We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Property in Takaka-"The Rocks" is a must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rocks Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rocks Chalets
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Property in Takaka-"The Rocks" is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked one night and ended up staying four! Owners, Chris and Patty had such vision to build these independent free standing chalets strategically placed around these huge rock outcroppings. The grounds are gorgeous with various fruit trees in abundance and wonderful caves to explore. Each bungalow is very private and has a free standing barbecue. Just ask for your barbecue utensils from Patty and you can cook up your own gourmet dinner at home (although we preferred dining at the fabulous Eatery on the Rock...Chris is an excellent chef...try the rack of lamb and salmon-yum!). The bungalows are very quiet, extremely clean and have big comfy beds, large TV, huge and very clean bathrooms with great showers and super strong water pressure. AC and heat is there if you need and very quiet. The free wifi is fantastic (Chris mentioned that the production team for The Lord of The Rings stayed here and hence wifi was major). Chris and Patty are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We loved our stay and hope we can return. We highly recommend The Rocks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tui bungalow and loved the big private garden area and picnic table where we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your nice comments we enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back in NZ Golden bay soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
92
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had the pleasure of spending two nights in the Rocks Chalet and during our three weeks on the South Island this is the most memorable hotel by far. The setting is quite interesting and the chalets are a very good size and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the carper clean and the bath large and well designed. There is adequate closet space and a comfortable sofa. The outdoor patio is private, scenic and includes a small table and chairs. What we found interesting was an individual barbecue grill for each unit. I say interesting since the studio kitchen has a very limited offering and there are neither the tools to grill nor the means to serve and cleanup afterward.

Based upon what we saw elsewhere in town the Rocks Chalet is far and away the best option in Takaka and one of the better in South Island. Our only regret is that we were unable to spend more time in this very comfortable property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are glad you had a good look around and enjoyed our place had you looked under the lid of your BBQ you would have found the mysterious tools of culinary creations, we replace all your dishes each morning when servicing chalets so no need for cleaning facilities .We believe in creating a home from home without the chores. Hope to see you soon no need to bring you rubber gloves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We ate at Eatery on the Rocks, the restaurant associated with this hotel. We toured the grounds and were so impressed with the free standing chalets, the beautiful grounds, and the little cave with glow worms! This is a lovely setting and we will be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you we find the glow worms fascinating ourselves see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying in the Pukeko chalet and are enjoying it so much we decided to add an extra night here, lucky us!
This is the perfect place to return too after exploring the many amazing places up here, there is so much to do, see and explore and we come back here at the end of each day to the best shower and bed and a spacious comfortable room to chill out in. The grounds are awesome and the hosts Chris and Pat are lovely.
We highly recommend it here and we will return

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DUBLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
The Bay is a special place we are glad you have taken the time to find some of its meny treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Rocks Chalets are conveniently located on the main road in and out of Takaka which makes them perfect for anyone interested in traveling to Abel Tasman National Park and Farewell Spit or Wharariki Beach. The owners have given a personal touch to everything on the property and made it a priority to personally show us around the grounds. The rooms are incredibly spacious and every detail has been thought of. A must stay in Takaka!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We basically designed what we like private large rooms, powerful shower, comfortable beds and quiet.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at The Rocks for two nights and also ate in the restaurant. The setting was fantastic, the chalet was immaculate and wonderfully spacious. The bed was the most comfortable of our three week stay in NZ!
The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the walk to and from the chalets to the restaurant via the glow worms was just an added bonus.
Couldn't rate this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you I'm glad you enjoyed our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have been staying & The Rocks Chalets for the past few days & rate them the best we have stayed in so far during our South Island road trip. We only intended to stay for one night but stayed for 3. The chalets are private, very comfortable, clean with a casual resort feel about them. Beds & showers are great. The owners Pat & Chris are helpful & available without being intrusive- would not even consider looking at other accommodation if we came back to Takaka.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tui chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
10.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
12.1 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
14.8 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 7 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Property: The Rocks Chalets
Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Highway | Tasman, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks chalets offer 5 one bedroom affordable private island style chalets each with their own en suit bathroom, patio and garden, and 1 two bedroom family unit with private deck. The chalets have been built amongst the large Karst rock formations, which dominate the four-acre award winning gardens. Commanding breath-taking views of Takaka and the surrounding hills. Just minutes from beautiful beaches and all that Golden bay has to offer. The Rocks is perfectly located, within walking distance of Takaka township and sandwiched between two national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing