We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Found this hotel on a discount website so booked it and was pleasantly surprised. Great hotel, with friendly, helpful staff. Food was excellent and they were extremely dog friendly which was a bonus. We liked it so much that we booked it again, this time directly with the hotel and it was only a fiver a night more. This hotel really is great value for money and the 'free' breakfast is superb, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Used the hotel bar on Friday. Barman tried to short change me on a twenty pound note. When challenged he said it was a joke. And gave me the right change. Brought it to the attention of the manager who asked us to leave. Great customer service....not. would not use this place ever again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dickielefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Booked for one night to stay for a business meeting nearby. Arrived at half past 8 in the evening, easy to find, shown quickly to my room, advised of supper and breakfast timings.

Room was spacious and clean. Such a comfy bed! Bathroom was a little tired but functional. Yummy shortbread biscuits!

My room overlooked the station car park so was a little noisy but it wasn't a big deal.

Over delivered with respect to cost, would book again if in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Me and my fiancé stopped here in November following a group on buy. Rooms were very nice and of ample size with everything you would need. The building has some fantastic character to it and is extremely warm which is just what was in need having been out all day walking. One of the reasons we booked here was the location being so close to snowdon and the fact the hotel welcomes dogs, which is why I found it rather strange that dogs were not allowed in the bar area even though the hotels restaurant is in a different area of the building...anyhow there is a pub on the same road within a 1 to 2 minute walk which allows dogs and supplies plenty of treats with an open fire and larger at a very reasonable price. We stopped on a Friday and Saturday night and following a long car journey decided to go out for a walk and a few beverages. The local area seemed excellent on the Friday however come Saturday it was a completely different story when all the local welcoming people from Friday night had been replace by the local larey delinquents, not the best image for this small town when the younger generation are emerging from the pub after you walk past bellowing ''excuse me, my mate really fancies you''. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful when giving us advise on where to visit. All in all a very nice hotel which is brilliant value for money, my only advise would be to maybe avoid the weekends purely to stay out of the way of the village idiots!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just stayed the 1 night on a Groupon offer. The room was clean, nice bed and clean linen and towels, tea making facilities provided and of good quality. Bath nice and deep, over the bath shower a little short of space because of position of shower head but adequate, hotwater plentiful. Nice dining area and decent bar. Public toilets clean, new coat of paint wouldn't go amiss but otherwise v good. Staff polite and more than willing to help. Breakfast had plenty of variation and plentiful.Now for the iffy bits, OK maybe I'm being a bit picky but these are things that I wasn't happy about. Black mould in the grouting in the bathroom, sorry but there is no excuse for this, plenty of stuff on the market that shifts it with very little effort, otherwise a good dose of neat bleach and a scrubbing brush will do the job. The evening meal was just not up to what I expected. My partners starter was hot and cold in places....not good when the starter was Mussels, result he left most of it and did explain to staff why. The steaks were tasty but swamped by very well done chunky chips....less chips and a bit less cooked would have been far better. The puddings once again not qute right, cheesecake appeared more cream than cheese with not alot of taste. The apple pie would have been fab when first cooked, however microwaving pastry just makes it soft and rubbery, not even the custard made it edible. The bar when we were eating was quite busy and unfortunatley the language by a customer was punctuated with the F word far too loudly and often to be ignored, the bar staff should have asked the customer to tone it down or leave...I'm ex bar staff and if asked correctly most customers comply without any problems. Our room was above the bar and main exit, noise from the bar could be heard but not at an annoying level, however I suggest a soft close door closure be fitted to then Main door as the constant bang,bang when anyone entered or left was very annoying when trying to get some sleep. Street noise was a problem the night we were there, the local boy racers were directly opposite reving their engines and blasting their car horns at various intervals during the night.....not the hotels fault, but annoying to say the least. Could I also suggest that decent sausages but provided to accompany the rest of the good cooked breakfast, the paste type ones were tasteless, I'm sure most customers woildn't mind paying a little extra for a good sausage. One final thing....Parking....it's either round the back in the council pay and display or if you are lucky in one of the free bays close to the hotel, however I would imagine in summer there would be next to no chance of getting one of those. There is a drop off point, but after that you would be hunting to find a free car parking space or paying for the council run ones.

Room Tip: There is only 1independant eatery in the town, however it is tiny and more of a cafe than a restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My brother lives here and it seemed an ideal spot for a bit of lunch and a catch up. Was hesitant but it has been refurbed and is lovely now. The food was top notch, veg were some of the best I have had. Lovely selection and perfectly cooked. Very reasonably priced and a brilliant location right by the railway station. GO!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank smag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We arranged a two night deal stay at this hotel from the KGB site for £109. This included two nights bed and breakfast and a two course diner for us on the first evening. We chose this hotel for its location and close proximity to Snowdon. The description said luxurious stay and thought we would be getting a better than average deal! The stay was lovely but as for being luxurious we scored this as average as we didn't think it fitted the description! However, we both agreed that if the hotel took a little more time and attention to detail, this hotel could be placed in a higher category :) There was another downside and that was parking. We were lucky that we manage to find free parking outside the hotel on the main road. If it were busy, you may have to park at the rear and pay or find another free parking area a distance away from the hotel. The food was lovely and we went to breakfast before it was officially open and the staff were happy to serve us an early breakfast as we were leaving early to climb Snowdon. The staff in the Resturant were very helpful :) Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
27 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
237 reviews
8.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
17.1 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing