We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpine Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bell Hills(Furano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Hokuseiso(Furano)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Edel Warme(Furano)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
8
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
8
6
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is the first time i stayed in the dorm. I choose to stay at the dorm because the accommodatiion in Japan are mostly costy. Upon entering the room, I need to lay my own bed, i.e.covering the mattress with bed sheet, pillow case on the upper deck bed as the lower decks had already occupied. Is it a norm for dorm?

The staffs were seen not to be around most of the time, the only time I interacted with was when we did our check in, but everything seen to be in place, like the hair dryer at the counter and there are notices everywhere to remind you the dos and don'ts.

The bed was not as deem uncomfortable per other travellers, what I not used is to bath in the common bathroom (male and female seregated) and it is near the common area, beside the receiption area, a floor down from the sleeping room. To to be really considerate to the other room mate, i.e. minise noise in room. But the good thing is there is curtain and lighting for every bed, you can have your own private space in the common room.

The breakfast was not included in the room rate and you have to order the day before if you want it. Most of the eating place don't operate early for breakfast although you may buy some snack from the convenience shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Had a lot of fun in the town of Furano and this backpackers is great value in a superb location. After a long day of boarding though, the beds left much to be desired. If you are OK with a very thin mattress and tiny pillow you will cope. I had sore hips every morning!
I plan to look for western style beds this coming year! Loved the onsen in the hotel - not one really close to the town so that was definitely a plus!
If you are backpacking - this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel for backpackers and the adventurous. Booking the hostel was simple enough. We called the hostel and reserved it without any difficulties. We booked a room for 4 and paid only about 2600yen per person. The room was clean, but simple, with double decker beds. There were many Japanese movies and animes for rent on the shelves as well. The innkeeper was a nice guy and recommended great places to dine (Tomisushi) and visit. My only complaint is that the hostel is a distance away from Furano station and we had to take a cab there. But other than that, it was walking distance to many adventure facilities and sunflower and lavander fields (the views were spectacular!). We paid 3000yen for this star gazing session at 7pm, during which Futoshi, our guide brought us to spot animals and look at fireflies under the starry night sky. We huddled huge Hatsume torchlights in a bus, scanning our surroundings for wild animals. Then at around 9pm, he laid out some goundsheets on the grass and brought out cookies he made for star gazing. He brought binoculars and torch lights and would shine them in the night sky, showing us the important star clusters, constellations and the north star. There were shooting stars every few minutes. I made so many wishes until I couldn't wish for anything else! It was a magical experience. Cookies and stars made an awesome combination. This was one of the most unforgettable moments in my life! I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to experience the most magical and wonderful side Hokkaido has to offer!

We participated in white water rafting the next day. (around 5000yen with transport provided) I don't recommend this, because it was rather slow and unexciting. It's more suitable for families with young children. But it was a rather cool experience, literally- you get to immerse yourself in water that just melted from the mountains (in Aug) which is really cold! The Gingiskan lunch after the white water rafting experience was also average. You'd get better ones in local restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eprincipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews