We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mohua Motels
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anatoki Lodge Motel(Takaka)(Great Value!)
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beachfront Motel(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park(Pohara)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$179
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awaroa Lodge(Abel Tasman National Park)
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Split Apple Retreat(Abel Tasman National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
155
29
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
29
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat place to staygreat locationinformation centregolden baywithin easy walking distanceone bedroom unitwould stay here againmodern motelclean showervillage theatrepetrol stationthe air conditioningsalmon farmno bookingquality roomsfarm landnz motels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked Mohua hotel on the same day as arrival and found the reservation process over the phone to be not very good. While we reserved a room with king size bed on arrival 15 minutes later we were told no king size beds are available. After further conversation, the king size room was located and we took it (room 1 right beside reception). As we traveled during busy Christmas period, the motel was virtually full. This has a typical motel setup where you park your car across from the room.

The room is a standard motel room, clean and in good order. The staff at the reception were helpful in identifying good places to walk. The location was pretty good however if you stay in the city the distances are small so with the car everything is close. All in all an average stay, I would recommend to confirm that type of room prior to arrival.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello IIya42, thank you for taking the time to review Mohua Motels. Our guests are important to us and our mission is to always provide great service and facilities for our guests. We are sorry your experience of the reservation process at the time of your booking to be unsatisfactory. We hope you do experience beautiful Golden Bay again and the great service Mohua Motels provide their guests.
Kind regards
Lenaire Crockford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My partner daughter and I stayed for one night and found the rooms to be excellent.. Definitely the best and most modern in Takaka . The room had excellent heating(aircon).
The staff were very friendly and accommodating .10/10

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twochilledoutkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello Twochilledoutkiwis. Thank you for taking some time out of your busy time to write a lovely review of Mohua Motels. We look foward to welcoming you back some day. Warm regards Lenaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Well appointed and most importantly, quiet units with a comfortable bed. Fresh and clean. Plenty of parking and an easy walk to shops and playground. We definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamiltonian38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Good evening Hamiltonian38, thank you for taking the time to review Mohua Motels as "Best on our trip"
I'm glad you found the units well appointed, fresh and clean. Warm regards Lenaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The motel is modern, quiet, comfortable and well appointed. The owners are welcoming and helpful and there rates are very reasonable.
They are only a hop, skip and jump away from town for food and sigjt seeing and provide good information on what is available in the area. I highly recommend this motel to anybody traveling to Goldern Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonogreasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi there Jonogreasr, Thank you for reviewing Mohua as a 'Great place to stay.' The supermarket and eating places are so handy... and are only a hop, skip and jump away. Regards Lenaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A wonderful motel, clean fresh and extremely comfortable. Friendly, helpful, informative staff with lots of local knowledge. Everything you could need is supplied and great value. Great for self catering with well equipped kitchenette and a bbq available for use in courtyard. Lots of attractions nearby so plenty to see and do, only had a weekend there so will have to go back to see the rest. Will stay longer next time for sure. Thanks for making our trip so delightfully memorable Mohua Motels, you are the tops.

Room Tip: Great location central to most attractions. Next to information centre but didn't really need to go there as the motel owner has heaps of local knowledge and supplies maps and very clear directions on arrival.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohuaGoldenBay, Owner at Mohua Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi there Jade 1903, thank you for your awesome review. ...'Mohua Motels, you are the tops', that means alot to the staff and us. We look forward to your return! Kind regards Lenaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews