We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab find, ideally located, great host, couldn't...”
other travellers have booked this property
An easy drive to the beach looking back towards the Moelwyn Mountains. Blaenau nestles behind them
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An easy drive to the beach looking back towards the Moelwyn Mountains. Blaenau nestles behind them
Living Room with 2 comfy sofas and 1 comfy armchair - great to relax in after a busy day out Living/Dining room with original slate backed fireplace, with a gas-fired, wood-burning style fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
An easy drive to the beach looking back towards the Moelwyn Mountains. Blaenau nestles behind them
Living Room with 2 comfy sofas and 1 comfy armchair - great to relax in after a busy day out
Living/Dining room with original slate backed fireplace, with a gas-fired, wood-burning style fire
Double bedroom - double aspect and built in ceiling to floor large wardrobe for storage. Hairdryer.
Private, enclosed slated garden
Beamed Living/Dining room - the dining table can be fully extended with 4 dining chairs
Well equipped kitchen with mountain views
Kitchen - direct access to garden and parking area
Wet Room (Ground Floor) - with heated towel rail and hooks
Double bedroom - hotel quality mattress. Wake up to bird song and the sun rising in the east
Twin Bedroom - good sized wardrobe and chest of drawers for storage
Cottage garden with outhouse (Boot/Drying room; outside loo). 2 additional foldup chairs available
Garden - sitting out area, south facing, quite a sun trap!  Very peaceful.
Garden - view from sitting area. Spot the ravens or if you are lucky a chough.
Garden - June blooms.  We aim to bring colour to the garden for every season.
Rear of property from the private parking area.
Nip out the back of the cottage and view Rhiwbryfdir hamlet on the fringe of town in several minutes
Step from the doorstep straight onto the mountainside path - perfect for those quick dog walks!
View over Blaenau Ffestiniog - from path that leads from the cottage directly onto the mountainside
Hop on the Ffestiniog Railway or watch  from nearby the cottage
Explore further up one of the many footpaths - high into the Moelwyn Mountains - stunning scenery.
Locations to explore!
Fabulous hill walking
Lovely sandy beaches - perfect for a family day out
Discover a local trail!
Bring you walking boots!
Great summits for the more experienced hill walker
Enjoy the winter views from a summit!
Time for a sun downer!
After a long walking day!
The Welsh Dragon awaits!
Ask me where to find him!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MichelleB...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab find, ideally located, great host, couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Super little cottage with everything you would need even a relaxing cottage garden. The location is perfect for everything you would want to do in the area and nothing was too much trouble from our host Joanna who explained all that we needed to know. I highly recommend this cottage if you love walking, exploring, climbing, going to beaches, train rides, thrill rides and walking straight from your door. Many thanks again Joanna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you Michelle for your most wonderful review. I am so delighted you had a terrific walking holiday and that the cottage was the perfect home to come back to each day. I really enjoyed meeting you both and exchanging our hiking stories. Do please come back and stay again - you are most welcome anytime, hope to see you again. Joanna x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonhamp...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Booked to stay for 3 nights. Before arrival Joanna the owner sent me a wonderful detailed e mail with clear directions to finding the property & asked if there was any information I wanted about places to visit, eat etc which I thought was really nice. The day before I arrived Joanna telephoned me to give me ant last minute details.
Found the cottage really easily following the directions given. The cottage was lovely & clean inside & beds really comfy. Joanna had left a welcome pack of milk, coffee, tea, sugar, biscuits & local cakes as well as some dog biscuits for my dog who was visiting with me which was a really nice touch. There was lots of leaflets about places to visit as well as several walks in a folder.
Outside is a small but really nice , quiet garden which is lovely to sit in when it's a sunny day which it was all the time we were there.
Whilst there Joanna called round to say 'hello' & if we needed anything else.
At the back of the house there is a nice short walk for exercising your dog or alternately you can go a short walk into the town centre & sit having a coffee watching the trains arrive on the Ffestiniog railway.
I would stay here again anytime I was visiting & would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thank you Simon for such a lovely review. So glad you found the cottage welcoming and comfy - and so pleased you could take advantage of the glorious weather to enjoy sitting outside and walking your dog. Do please come and stay again, you are most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2018
Many thanks Sandra for your kind review - I am very appreciative. So pleased you had a fabulous time and enjoyed the cottage. I very much hope to welcome you all again for another visit to Blaenau in the future.
Joanna x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N1ck870
Shawbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy North Wales retreat”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for May Bank Holiday and were blessed with some amazing weather. The cottage was very clean and tidy and perfect for our family of 4. The owner went to a lot of trouble to ensure we had all the information we could want and it was provided in very quick time. Enough room to park the car in a secluded rear area and nice and quiet at night. The cottage is tucked against the hills on the NW side of Blaenau which, geographically, provides great access in all 4 directions to the Snowdonia National Park. We enjoyed ourselves throughout the weekend. Garden could perhaps do with a little attention now that Spring is here but this is a very minor recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review - so glad you had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful Snowdonia National Park and had the weather too! I'm delighted to say the garden now is in full spring bloom following our very long, harsh winter. Please do come back for more exploration in Snowdonia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape751...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean & Excellent Location”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent location - close to Antur Stiniog and Cwmorthin and all the wonderful trails beyond. Spectacular views of the Oakeley quarry incline from the rear of the property - it is in a quiet part of Blaenau. The property itself was very clean and warm, with secluded off-street parking. Access was very accommodating to our late arrival - almost 3am after travelling after work from London.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2018
Thank you Jack for your fabulous review following your mountain bike holiday - delighted you enjoyed the cottage location and the views. So glad you also had the brilliant weather for your trip. Hope to welcome you back again in the future sometime to explore more mountain bike trails.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b
Goole
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pawfect!”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this lovely little cottage with my humans. It was just great to get outside and be in the mountains with great walks and streams to paddle in. They found a local pub and I was very welcome. After enjoyable days at the lovely beaches chasing my ball and walks around lakes I could paddle in, it was bliss to come back to this lovel place and lay in front of the gas log burner....really toastie!! As for the humans they found loads to do, and the teenagers went go karting and even trekked on a Segway, no to mention the trampolining in caverns!!! Just a really great time, nicely located oh an a big paws up to Joanna who was there to meet us and for even leaving me a few treats.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you Yogi for your most terrific review - so glad you had such a fun time exploring the mountains, beaches and rivers. Great to hear the family had such a wonderful time too with all of their adventures and loved the cottage. You are most welcome back anytime you wish. Paws up! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thanks Sue for your great review - it is always a great pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the cottage. So glad it suits your mountain biking and dog walking weekends really well. Looking forward to greeting you all again for another visit soon. Joanna x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing