We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really warm welcome”
Review of The Don

The Don
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Don
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Myself and two colleagues stayed at The Don during a team building trip. We had weary bones after a tough day trekking up the slate mine and we were greated warmly by the owner a lovely woman. Our rooms were homely and clean, and the views were stunning. Not only were we made to feel welcome but she got up a 5:30 am to cook us a full breakfast before we left. If your ever in the area and can't face camping I highly recommend The Don

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timboslice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

I must say warning bells did sound when booking the room on the telephone and the landlady said she didnt live at 'The Don' but would be opening just for us as there were no other bookings. But was heartened by the fact that there was a secure garage that we could leave our bikes in. In fact we were greeted by a friend of the owner,and given a choice of 2 rooms... a double at the front, which looked onto the scaffolding across the narrow, busy and noisy High Street, or a twin room at the back which was lighter, quieter and had views of the mountains behind. We chose the twin. I think the photos on the website must have been taken some time agao, because the wallpaper was actually peeling at the top, and there were very large damp patches on the ceiling of the bedroom and the ensuite. Although the bed linen was clean, and smelt fresh, there was a damp smell in the room, and the towels (which were conditioned to repel water!) smelt damp too. There were several dead woodlice around the edges of the carpet, and I couldn't tell if the staining on the bathroom suite was from age, or was actually dirty ( I didn't want to look too closely) The uht milk was out of date (!) but we were given fresh in a jug by the stand-in landlady. Anyway.. we needed to get washed up and get out for some grub before the restaurants (2) shut so weren't spending too much time in the room. We did sleep well. Next morning.. couldnt get the tv to work to check the weather, there was only intermittant interent connection in Blaenau, no wifi on site. The Dining Room was cold, unlit, and a bit dismal. There were two tanks of very sad looking tropical fish, peering through algae covered glass, I don''t know how they were alive actually. Breakfast was a full english, which was actually rather greasy, though we did eat it all. The downstairs smelt of cigarette smoke.... coming down to breakfast reminded me of coming down to breakfast at my nans house.. but she's been dead 30 years. The stand in land lady and her husband were as helpful as they could be, but I think a B & B really needs to be managed full time, not covered by some friends who live up the road. The Don is in a great position for Snowdonia.. great motorcycling and cycling, and with the garage a great stop over for either of these types of guest.. but the owner needs to spend a little money, and especially some time to justify £65 a night. That was too much. Sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Treesrwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Due to working in the area, my wife and I wished to stay overnight. We booked by phone with a warm and friendly response. On arrival the owner was not present but we were shown our room and given advise where we could get a meal. On returning to the Don at 8.00 p.m. we were rather surprised that the lounge area was locked up and we could not gain access to use the bar etc. The following morning we met the owner who was very welcoming and provided a well cooked full English breakfast. The room was nicely presented and relatively clean but small, we did see other rooms that were bigger and had lovely views. Parking is only possible on a public car park away from the property but within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and not on the road side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We received a warm welcome and enjoyed our stay at the Don. The view from our room was fantastic and the owners could not have made us more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The owners gave us a lot of local info as to where to eat etc. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good for us - but that's Wales for you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We spent one night at the Don bed and breakfast. We were made to feel most welcome. Not only did our hostess recommend a restaurant for dinner, but also called ahead to inform them we were going (in that part of Wales places usually close very early!).

Our double room with ensuite was extremely clean, quiet and comfortable and had an amazing view. In fact during all our driving holiday, this was the only hotel/bb where biscuits were made available with the tea and coffee making facilities. The full English breakfast was excellent and served exactly at our convenience. Our hosts were extremely attentive to our needs and very help in every way. The price was also very reasonable We had a wonderful stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diasym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed at The Don on the recommendation of a business colleague and, I have to say, was surprised to find this little gem. The landlady was a very friendly, courteous host and had some useful tips on where to go and what to see locally. The building itself was very nice and the views of the surrounding Snowdonia were excellent.
A nice place to stay: family and business travellers alike will, I'd have thought, feel very welcome here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atlrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The Don guest house surpassed my expectations. A large en-suite room with great views, very clean hroughout. A great nights sleep followed by a hearty breakfast cooked to perfection. There's nothing better to set you up for a day's mountain biking.
The landlady was very helpful and friendly. I have already booked my next stay at the end of August and can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
7.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#6 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don

Address: 147 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 3AX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Price Range: £52 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Don 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don is a family run Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Snowdonia. The Don is perfectly located to explore Snowdonia and North Wales. Walks on the Moelwyn mountains are just minutes away, and the views of the mountains to the rear are breathtaking at any time of the day. There is convenient access to transport to all the local attractions, which include the famous Ffestiniog Steam Railway approximately 10-15 minutes walk from The Don, The Llechwedd Slate Caverns, Portmeirion Village, Snowdonia National Park and also access to the coast and the beach is not far away. Snowdon is approximately 45 minutes drive away. We provide a warm welcome and offer comfortable en-suite accommodation with stunning views to the rear of the property. A hearty breakfast in our comfortable dining room will prepare you for the day ahead. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Don Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing