We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Snowdon of Welsh B & B's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B
Reviewed 28 June 2009

In 35 years and countless B & B's, this is the very best - top of the pile. A 5 star rating is just not enough.

Tal -Y-Bont is in a brilliant location, where the pace of life is so agreeable. Ideally situated for beaches, castles, gardens, railways and of course, the mountains and lakes.

The accommodation is first class, but the best is the hosts, Ann & Denis. Nothing is too much trouble. Food and ambience is top rate.

Our week went far too quickly, we will certainly be back again soon. If you are looking for an "Out -of-this-World" experience, then book now.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

Tal y Bont is the very best Bed and Breakfast house. If B&Bs were rated like hotels this would be a five star B&B. If Carling did B&B this would be it! We will definitely return. Don’t hesitate, just phone or email Ann and Denis and book yourself a real treat. You won’t regret it. Lovely hosts, great food, with wonderful views in a peaceful pastoral setting.
The house is a lovely traditional large Welsh country house on three floors. The house is warm, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with plenty of its original features such a wonderful slate floor in the large entrance hall / sitting room with an inglenook fireplace framed in slate. There’s another guest sitting room and dining room, too, overlooking the view.
The setting is glorious and the views are perfection. The house overlooks the colourful garden and beyond to a very large field complete with sheep and lambs and, in the distance, there are two old stone bridges at the confluence of two rivers. The view is perfectly framed by the heavily wooded Vale of Ffestiniog valley. The bridges and the rivers are about an easy 500 metres walk away. There is no other house in sight.
The guest bedrooms are on the first floor. We stayed in the spacious family room for three nights. The beds are very comfortable. A kettle and tea and coffee provided for making your early morning cuppa. Loved this room.
Ann and Denis are the most generous hosts. Guests are welcomed with the offer of tea and a home made cake and a drink at bedtime.
Ann is a very skilful cook and all meals are cooked on the Aga.
The breakfasts are superb and consistently cooked to perfection with unlimited quantities of good, strong coffee. Or tea. Ann uses organic ingredients wherever possible and cooks healthy, wholesome, tasty, delicious and plentiful food.
It’s essential to give plenty of notice for an evening meal as food this good is planned and prepared with great care and stylishly presented. Denis can recommend good restaurants within easy driving distance.
For train enthusiasts Tal y Bont Country House is ideally situated about three miles from the Ffestiniog steam railway at Tan y Bwlch station.
The Tal y Bont is a great choice of base to explore Snowdonia National Park and the various castles and the beaches.
Denis is excellent fun and quickly makes everyone feel at home. The banter here is high quality! Laughter lives here.
Do look at Denis’s large scale framed map with the Tal y Bont in the centre of the map. He is justifiably proud of this unique map.
Ann is a lovely gentle lady and they are a warm hearted couple who truly want their guests to have a good holiday.
We loved our stay in Ann and Denis’s home and felt immediately that we were welcome guests in their lovely home.
Just book yourself a few days or a longer stay with them. You won’t find better anywhere and it’s very good value for money. What a gorgeous, happy place it is. Very sad to leave but happy memories came with us.
Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This is a beautiful place even when it rains! The hosts, Denis and Ann are the most genuinely attentive, generous and helpful couple you could wish for and for whom nothing is too much trouble in making their guests feel at home. The food is lovely, the beds big and comfortable, the rooms beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. The house is full of character, warm and well kept and the view whilst being served an excellent breakfast is worth the price on its own. An absolutely 1st rate B&B in every respect. Will be going back there again at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We had wonderful weekend at Ann and Denis amazing Tal-Y-Bont country house. Ann and Denis are so lovely; our son felt at home straight away. The area around the house is amazing, so green; you can see the river and the little stone bridge through the window, looks as a postcard. The family room is great, organized well, there is a lot of space and you can feel the hosts’ touch anywhere. The breakfast is served in such generosity manner and everything was so fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We had a fantastic time, Ann and Dennis are the most welcoming hosts in Wales. This was our second stay and once again everything was perfect . We had evening meals and the curry Ann cooked on Saturday night was suburb, even home made naan bread and mango chutney! The location is ideal for touring and walking in the Snowdonia National Park and the house is set in one of the most beautiful valleys in north Wales. We can't wait to go again in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millwallKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Beautiful stay at Tal-Y-Bont! We booked this 2 night stay after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and it did not dissappoint. The guest house is very comfortable and rooms are beautfully done. The hosts were extremely generous and attentive, and the family room was very spacious with everything we needed. As a family with 2 youngsters aged 1 and 3 years we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast and Dinner were excellent, and its a great location for exploring snowdonia. Do not hestitate, its a little gem.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I had never stayed in a proper b&b before (just a couple of “guest house” experiences) and was overwhelmed by this beautiful b&b and its owners, Ann & Denis. I have nothing but praise about this lovely idyllic place. So I’ll start from the beginning:
I saw a tv programme about the FFestiniog railway and decided to treat my husband to a (kiddie style) weekend trip to North Wales, then I searched tripadvisor for hotels/b&bs in the area, and Tal-y-bont popped up with the one positive comment. I then checked their website, and was so impressed by its simplicity and you could just feel the care and passion they had put into everything.
I then contacted Ann & Denis and they were really prompt to get back to me, always very kind and patient, even though I had millions of questions.
We had no problems finding the b&b (arrived from Porthmadog direction), and were immediately impressed by the cuddly little house, the sheep everywhere, and the peace and calm!
The house itself is really charming, and you can see Ann and Denis have really spent time and care decorating it. We had chosen the Afon room, and it looks exactly the same as on their website.
Ann is a superb cook! The best breakfasts and a delicious dinner….honestly the best crème brulee I have ever eaten…. I’d go back tomorrow just for the crème brulee! We also had a packed lunch prepared, and it was so abundant! And Denis is a cheerful and witty host with beautiful entertaining skills and a good collection of ales.
They were also really helpful when recommending nearby pubs – we went to a really nice one close by, which had a good choice of local Evan Evans ales!
We shouldn’t forget Doris the sheep, who punctually comes for her bread in the mornings!

We could have stayed there forever! It is such a pastoral idyll, and a little jewel hidden in the valleys of North Wales.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanamdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaenau Ffestiniog
2.7 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#6 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
371 reviews
2.5 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pengwern
Pengwern
#3 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B

Address: Talybont None | Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 4HG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at Tal-y-Bont Country House, a traditional rural house full of historical character set in the lea of the Snowdonia Moelwyn Mountains. Situated midway between Porthmadog and Blaenau Ffestiniog, it is ideally situated for easy access by car to several beaches, castles, mountains (including Snowdon) and steam railways. All rooms are en-suite. Hearty breakfasts, outstanding views and log fires will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing