We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitable Hostelry”
Review of Oakeley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakeley Arms Hotel
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Set in scenic Snowdonia and at the centre of a number of local attractions we had a wonderful stay. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The food was plentiful, tasty and appetising. The staff always helpful and attentive and no long waits for service. A good selection of real ales and friendly locals made the bar areas a pleasure. If you're in the area you would be foolish not to drop in and enjoy a good traditional inn atmosphere in the company of friendly locals and without the annoying ever present piped music blaring out. Places like this are fast disappearing and will be much missed which is why The Oakeley Arms is a place to be treasured!

Room Tip: Ask to see the cottages which are also available. They are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVBUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to place a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Was a bit hesitant to book this place after seeing reviews on here but glad I went ahead anyways. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food in the bar was spot on and the room we booked was huge with a high standard of decor.

It's worth mentioning the Breakfast too which was excellent and set us up for our day out in Llandudno.

Would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone who's visiting Portmeirion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Happy to hear you had a pleasant stay.
Many thanks for the feedback and do hope to see you return to the Oakeley again soon.
Ann Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here as we were visiting Portmeirion the next day, and it's a very convenient location and set in beautiful scenery. The exterior is impressive and our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. Not too sure about downstairs, you walk through a (quite busy) pub and there's not really a reception so you have to wait for a bartender to take you to your room, and there was quite a queue at the bar when we arrived.
Would avoid evening meals there, I had chicken in some sort of cheese sauce and the smell put me off eating it, and the mash was cold, lumpy and tasteless.
Breakfast was much better, lots of variety and provisions for vegetarians.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deladelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.I am pleased you were happy with your room as a lot of investment has gone into the Inn and cottages over the last ten years and is still on going.The décor does reflect a 'dated look' in the bar areas and that has and will always be our intention.
We do not have a manned reception area but we do have a point near the lounge door where you can ring the bell and a member of staff will come to you rather than you having to que at the bar. The strong smell with the cheese sauce is as it should be , stilton is known for it's characteristic strong smell and taste.I have spoken to chef in regards to the mash and am confident that this has been addressed .I do wish you had asked to speak to chef as he would have been only too happy to replace your mash with an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

After long day walking we were looking forward to a hot meal. We did try to order mash instead of chips with the goulash and were told they only serve meals as written no changes. Then when meal arrived two of us with mash actually had stone cold mash they had simply put cold mash on a hot plate Did complain but not very friendly about receiving the complaint and a request for two portions of hot mash. Wouldn't recommend or visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Having read your review I am a little worried as you say that you had Goulash. Goulash is not on our regular menu and it has never been on our specials board. The majority of our menu comes with a choice of Chips, Baby Potatoes , Jacket potato or Mash unless it is a snack or starter.Rice is also an option with the curries.They are all also available as a side dish as an extra if wanted.I also note that the rooms were rated.Having checked the visitors book , you did not stay here.The staff are very friendly , one or two may be a little shy but never have I seen any of them be rude or disrespectful to any of our customers.I would not accept that from any of our staff. I have emailed you direct via Trip advisor but having not received a reply I thought it best to reply and ask if you would contact me directly on 01766 590277 to discuss the comments you have made.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Ann Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for just one night's dinner, B&B and we wished we'd had time to stay longer. I've driven past The Oakeley Arms many times but never stayed there before. It's a great location (despite the fairly busy road) with some lovely scenery in one of my favourite parts of Wales - and just down the road from the Ffestiniog railway's Tan-y-Bwlch station too. The Oakeley's owner & staff were very friendly & helpful, the food was good (especially the breakfast - thank you!) and the room was large, elegant, very clean and very comfortable - and with a decent shower. Looking forward to staying there again - sooner the better!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom holiday cottage at the Oakeley Arms in June.
The apartments are modern, with a fully fitted kitchen and huge dining area, a separate lounge, downstairs bathroom and three generous double bedrooms upstairs. The beds and fittings were of a good quality and the beds were very comfortable.
We paid the bed and breakfast rate, and ate breakfast in the hotel's breakfast room.
Although the hotel itself is a little dated, the breakfast offering of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and a variety of Welsh Breakfasts were excellent. The hotel is next to a busy main road, which suited us as it made it easier to find!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40somethingtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in a holiday cottage here for a short break and thought it was lovely and great value for money! Cosy cottage with all mod cons, great pub food and friendly staff. Would def recommend and will visit again. Thanks team Oakley!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are lovely but Treat yourself to a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyb2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,526 reviews
12.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#6 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
266 reviews
3.9 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakeley Arms Hotel

Address: Tan Y Bwlch, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: £96 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakeley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oakeley Arms, a beautiful Historic Welsh Inn set in the Snowdonia National Park.Situated in the pretty village of Maentwrog and surrounded by the lush green hills of the Vale of Ffestiniog in the heart of Snowdonia, the Oakeley Arms is the perfect base for a holiday in North Wales... Pets are welcomed in the Self Catering Cottages but we do not allow pets in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakeley Arms Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing