We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, ok staff, not so good food”
Review of Oakeley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakeley Arms Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely room, ok staff, not so good food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here as we were visiting Portmeirion the next day, and it's a very convenient location and set in beautiful scenery. The exterior is impressive and our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. Not too sure about downstairs, you walk through a (quite busy) pub and there's not really a reception so you have to wait for a bartender to take you to your room, and there was quite a queue at the bar when we arrived.
Would avoid evening meals there, I had chicken in some sort of cheese sauce and the smell put me off eating it, and the mash was cold, lumpy and tasteless.
Breakfast was much better, lots of variety and provisions for vegetarians.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deladelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.I am pleased you were happy with your room as a lot of investment has gone into the Inn and cottages over the last ten years and is still on going.The décor does reflect a 'dated look' in the bar areas and that has and will always be our intention.
We do not have a manned reception area but we do have a point near the lounge door where you can ring the bell and a member of staff will come to you rather than you having to que at the bar. The strong smell with the cheese sauce is as it should be , stilton is known for it's characteristic strong smell and taste.I have spoken to chef in regards to the mash and am confident that this has been addressed .I do wish you had asked to speak to chef as he would have been only too happy to replace your mash with an alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    66
    33
    18
    10
See reviews for
65
65
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

After long day walking we were looking forward to a hot meal. We did try to order mash instead of chips with the goulash and were told they only serve meals as written no changes. Then when meal arrived two of us with mash actually had stone cold mash they had simply put cold mash on a hot plate Did complain but not very friendly about receiving the complaint and a request for two portions of hot mash. Wouldn't recommend or visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Having read your review I am a little worried as you say that you had Goulash. Goulash is not on our regular menu and it has never been on our specials board. The majority of our menu comes with a choice of Chips, Baby Potatoes , Jacket potato or Mash unless it is a snack or starter.Rice is also an option with the curries.They are all also available as a side dish as an extra if wanted.I also note that the rooms were rated.Having checked the visitors book , you did not stay here.The staff are very friendly , one or two may be a little shy but never have I seen any of them be rude or disrespectful to any of our customers.I would not accept that from any of our staff. I have emailed you direct via Trip advisor but having not received a reply I thought it best to reply and ask if you would contact me directly on 01766 590277 to discuss the comments you have made.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Ann Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for just one night's dinner, B&B and we wished we'd had time to stay longer. I've driven past The Oakeley Arms many times but never stayed there before. It's a great location (despite the fairly busy road) with some lovely scenery in one of my favourite parts of Wales - and just down the road from the Ffestiniog railway's Tan-y-Bwlch station too. The Oakeley's owner & staff were very friendly & helpful, the food was good (especially the breakfast - thank you!) and the room was large, elegant, very clean and very comfortable - and with a decent shower. Looking forward to staying there again - sooner the better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom holiday cottage at the Oakeley Arms in June.
The apartments are modern, with a fully fitted kitchen and huge dining area, a separate lounge, downstairs bathroom and three generous double bedrooms upstairs. The beds and fittings were of a good quality and the beds were very comfortable.
We paid the bed and breakfast rate, and ate breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room.
Although the hotel itself is a little dated, the breakfast offering of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and a variety of Welsh Breakfasts were excellent. The hotel is next to a busy main road, which suited us as it made it easier to find!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40somethingtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in a holiday cottage here for a short break and thought it was lovely and great value for money! Cosy cottage with all mod cons, great pub food and friendly staff. Would def recommend and will visit again. Thanks team Oakley!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are lovely but Treat yourself to a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyb2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon England UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A lovely traditional Welsh pub set amongst some very scenic landscape but next to a main road. Having said that, the accommodation the rooms were very good and well appointed, spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the price very reasonable. It is some distance outside of Blaenau Ffestiniog, however there is a bus stop right outside which will take you into Porthmadog or Blaenau Ffestiniog. We had an evening meal in the pub which was fairly average, but the breakfast in the morning was nothing short of excellent. I would stay again however I based on our experience may be choose somewhere else for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Had dinner and drinks with some friends while visiting the area, and met up with a mutual friend who lives nearby. Good service and quite a varied menu - much more than expected. Best part was the fairy cake that accompanied my hot chocolate!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
5.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,444 reviews
10.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
12.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
5.9 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
681 reviews
12.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakeley Arms Hotel

Property: Oakeley Arms Hotel
Address: Tan Y Bwlch, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakeley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oakeley Arms, a beautiful Historic Welsh Inn set in the Snowdonia National Park.Situated in the pretty village of Maentwrog and surrounded by the lush green hills of the Vale of Ffestiniog in the heart of Snowdonia, the Oakeley Arms is the perfect base for a holiday in North Wales... Pets are welcomed in the Self Catering Cottages but we do not allow pets in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Oakeley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakeley Arms Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing