We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolawel Guest House
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at Dolawel for 3 nights last week and were very impressed. Pat and Alistair welcomed us into their home and were keen to make us very comfortable. The dogs were very welcoming too!
Our room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent - fresh eggs each morning were lovely. Alistair was very knowledgeable about the local weather and walking conditions which enabled us to plan our days.
All in all a good choice of accommodation with fine hospitality thrown in! Thank you both very much.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank carolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi Chic & Carol. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dolawel. We do try to make everything special for all our guests and believe attention to detail is key to this as well as great service. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future. Sorry for the response. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

It's always risky when you stay at a guest house as you're never quite sure what to expect but I can honestly say our stay was fantastic. I would point out that we are a young couple visiting for a wedding and then stayed an extra night to explore the area. We were greeted warmly (first by the loveable dog) and then by Pat and Alister. Our room was clean and cosy, the bed large and comfortable. The en-suite was clean, power shower, soft towels and luxury toilet paper. Chocolate bars in the room (different ones each day). Breakfast was superb. There was no issue about us returning late from the wedding. Thier expert local knowledge is great to hear when you're visiting the area for the first time. My girlfriend summed it up as "the best place I've stayed at".

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheOldRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for carry out an exceptionally complimentary review, we are very grateful. Always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us, as we are always aiming for our guests to have a warm, friendly and relaxed visit to Blaenau Ffestiniog and Snowdonia. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

How fortunate we were to book this B&B - with tastefully appointed accommodation, good breakfast and , most of all, friendly and helpful hosts. Pat and Alister welcomed us into their home ( their delightful dogs too ! ) and it was always a pleasure to return there after a day's sightseeing.. Excellent value.

Room Tip: All well appointed, everything matched, and super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review, it is very much appreciated. Always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit to North Wales and their stay here with us in Dolawel (breeze in the meadow). The dogs also enjoyed your time here and the 5 baby chickens are now starting to get feathers. Thanks again. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Dutch friends sussed out this accommodation for us prior to our arrival and gave it a 5 star rating. We were not disappointed. Pat and Alister are excellent hosts, friendly and welcoming, our room and ensuite bathroom were first class, and the breakfasts were superb. Pam is still raving about the fresh eggs from their own chickens. We would definitely like to return one day.Thank you both.
Pam and Robert Brough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review, it is very much appreciated. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Snowdonia and your stay in Dolawel Guest House. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We picked this B&B from reviews on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. We arrived by train on Friday Afternoon and after a short walk from the station we were greeted by Pat and Alister they made us feel instantly welcome and we were shown to a gorgeous en-suite room. Alister provided us with tips on where to get a good meal in the town which was spot on.
on our return Alister was able to give us expert advice on the best routes to climb snowdon, provided us with maps and informed us of the Sherpa Bus from betws y coed which was excellent.
The cooked breakfasts were delicious and were able to cater for me (as i suffer from food allergies) and exactly what was needed to prepare for the ascent. :)
We would heartly recommended this B&B to anyone who wishes to explore this part of Wales, you will be made feel welcome from the first step across the threshold, and you will not find a couple with more knowledge of the local area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandNibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse8491, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review. It great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Snowdonia and especially Blaenau Ffestiniog. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

a warm friendly welcome then shown to our excellent room were we couldnt of hoped for better accomadation - anyone staying in the area for a holiday or walking break should stay here simply oh an by the way the breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse8491, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to carry out a very complimentary review. Unfortunately my first response was disallowed for using first names. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This guest house is situated right in the middle of Snowdonia National Park, it's the perfect location to go on a castle tour of North Wales and also see Porthmadog and Port Merion. I would definitely stay here again, as the proprietors were very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse8491, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Suzi thanks for finding the time to carry out a very complimentary review on Dolawel Guest House it is very much appreciated. Also great to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful Snowdonia National Park and the castles. Hope you can visit again with you husband before returning to USA. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#6 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pengwern
Pengwern
#3 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolawel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel Guest House

Address: Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3HS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolawel Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolawel is a large Victorian Guest House (4 Star Visit Wales Grading) in the town of Blaenau Ffestiniog, North Wales. Located in the heart of Snowdonia, with its own well maintained grounds next to the A470, offering secure off-road parking. The 19th-century former Quarry Manager house has been modernized to high standards whilst maintaining many of its original features. We are ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia, perfect for sightseeing,mountain biking, Zip Wire,cycling and hill walking. A real home from home where a warm welcome is assured and a hearty traditional breakfast served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolawel Guest House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing