor, it tells you the distance at this point).

The cable car is fun and reasonable cost; the panoramic restaurant on top of the mountain has breath-taking views but it a bit expensive - worth it though and we enjoyed a leisurely lunch here.

Take the ferry form the old town port over to Lokrum (about £6 return), very peaceful and far from the maddening crown. Only takes 15 minutes and worth the climb to see the great views back over Dubrovnik. We enjoyed a peaceful afternoon of swimming here.

We'd go back to Croatia again, but even though we go on 'adults only' holidays this one was far too quiet for us and we would look for somewhere livelier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slano
19.3 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hotel Sipan
Hotel Sipan
#1 of 1 in Sipanska Luka
273 reviews
12.3 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Grand Hotel

Address: Rudera Boskovica, BB, Slano 20232, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Slano
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slano
Price Range: £120 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiral Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Admiral Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Grand Hotel Slano, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing