We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable lodging, reasonable value. Nothing more.”
Review of Alpine Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality lodging in Furano
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Alpine Backpackers for night during our time in Furano. We were going to spend additional nights but decided to look elsewhere instead. For starters, they had no double beds in the private rooms, just bunk beds. My wife and I decided that we will no longer stay in places that don't have double beds. Life is too short. Secondly, there seemed to be people moving in and out of the building at all hours of the night, slamming the door each time. Since our room was located near the door we were disturbed from our sleep all through the night. The rooms are not well sound insulated. Not a very restful sleep. The room itself was small, cramped, and stuffy but very clean. Other than that, it wasn't too bad. The hostel is well laid out with nice common areas, kitchen, onset baths, and free wifi. The location and setting are nice, a bit far from town, but still within walking distance. There is a beautiful park nearby, a great place for walking or running. Overall we had a reasonable stay here but will look for other options in the future. Recommended for the single traveler, not a good place for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hostel is a great option if you are looking for a budget bed in Furano. The location is great of you are looking to ski as it is only a 2min walk from the ski slopes. It is a little far from the town centre and station but there are buses that stop nearby. There also plenty of restaurants within a few mins walking distance. The owners speak good English and are very welcoming. The rooms are pretty basic but warm and comfortable - essential when the outside temperature is -20C! Everything is clean and well maintained.
I also ate breakfast at the hostel which was very good value for 500yen - cooked sausages/ham, toast and cereal.
Overall excellent value if your finances don't stretch to the Shin Prince Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is the first time i stayed in the dorm. I choose to stay at the dorm because the accommodatiion in Japan are mostly costy. Upon entering the room, I need to lay my own bed, i.e.covering the mattress with bed sheet, pillow case on the upper deck bed as the lower decks had already occupied. Is it a norm for dorm?

The staffs were seen not to be around most of the time, the only time I interacted with was when we did our check in, but everything seen to be in place, like the hair dryer at the counter and there are notices everywhere to remind you the dos and don'ts.

The bed was not as deem uncomfortable per other travellers, what I not used is to bath in the common bathroom (male and female seregated) and it is near the common area, beside the receiption area, a floor down from the sleeping room. To to be really considerate to the other room mate, i.e. minise noise in room. But the good thing is there is curtain and lighting for every bed, you can have your own private space in the common room.

The breakfast was not included in the room rate and you have to order the day before if you want it. Most of the eating place don't operate early for breakfast although you may buy some snack from the convenience shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Had a lot of fun in the town of Furano and this backpackers is great value in a superb location. After a long day of boarding though, the beds left much to be desired. If you are OK with a very thin mattress and tiny pillow you will cope. I had sore hips every morning!
I plan to look for western style beds this coming year! Loved the onsen in the hotel - not one really close to the town so that was definitely a plus!
If you are backpacking - this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel for backpackers and the adventurous. Booking the hostel was simple enough. We called the hostel and reserved it without any difficulties. We booked a room for 4 and paid only about 2600yen per person. The room was clean, but simple, with double decker beds. There were many Japanese movies and animes for rent on the shelves as well. The innkeeper was a nice guy and recommended great places to dine (Tomisushi) and visit. My only complaint is that the hostel is a distance away from Furano station and we had to take a cab there. But other than that, it was walking distance to many adventure facilities and sunflower and lavander fields (the views were spectacular!). We paid 3000yen for this star gazing session at 7pm, during which Futoshi, our guide brought us to spot animals and look at fireflies under the starry night sky. We huddled huge Hatsume torchlights in a bus, scanning our surroundings for wild animals. Then at around 9pm, he laid out some goundsheets on the grass and brought out cookies he made for star gazing. He brought binoculars and torch lights and would shine them in the night sky, showing us the important star clusters, constellations and the north star. There were shooting stars every few minutes. I made so many wishes until I couldn't wish for anything else! It was a magical experience. Cookies and stars made an awesome combination. This was one of the most unforgettable moments in my life! I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to experience the most magical and wonderful side Hokkaido has to offer!

We participated in white water rafting the next day. (around 5000yen with transport provided) I don't recommend this, because it was rather slow and unexciting. It's more suitable for families with young children. But it was a rather cool experience, literally- you get to immerse yourself in water that just melted from the mountains (in Aug) which is really cold! The Gingiskan lunch after the white water rafting experience was also average. You'd get better ones in local restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eprincipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inori886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MYnaturaleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Furano hotels
1.4 mi away
New Furano Prince Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Naturwald Furano
Hotel Naturwald Furano
#3 of 13 in Furano
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Furano Natulux Hotel
Furano Natulux Hotel
#1 of 13 in Furano
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edel Warme
Edel Warme
#4 of 13 in Furano
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Furano Hotel
New Furano Hotel
#10 of 13 in Furano
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Ressha House
Pension Ressha House
#26 of 40 in Furano
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Backpackers

Address: 14-6 Kitanomine-cho, Furano 076-0034 , Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Furano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality lodging in Furano
Price Range: £35 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Backpackers Furano, Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing