We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We booked fairly last minute, just from reading previous people’s reviews and we were not disappointed. Ann and Dennis were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived. This is more than just a B&B it's a little piece of heaven. The view from our bedroom was amazing with nothing noiser than the bleat of the sheep in the fields, despite being close to the road. It is perfectly situated for touring Snowdonia National Park and with all the tips and hints from the owners we were more than delighted with our choice.

Dennis’ sense of humour made it all the more enjoyable and Ann’s cooking is to die for! Albert the lab always greeted us on returning home from our trips and Ann was always quick with a freshly brewed cup of tea, hot chocolate or coffee not forgetting a hot crumpet or chocolate biscuit.

This is not just a B&B, it is an experience of luxury and relaxation, what more can I say, but that it was simply perfect.

Thank you Ann & Dennis for a wonderful break – we will be back and we will recommend to anyone who cares to listen!

The Englands (Mad Hatters of Frampton Cotterell – private joke).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8ngel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

We took a four night break in June having researched and chosen this excellent B&B, which turned out to be brilliantly situated for getting around Snowdonia. We are not familiar with the area so this was a good start.

The house is substantial and our room was as I'd hoped it would be with plenty of space and well furnished in keeping with a country house. There were really good views across and down the valley, green and pleasant and naturally enough lots of sheep!
The owners, Ann and Denis, made our stay most enjoyable, but they achieve that with apparent ease. They are excellent hosts and good company and if you're lucky you might just be greeted with a cold beer after a long day in the saddle!

You will, however, be certain of breakfasts to die for!

The local hotel/restaurant turned out to be an excellent eatery and watering hole too.

Very importantly we were also able to take our dog along, and he too made a friend, Albert the house lab! Walking the dog couldn't be easier, there's a quiet lane straight outside the property.

So, everyone happy and altogether, a really nice break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperSomerset_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Ours was a last-minute booking for just one night and we chose Tal-y Bont on the strength of excellent reviews. Well here's yet another one. Such was the friendliness of our super hosts Ann and Dennis, the quality of the rooms, the outstanding food and the magical location, we have returned home more revitalised than if we had spent 4 or 5 days in certain other guest houses. This is an absolute gem and all the lovely little touches so thoughtfully provided by Ann and Dennis will remain fresh in our minds until we are able to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipity011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Difficult to add more to the reviews below. Anne & Dennis have simply got it right. The location is fab, the welcome warm, the food is great, the chat, banter & knowledge sharing is superb.
My wife and I came to Snowdonia for a short break in April and soon the cityworking life had ebbed away.
I could write more about the functional parts of our time at Tal-y-bont but that would not do our stay justice. However what we felt when we left was that we had been staying with friends - that is so much more than function or service training - quite simply Anne & Dennis enjoy having people to stay and this shows in everything they do for their guests.

Dennis - thanks for sharing a Welsh beer with me - I'm still working my way through the ones I brought back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

No one could wish for better hosts than Dennis and Anne ,the relaxed atmosphere that is the most obvoius feature of this establishment is further enhanced by the excellant accomadation and service ,the food is all home cooked to a high standard and there is plenty of it!
The location is ideal for accessing all local attractions.
Waking up to such views is starts the day as it goes on.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william_bird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We spent a night at Tal y Bont and totally loved it - the room (we stayed in the family suite since it was a quiet day) was fantastic and comfy with loads of space and a great bathroom; breakfast was delicious and totally set us up for our adventurous day ahead; Ann and Dennis were wonderful hosts and lovely to chat with; and, of course, Albie the labrador was a charming bonus on the whole visit! Loved it - we strongly recommend it!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank smartlikeafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Have just spent a long weekend at Tal-y-Bont and didn't want to go home. Fantastic atmospheric 17th century cottage set in the beautiful Vale of Ffestiniog. Was pampered by happy to please, Denis and Ann but sadly Albert was on his hols. Excellent value for money, will be returning in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blaenau Ffestiniog hotels
2.8 mi away
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
Gwesty Ty Gorsaf Hotel
#9 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Capel Pisgah
Capel Pisgah
#5 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Craig Ddu
Craig Ddu
#7 of 9 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Llechrwd Riverside Campsite
Llechrwd Riverside Campsite
#2 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
25 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B

Address: Talybont None | Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, Blaenau Ffestiniog LL41 4HG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Blaenau Ffestiniog
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenau Ffestiniog
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at Tal-y-Bont Country House, a traditional rural house full of historical character set in the lea of the Snowdonia Moelwyn Mountains. Situated midway between Porthmadog and Blaenau Ffestiniog, it is ideally situated for easy access by car to several beaches, castles, mountains (including Snowdon) and steam railways. All rooms are en-suite. Hearty breakfasts, outstanding views and log fires will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tal-Y-Bont Country House B&B Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing