We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luvvly Jubbly”
Review of Capel Pisgah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capel Pisgah
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Why didn’t anybody tell me about this place?
I have been going to North Wales for years and watched the hotel prices go up and up yet there is this beautiful little place just off Blaenau Ffestiniog high street just waiting for me to find it!
Ty (Chapel) Pisgah is a small chapel that has been converted into a 6 bedroomed mini hotel. Although it is mostly known to mountain bikers visiting Astur Stiniog it is not a fancy bunkhouse as I expected but a good quality boarding place. The rooms are similar to other good quality hotels and everything works! The en-suite shower rooms are very well built with quality fittings and cubicles. They have a nice lounge and a proper dining area.
You have several pubs and eating establishments within minutes of Ty Pisgah and a nice big Spar across the road in the High Street.
There is even off road parking and if you wish, Doug and Glen (the owners) will gladly let you take your expensive bikes inside rather than leave them on a bike rack on your vehicle.
Please give Ty Pisgah careful consideration whether you are a biker or not. You won’t be disappointed. 10/10 :P

Room Tip: All rooms are first class and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveRewop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Located close to the main road, but very quiet. The rooms are all upstairs just underneath the roof. they are clean and comfortable. But you can hear of your neighbors moving around their rooms at times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Glenys was the very best hostess. Spent a lot of time with us when we got there and told us not to go to next town via bus for dinner. We had a great time following her suggestions. The rooms were great and showers were good. Easy to get to from the train station. Glenys organized the transportation for us down to Aberystwyth. We would definitely stay shin
Carol, Jerry, Carl and Kathy. Ohio USA

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol51181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

owners are very nice and friendly rooms are nice and big clean and good food would stay there all the time when am in Blaenau ina and peter sanders would sent all my family to stay here the welsh people are so nice and friendly love listen to the welsh choir

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31pussycat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and myself have just returned from a six day trip to Wales. we looked at accommodation and finally chose Capel Pisgah in Blaenau FFestiniog. we were welcomed by Glenys and Doug after a long 8 hour trip and shown to a spotlessly clean room with views of the hills from the velux window in the roof. (the bedrooms are in the roof of a converted chapel). The bathroom had a bath and shower which was bliss. We had booked an evening meal which was ready at the time stated and was fantastic. Glenys asked us every day what we would like for our evening meal and what time we wanted breakfast, nothing seemed too much trouble. As we had never been to north wales before and was unsure of where to go she has plenty of information about all things local and distance even down to the bus and train timetables

Room Tip: very quiet area, no room was any better or worse than the others, also has a disabled room downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wanting a few days break on the Ffestiniog Railway and, with all accomodation in Porthmadog fully booked, I opted to stay at the top end of the line at Blaenau Ffestiniog. After speaking to a couple of B&B owners, I decided to try 'Capel Pisgah' - and it was one of the best decisions I've made in my many years of travelling to Y Gogledd.
The accomodation in this superbly refurbished old Welsh chapel is excellent, my (single) room being cosy, welcoming, fully fitted with en-suite and satellite tv, with an excellent (for me) outlook onto the history of this old slate mining capital.
The breakfasts were absolutely super and left nothing to be desired and the location, just off the main High Street, was ideal for exploring the town and surroundings.
Taken all together, this is a thoroughly recommended place to stay and not at all expensive. Having stayed at a variety of Hotels and B&Bs in North Wales over the past 25 years or so, I cannot recommend this particular place highly enough - but, what really makes the experience is the landlady. Glenys is a bright, bubbly, welcoming woman who really does go the extra mile to make you feel as if you belong; a credit to the people of the area and to her town. This is Customer Service - as it should be.
Glen & Doug, thankyou so much for having me and making me feel so welcome - I'll certainly be coming back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have stayed here 4 times now and use it as a perfect base for the Antur DH course. Rooms are very comfortable and affordable. Showers are awesome and the breakfast is enough to cycle all day on. The staff are friendly and informative and make you feel like part of the family with a relaxed attitude. I never want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blaenau Ffestiniog hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Llechrwd Riverside Campsite
Llechrwd Riverside Campsite
#2 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Capel Pisgah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capel Pisgah

Address: Maenoferen Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: £77 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capel Pisgah 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenys & Doug Lloyd extend a warm welcome to you in our warm, clean and homely guest house. Our Guesthouse is named Pisgah after Capel Pisgah (or Pisgah Chapel in English) which was built here in 1899 as a place of religious worship for the slate miners and their families. It was bought and sympathetically converted by ourselves to provide pleasant accommodation for those wishing to come and explore our town and the wonders of Snowdonia. Being geographically located in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park, Pisgah Guesthouse makes an ideal base from which to explore the whole of Snowdonia. Having been raised in the area, we can tell you all about the stunning walks, picturesque lakes (including "alleged" best fishing points!), friendly pubs, tasty cafes and everything else the area has to offer. We wish to make your stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible.... At a Glance our services are as follows: +6 Warm and Comfortable en suite Bedrooms. +All bedrooms have wi-fi internet, tea making facilities, soft smooth towels and remote control TV. +All bedrooms are as warm as toast thanks to the under floor heating. +One delightful bedroom on the ground floor with full disabled facilities including a spacious wet room. +One Family Room available with a double or twin bed and a single bed. +Plenty of storage space for Mountain Bikes. +Pleasant and warm TV Lounge for relaxing and socializing. +Delightful home cooked evening meals available by arrangement if required. +Well behaved pets always welcome by appointment. +Early check in of 2PM as standard. +Late departure time of 11AM as standard. In addition, we will do our utmost to accommodate all and any requirements you have so please feel free to get in touch if you require anything out of the ordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capel Pisgah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capel Pisgah Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing