We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Kings Head Hotel(Blaenau Ffestiniog)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Goat Hotel(Beddgelert)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel(Nant Gwynant)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bryn Tyrch Inn(Capel Curig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
207
44
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
44
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadjohn celiahobbit roomguest housewet roomelectric car chargingb bcup of tealocal areasteam trainrenewable energygreen energyevery morningcakeffestiniog railwaycharging pointsfeed the ducks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Had one night in the Hobbit room with my girlfriend. Celia & John kindly allowed us to bring our two daschunds and treated us all very kindly. A warm welcome with tea & cake was fab along with tips on where to eat & drink nearby that was also dog friendly. The eco policy is superb, you feel that they really are making a difference and perhaps you should & could be doing more yourself. Location is central to Snowdonia. Spread the word to all your friends & family to stay here! Can't wait to return!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TightNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynelltyd, junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Wof woooooof wooooer wofffe and also thanks to mum and dad for the great review. Great you liked what we are trying to do.
If you know anyone with any interest in steam trains get them to look at the Ffestiniog steam gala in May. It looks superb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Had 2 days stay in school holidays; Great location for travelling around Snowdonia and easy access to steam railway to coast. Very quiet spot but some nice wildlife to see. Excellent breakfast from Celia and the home made bread was fantastic!
Easy to park and the eco policy of the guest house is to be commended. There was still some snow on the hills but a nice wood fire was going in the dining room. Very useful to have wi-fi as well. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks for review. Great you enjoyed your stay and appreciated or little eco bits.
We had a lorry deliver 6t on local wood pellet fuel for our wood gas burning heating system.
We are Ok for fuel for over 14 months now

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was my first B&B experience as an adult with a child and we were lucky enough to stay in the Wrysgan room, which turned out to be an added bonus. To access this room you walk through a sitting room, and it meant that of an evening I could put my son to bed and sit next door with the roaring fire whilst he went to sleep.

John and Ceilia were very welcoming, and offered a cup of tea on arrival; just what the doctor ordered! Breakfast was very tasty (with locally sourced food (including gorgeous yogurts) and freshly made bread each day) and my son was given the left overs to go and feed the ducks and trout afterwards, which his thoroughly enjoyed. John gave us a daily weather forecast and offered a selection of menus for us to use to help us to decide where to eat of an evening.

The location of the guesthouse itself is great, with many walks from the house itself. We visited Portmadog (Black Rock Sands), Cricceith beach, Beddgelert (Gelert's grave and the ice cream shop), Snowdon, Piggery Pottery in Cwm-y-glo, Caernarfon Castle and the Great Orme Ancient Copper mines from here, and took a trip on the steam railway too. My son is already asking when we can go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynelltyd, JNR KITCHEN SLAVE at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks for the review. great to hear you liked us and our ducks. Make the most of the little fella as they grow up really quick.
Great to hear you visited the Great Orme, hope you got to see some of the wild goats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend to explore the hills and local slate mines. We were made very welcome and stayed in a little detached room called the hobbit which was fantastic. The food was brilliant, freshly cooked and locally sourced and the whole feel to the place is very cosy and welcoming after a day on the hills. I would recommend to anyone and will definitely return in the very near future !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaceypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks for review. Glad you enjoyed what we are trying to do here. The steam trains are having a May gala and you will probability be allowed to drive and toot the train for free at Blaenau. Look up FFESTINIOG RAILWAY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Delicious food locally sourced, lovely room with comfortable bed, stunning location and friendly hosts. Topped off by log burning fire, spectacular views and Eco friendly, can't wait to return! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelDando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brynelltyd, Junior kitchen slave at Bryn Elltyd eco Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thanks for great review. We have had lots of white stuff painted on hills since your trip. Not on the road just to look pretty on hills.

Regards,
John WHITEHEAD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews