We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Cinderella”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Furano Prince Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Furano
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Poor Cinderella”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There are two Prince hotels in Furano which are close neighbours. Of the two The Furano Prince is less Prince Charming and more Cinderella. The New Furano Prince has the facilities and glitz, while the older Furano Prince is the neglected step-sister. The hotel is designed around the winter ski season and offers a basic recipe of room, ski storage, communal Onsen and restaurant. The buffet breakfast was the highlight, offering a good range of choices and local produce. If you are a serious skier then this might just do it. But there are no frills. It is more dormitory than hotel. The hotel looks its age, and facilities are clearly run down and past their best. The rooms are clean and functional, but feel cramped, and with one small window, are gloomy. There is very limited storage space and none for hanging any small items of washing. The onsite coin laundry would be a busy place in peak season; there are only three machines. The bathroom is a tiny “drop in” box, and if you turn too quickly in the shower, you will be sitting in the hand basin. Furnishings and decoration throughout look well used and worn. There is wifi in public areas, but this appears patchy on the guest floors. This is a hotel in desperate need of a makeover. Cinderella needs her fairy godmother.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlaynmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    45
    59
    18
    6
See reviews for
68
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed in new Prince Hotel few years ago. I did love it. Unfortunately, it is full booking in there so I pick this one.
Disappointed. The hotel really needs decoration again. The hotel staff is not really helpful. Such a big contrast with the new Prince Hotel. It is not really worth of money.
Probably, it is just a 3 star hotel but cost you 4-5 star service.

I would go for some hotel stay in this location if I cannot book new Prince hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Furano Prince for a week at the end of February and we highly enjoyed our trip. It was only a 45 - 60 minute bus ride from the airport, with no winding road so that was a great way to stay. We stayed in the slightly older wing but it was still great and wasn't at all dingey or old looking. We had 2 singles in our room as well as a couch area. Apparently the new rooms don't have the couch but instead have a larger bathroom. We needed the couch to lay out our clothes as there wasn't very much storage (one of only two slight downsides to our stay here). The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, pillows weren't fantastic but thats up to the individual (second slight downside).
The included breakfast was ok, large selection of Japanese breakfast items as well as eggs, bacon and pastries. We had our lunches at the ski slope diner (try the upstairs, we didn't know that upstairs also had a lunch until our last day and it was a lot nicer than the downstairs) and our dinners in the town.
The vicinity to the village was great and you can also walk into town which was welcomed if you feel like going when there are no buses running, you can't walk to town or the village from the New Furano Prince. The staff are helpful but speak next to no English, except for one. The onsens are lovely and clean, closing 9am-2pm for cleaning.
The ski lockers are in a great spot, right next to the door, then a short downhill ski to the lifts. There are also regular buses running between the Furano Prince and the New Furano Prince if you decided you wanted to go to the other side to ski but weren't skilled enough to go over the top of the mountain.
All up I will definitely stay here next time we go to Furano, and there will be a next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible. You get a window which wraps around the corner which lets in a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeline90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Travel agent booked the wrong hotel - wanted New Furano Prince and got Furano Prince instead, was too disappointed to take pix. Place was difficult to navigate to.

Rooms were very old, and extremely small, so were the beds, of all the twin rooms booked on our trip, this had the smallest bed (plain single instead of super single) so it was difficult for 2A2C to sleep comfortably (kids kept falling off)

The only saving grace was a young gentleman at the reception who spoke exceptionally good fluent english and was extremely helpful - with tips on sightseeing and helping us to navigate and check map code/telephone numbers. Thumbs up for his service!

Overall, I'd definitely go for New Prince hotel instead. They should renovate or rebuild this place entirely!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myinsomnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Furano hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and used it as a base to tour Furano, Biei and Asahikawa area. The location is not bad as there are local eateries nearby and thus, convenient to look for dinner.
The room looks like a 3 star business hotel and probably falls short of a prince hotel as I expect a prince hotel to be a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were forced to stay here due to Natulux being full. Honestly speaking, we would not have selected this hotel otherwise.

We stayed in a twin room which appeared to be relatively clean...until we examined the bathroom. There was a line of green mould surrounding the top wall area of the bathtub, and when we asked the front desk whether we could change rooms, we were told that we had secured the very last available room. The staff on service during our stay could barely converse in English. However to their credit, they tried their very best to understand what we meant and to best accommodate our other needs.

According to other travellers, the New Furano Prince is more recommended than this original Prince Hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annexe area as there is no lift - only stairs -meaning the poor bell boy would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djljang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had our third stay in this hotel last month and like our previous two stays, we were in Furano to have fun in the snow. We were not disappointed! There have been no significant changes to the hotel since we first visited in 2008 but the hotel is very comfortable, with extremely comfortable beds. Yes, the rooms are small by Western standards but you expect that in most Japanese hotels. This time we stayed on the second floor of the hotel (in the annex) and those rooms are actually larger. The bathrooms however, are tiny. We love that breakfast is included, as are our lift passes and the biggest bonus for us is that the hotel is truly a ski in/ski out hotel. We love the downstairs locker room where all our ski gear can be stored and dried overnight. There are the usual vending machines so you can stop between runs for a quick warm or cold drink. The public baths are not true onsen, but are a wonderful opportunity to rest up and soak after a long day on the snow. This hotel (as opposed to the New Furano Prince Hotel) is located on the Kitanomine side of the mountain and has access to many more local eateries within walking distance and it's a wonderful opportunity to support local business in the area. One improvement since our last visit in 2010, is that the hotel now has free wi-fi in the lobby and that proved very useful. The hotel decor is a little tired and could do with a refresh but it is by no means dirty. We love that the hotel is quiet and its location is its biggest asset. I am sure we will come back to Furano and if we do, we will seek out the Furano Prince Hotel to stay at again. If you are coming to Furano for the snow, you will not be disappointed with extremely dry powder and an abundance of it. The two ski areas are connected and there is a wide variety of terrain suitable for all ages and abilities and the area is well serviced by chairs, a gondola and a ropeway. The terrain is well groomed, however the resort now leave areas ungroomed for those people seeking a powder experience and have become a little more relaxed about skiing off-piste although technically it is not allowed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Furano hotels
1.2 mi away
New Furano Prince Hotel
1.7 mi away
Furano Natulux Hotel
Furano Natulux Hotel
#1 of 13 in Furano
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Naturwald Furano
Hotel Naturwald Furano
#3 of 13 in Furano
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edel Warme
Edel Warme
#4 of 13 in Furano
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Furano Hotel
New Furano Hotel
#12 of 13 in Furano
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Resort Inn North Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furano Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furano Prince Hotel

Property: Furano Prince Hotel
Address: 18-6 Kitanomine-cho, Furano 076-0034, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Furano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Furano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furano Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furano Prince Hotel is a resort hotel with a magnificent view of Mt. Tokachi and Mt. Daisetsu. You can enjoy skiing in the winter, and outdoor sports such as ballooning and mountain biking in the summer. Furano city is located in the center of Hokkaido, and it is surrounded by beautiful fields such as Lavender and Sunflower. Refresh yourself with a walk through a flowery mountain meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Furano Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furano Prince Hotel Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing