We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended - great for bikers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolawel Guest House
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very friendly welcoming and knowledgable hosts. Spacious and well appointed rooms with tv, tea and coffee even hot chocolate! Wi fi, guest lounge, good breakfast, good parking. If you are motorcylists as we were on tour this is an excellent base for Snowden, Llanberis Pass, the West highland Railway from Porthmadog and much more. Great biking roads and scenery. Thoroughly recommended. Not a great choice of eateries in Blaenau Ffestiniog but the hotel by the station is good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you Simon for taking time to carry out an extremely complimentary review for your visit to Snowdonia and your stay in Dolawel Guest House. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us and have taken advantages of the wonderful scenery and tourist attractions. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thank you. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you like heritage railways the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railways are a must with a night at the Dolawel Guest House. Alistair and Pat are wonderful people who make you feel at home. The rooms are beautiful with lots of personal touches. The full breakfast was spectacular with eggs from their own chickens. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the ones we saw were beautiful. The second floor room facing the mountains was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you Michael for taking time to write such a complimentary review about your stay with us. It is a real boost to our day to receive such a lovely review. Hope if you visit UK again, you will come and stay with us. Pat & Alister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed with pat & Alistair from Ireland as we were over for a weekend mountain biking.from the time we arrived we were made welcome Alistair put our bikes in his garage and we were interduced to the two lovely dogs who just want to play.the rooms were lovely and the breakfast was super we will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Bren, Many thanks for taking the time to post a very complimentary review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dolawel and look forward to seeing you and your mates again in October. Regards, Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Found this guest house on the web and all the reviews convinced me this was the place to stay. They were not wrong. Lovely welcome, lovely room with fantastic views and excellent breakfast. Pat and Alistair really make you feel at home and the two dogs are great as well. The guest house is just on the outskirts of Blaenau, a short 5 minute walk from the town and the railway station. Also ideally situated for exploring the countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our thank to Pat & Alistair for a lovely 2 night stay after a difficult personal bereavement. We can't thank them enough for all their understanding and constant efforts to help in whatever way they could. We visited this guest house at the beginning of April and although cold, wet & windy they helped in whatever way they could with directions to the local chapel, etc. We wanted to be nearby in Blaenau Ffestiniog for the funeral and could not have chosen a better place - within close walking distance to the town and the chapel - thank you Pat & Alistair. We returned to lovely warm surroundings two nights in a row and a good night's sleep. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scandrigliaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My son and I visited this guest house at the end of March 2014 and found an extremely warm welcome from the proprietors Pat and Alister plus Denver and Kellan. In the past we have stayed at a number of B&Bs but this was well above our expectations. I think the reason for this is the attention to detail and the way they go the extra mile to make your stay memorable for you. The room was lovely and comfortable with beautiful views and the breakfast was excellent. Located in a stunning part of Wales it is in easy reach of all the usual attractions including local steam train trips to Portmadock which I thoroughly enjoyed, whilst my son watched the mountain bike competition nearby. We will certainly be back and will tell all our friends about our wonderful stay. Thank you so much for a lovely weekend love Carol & Brett.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patch12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Carol and Brett, Many thanks for taking the time to carry out an extremely complimentary review on Dolawel Guest House, it is very much appreciated. It was great to meet you both and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We visited in July for my boyfriend's mum's birthday. Pat and Alister are both very lovely, genuine people and we enjoyed chatting to them and spending time with the two gorgeous dogs Denver and Kellan! I'd happily stay again, the rooms are gorgeous and the served breakfast was gorgeous!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halobabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alister H, Owner at Dolawel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello, Sorry for late response. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, very much appreciated. We are aware of the expectations our guests have of us, whether returning or coming for the first time and we do everything we can to ensure that their expectations are met if not exceeded. We hope to see you again. Pat & Alister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blaenau Ffestiniog hotels
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
379 reviews
1 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#5 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Llechrwd Riverside Campsite
Llechrwd Riverside Campsite
#2 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolawel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel Guest House

Address: Llyn y Gell | Rhiwbryfdir, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3HS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolawel Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolawel is a large Victorian Guest House (4 Star Visit Wales Grading) in the town of Blaenau Ffestiniog, North Wales. Located in the heart of Snowdonia, with its own well maintained grounds next to the A470, offering secure off-road parking. The 19th-century former Quarry Manager house has been modernized to high standards whilst maintaining many of its original features. We are ideally situated for exploring Snowdonia, perfect for sightseeing,mountain biking, Zip Wire,cycling and hill walking. A real home from home where a warm welcome is assured and a hearty traditional breakfast served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolawel Guest House Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing