We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a dirty hole” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
kent england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a dirty hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Omg this was the filthiestplace that we have ever stayed in.The grouting in the shower part of the bath was disgusting.I made the mistake of lifting the toilet seat , it made me heave the toilet brush was another story.The whole room was grimy in fact the whole place needed a good clean.I was shocked to hear that it had recently been done up , I thought they were talking about a different place.Needless to say we did'nt stay for breakfast.A complete waste of a lot of money, for those looking at this hotel BEWARNED don,t be taken in by the pictures of the outside? If for some insane reason you book here take a good strong bottle of bleach with you

Room Tip: Just don, t go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    78
    66
    41
    51
See reviews for
61
134
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

booked this hotel thinking it was in Snowdonia national park which it is not. It was raining when we arrived which didn't help and the place is one of the most dismal places I've seen in a long time. It is surrounded by hills of slate waste. The room was not very clean. Breakfast was fine but one morning a novice must have been standing in the for the usual girl and the people on the table next to us were served a full English with porridge as a side dish! We had to pay the whole price on booking (we thought this was because it was so popular) but I think it was more to stop you moving on. They say this town is OK for a visit but don't bother staying

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel was very very nice amazing . The check in was very quick and smooth. The staff at the front desk were very professional. The restaurants in the hotel are very fine. The hotel was a good break to rest from the busy and smog filled city. Overall good experience. amazing like it and recommend it

Room Tip: lovely place and rooms were very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toshniwal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Expensive for what you get. The hotel has good kerb appeal but its a pity that it doesn't translate to the rooms.
The 'newly refurbished' double room on the top floor was tiny and the window was dangerous as it opened from the floor upwards with no guard and a 15ft drop below. The TV was tiny and the toilet was dirty and the flush was noisy and inadequate. The second room we had was larger but the blind in the bathroom did not fit and 1ft of clear glass was not covered which resulted in anyone in the road or the little slate memorial across the road seeing you on the toilet or in the shower quite clearly! The window in the bedroom was also unable to close properly.
On the plus side - the breakfast was tasty, but although we was the only one's waiting, it took 15 mins for the waitress to notice us to seat us.
The check-in staff/bar staff was very pleasant, and when we complained about the 1st room it was dealt with straight away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkyfeet447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blaenau Ffestiniog hotels

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this hotel with my wife and our friends .Staff welcomed us and showed us to our rooms which are large and clean.Had a drink in the bar good prices, had a meal in the restaurant which was realy good .So we had our main meals here for the 3 nights we were here.Breakfast is also top notch.We will be staying here next year all being well.

Room Tip: Choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We came off the Ffestinog -narrow gauge train and went in for lunch only..
The hotel is the closest eatery to the rail station. First impressions were not so good as turning right into the lounge area the chairs and sofa were worn nearly threadbare. After that there was a small bar and a bar/restaurant area behind. This area was comfortable and in good condition. There was a good menu and I have to say the food served was good and also good value.The only staff member around was running the reception, the bar and restaurant and very pleasantly too. It's called multitasking I think.
Very nice but they need to visit a furniture supplier!

Room Tip: We only used the food facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckfast39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Absolute avoid at all costs. Terrible food that was clearly not cooked by anyone who knew what they were doing. Steak and Ale Pie was dreadful and the fish and chips were soaked in oil and inedible. How can you mess up fish and chips??

Tourist trap and totally crap

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
8.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.2 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel

Property: Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3ES, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing