We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless Apartment at the Oakeley Arms”
Review of Oakeley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakeley Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spotless Apartment at the Oakeley Arms”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom holiday cottage at the Oakeley Arms in June.
The apartments are modern, with a fully fitted kitchen and huge dining area, a separate lounge, downstairs bathroom and three generous double bedrooms upstairs. The beds and fittings were of a good quality and the beds were very comfortable.
We paid the bed and breakfast rate, and ate breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room.
Although the hotel itself is a little dated, the breakfast offering of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and a variety of Welsh Breakfasts were excellent. The hotel is next to a busy main road, which suited us as it made it easier to find!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40somethingtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    64
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
64
61
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in a holiday cottage here for a short break and thought it was lovely and great value for money! Cosy cottage with all mod cons, great pub food and friendly staff. Would def recommend and will visit again. Thanks team Oakley!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are lovely but Treat yourself to a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyb2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon England UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A lovely traditional Welsh pub set amongst some very scenic landscape but next to a main road. Having said that, the accommodation the rooms were very good and well appointed, spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the price very reasonable. It is some distance outside of Blaenau Ffestiniog, however there is a bus stop right outside which will take you into Porthmadog or Blaenau Ffestiniog. We had an evening meal in the pub which was fairly average, but the breakfast in the morning was nothing short of excellent. I would stay again however I based on our experience may be choose somewhere else for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Had dinner and drinks with some friends while visiting the area, and met up with a mutual friend who lives nearby. Good service and quite a varied menu - much more than expected. Best part was the fairy cake that accompanied my hot chocolate!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the Oakeley Arms in one of the cottages for 3 nights and had a really enjoyable and relaxing time. This is our fourth stay at the Oakeley which must say a lot. The cottages are really cosy with character features and excellent facilities. We ate in the hotel and for the price, the meals are very good. The staff were friendly and polite and they always keep the fire going, making it a very cosy environment. I can particularly recommend the Sunday carvery after a morning walk in the surrounding forest which has some beautiful views, with two lakes and the steam railway only a short stroll away. We would highly recommend a stay at one of the Oakeley Arms cottages.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Having had 2 very very ordinary accomodation experiences in the preceding 2 days with equally ordinary evening meals it was with great trepidation that we approached the Oakley Arms. Had run late and dark was fast approaching in the middle of Welsh nowhere when we happened upon the historic pub. Having been caught the previous day with accomodation we took up the staff members offer to look at the room. Up 3 flights of steps to the room was already a worry but when door was opened it was a really pleasant suprise. Large room, large really comfortable bed and actually had furniture( see previous days hotel review) TV, big bathroom with good shower and heated towel rack. Bed was just wonderful. Very quiet room despite being in a pub when Wales had just beaten Scotland. Loved the pub itself with its many comfortable sitting areas and we really enjoyed both our dinner and breakfast. Husband declared was best meal he'd had in UK. It was an utterly wonderful unexpected experience.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are up to standard of ours as owners are progressively redoing the hotel but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank old44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We dropped into the Oakeley for lunch over xmas. The staff seemed friendly enough but that's where the positives ended. The lunch was dreadful really. 'Welsh black' burger and chips was overpriced at £7.95 and was of very poor quality. The chips were the deep fried frozen variety, the peas badly overcooked and the burger a disgrace. Chewy and not discernible as beef. The token lettuce they'd put in the bun was well past its best and was actually brown in places!! Just not acceptable.

I also ordered a pint of Oakeley Dokeley. It was just about drinkable (in terms of taste) but it looked awful. As murky a pint as I've ever seen. The barman said he would change it if I wanted, which is fair enough, but frankly he shouldn't have even let me see it. You just don't serve ale in that condition, period.

What we found especially confusing was that we were 2 of only a handful of diners yet the food wasn't cooked or prepared with any care or precision. One might be forgiven for an average plate of food if the kitchen were rushed off their feet but they clearly weren't.

The restaurant/bar itself is ok. Dated but not awful. It was at least relatively warm.

I'd perhaps drop in for a beer on a summer's day as there's a decent beer garden on the premises but I would never eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dylarolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
5.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
12.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
6.3 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
12.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakeley Arms Hotel

Property: Oakeley Arms Hotel
Address: Tan Y Bwlch, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakeley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oakeley Arms, a beautiful Historic Welsh Inn set in the Snowdonia National Park.Situated in the pretty village of Maentwrog and surrounded by the lush green hills of the Vale of Ffestiniog in the heart of Snowdonia, the Oakeley Arms is the perfect base for a holiday in North Wales... Pets are welcomed in the Self Catering Cottages but we do not allow pets in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakeley Arms Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing