We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love idea & venue ”
Review of Cellb Caffi Bar

Cellb Caffi Bar
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Welsh, Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cellb is a Welsh Business : entertainment food & drink based in the old Edwardian County Police buildings, court house & cell's
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love idea & venue ”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great concept, funky art house style cafe/bar/venue. Stopped with dog and 2 children for coffee, Icecream and tea cakes. Lovely homemade jam. Coffee bit weak! This is the only contemporary place to relax in B F as far as we could see. artur stiniog needs more!

Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place but slow service...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We visited here on a midweek lunchtime, having been on the Ffestiniog Railway, planned to have a quick lunch and then catch the train back.
We sat outside as we had our dog with us, but going upstairs to order, the inside of the cafe looked really attractive. The menu is simple - burgers, sandwiches, jacket potatoes - just what we were looking for.
Perhaps it was because we didn't have all day, but we did feel the service was very slow. We ordered at the counter and it then took over 35 minutes for our food to arrive (1 sandwich, one jacket potato & salad and 1 kids meal) despite there only being one other small group in the place. Wouldn't like to be there when it's busy!
The food was fine, but it would have been nice to be offered some basics: any sort of dressing for the salad, ketchup for the chips, butter for the jacket potato, or even better if these arrived with being asked for.
As it was we only just had time to eat up and get out.
So nice place, but could make some improvements with the service

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalamityJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain High”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cellb Cafe-Bar with its European Brasserie vibe & convivial approach to dining & drinking is by far the closest trendyest in Town!
The art center has City vibe but with a unique twist of Welshculture
!All the staff ar local welsh spoken young people who shine in providing local knowledge on the area & whats cool in blaenau ffestiniog.
Its menu boasts full local produce - the only place in town serving fresh hand made food and local ingridients.Cellb Cafe-bar is Funky-arthouse-boutique-chic and truly is one of a kind!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahwooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CellB, keepin it truley locked!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

sure where to start as I never write reveiws, but fron entry to exit this was a great experience, the suprising "off key" setting is an old police station tucked behind the main street in a quaint welsh style mews, We all had starters mains & a 2 out of the 4 had desserts, all had lagers, and 4 bottles of wine we had change out of £120, and we're decent drinkers too!, I highly recommend this for couples and groups of friends its soo chilled without being slack, staff and owners we just class and so attentive, the only crime here is that we had to leave!, a great place to spend you're hard earned swag.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronny1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a welcome! Our group of 10 and a dog were served in a fantastic room where we were served with delicious food and some background to the building and how it had evolved. Thank you so much- the only place to accommodate us on a rather dull drizzly day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 39Heather63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellb Caffi Bar also viewed

Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cellb Caffi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing