We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable and comfortable pub/b&b”
Review of Oakeley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakeley Arms Hotel
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Oakeley Arms on Easter Saturday. Friendly service and welcome. Very good pub food at reasonable prices. Our large room was a little old fashioned, but that was part of its charm. Bed very comfortable and breakfast good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Pattie

Many thanks for the feedback and we do hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Oakeley Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've eaten here several times and it's usually very good, but last night it was pretty average, lasagne was burnt and looked more like mince with pasta on top, shame because it can be good. The burgers were good though, and it is early season which is a staffing nightmare around here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Dave

I'm sorry to hear your lasagne was not as good as you would normally receive here but glad to hear the burgers were good. The matter will be discussed with the chef on duty that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice room - decent size. Right on the front so good views but can be noisy with road noise, late night drinkers and the windows do rattle in the wind. Bathroom small but adequate - wash basin in the bedroom. Hair dryer, kettle and toiletries are provided and there is a nice flat screen TV and Ipod clock radio. The internet connection was a bit hit and miss. Check in and out was left to the cleaner as no staff about but not a problem. The pub itself is quaint with plenty of seating in various areas. Bar staff friendly and beer choice and price acceptable. Good location as there is a bus stop/shelter on the front where you can get a bus to Llandudno, Port Madoc and various other locations. Breakfast was good, well cooked to order and the buffet food was fresh and well stocked. The lunch menu was reasonable and looked OK. A couple of comments were left on the customer survey which I hope will be actioned upon but all in all a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad-Maz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback and hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here whilst visiting the area for a couple of nights. The hotel/inn is very well located for visiting the Snowdonia National Park and using as a base for touring local interests. The bar was busy with locals and the food was good after a long busy day. The room was a bit dated but so is the hotel...!! I'd stay here again though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alun25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Many thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Visited this hotel whilst on business. The quality of the rooms are very high and extremely comfortable. I travel quite a lot on business so get used to small uninspiring rooms but this place is fantastic. Although I would say that it is on a main road and there is some traffic noise but apart from that I was impressed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nairobivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Many thanks for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had evening meal with wife and four old friends on St Davids Day. We were surprised how quiet it was. Very good home cooked fresh food menu. A popular choice for our group was off the specials board Lobscous - a lamb stew served with crusty bread. Delicious but quite small portion even for me how likes small portions. Second was Goulash that came with a mountain of rice and a bit too much sauce. Very tasty and the rice was gratefully received by those having the Lobscous. One of our group had the beef and ale pie; poor choice fore him as it was too much gravy, mash and green things that he doesn't like. Looking at the other tables the home-made curries looked great and had a choice of half rice and chips. When we go back to the area we would eat here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review and hope to see you all here again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Ann Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived towards the end of their Sunday lunch service a very good value £8.95 each carvery. Unfortunately no roast potatoes left and a few other things not available like gravy!!! The meat was the scrag end of the lamb! However the food I did get was very edible and tasty and there was enough to choose from. My recommendation is to arrive nearer to 12 than 3!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVanstone, Owner at Oakeley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.I'm glad you enjoyed and I would most definitely advise coming earlier for the carvery as it is very popular. I will pass on your comments to the kitchen and I am sure they will ensure that there is extra prepared to avoid a similar situation. Kind regards , Ann Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
12.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
758 reviews
10.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
392 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
5.9 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
696 reviews
11.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakeley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakeley Arms Hotel

Address: Tan Y Bwlch, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3YU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: £95 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakeley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oakeley Arms, a beautiful Historic Welsh Inn set in the Snowdonia National Park.Situated in the pretty village of Maentwrog and surrounded by the lush green hills of the Vale of Ffestiniog in the heart of Snowdonia, the Oakeley Arms is the perfect base for a holiday in North Wales... Pets are welcomed in the Self Catering Cottages but we do not allow pets in the Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakeley Arms Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing