We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a Golden Bay experience”
Review of The Rocks Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rocks Chalets
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We absolutely loved our chalet at The Rocks. As well as being spacious, spotless and comfortable, the eye-appeal was outstanding. Unusually for a motel, the bed had a footboard, ensuring the bedding did not escape off the end as often happens. Don't ever change that, Chris and Pat! The amazing rock formations around the property are great fun to explore and having the restaurant on site makes eating out easy (be sure to order the bread and dips - delicious!). While we managed without a sink for a couple of nights, for a longer stay it would be good to wash dishes without using the bathroom basin. A nice little addition would be a small coffee table in front of the sofa. We commandeered the patio table for the purpose and while it worked just fine, it looked a bit odd! Chris mentioned he is planning to install king-size beds and an outdoor bath in some units. We love a luxurious bed and for us, that includes a headboard and footboard, but we prefer a queen-size bed. A well-designed bath would be super, especially if there is space to put a glass (unbreakable) alongside. But these are minor points in what is a wonderful place to stay. We hope to return for a longer visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyD_Jayzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for your comments pleased you liked the overall space have considered coffee tables before but on second thoughts it takes up the space to pull out the double sofa bed. Whoever checked you in must have forgotten to tell you that all dirty dishes are replaced clean each day so no need on your holiday to use bathroom for dishes. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for The Rocks Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked one night and ended up staying four! Owners, Chris and Patty had such vision to build these independent free standing chalets strategically placed around these huge rock outcroppings. The grounds are gorgeous with various fruit trees in abundance and wonderful caves to explore. Each bungalow is very private and has a free standing barbecue. Just ask for your barbecue utensils from Patty and you can cook up your own gourmet dinner at home (although we preferred dining at the fabulous Eatery on the Rock...Chris is an excellent chef...try the rack of lamb and salmon-yum!). The bungalows are very quiet, extremely clean and have big comfy beds, large TV, huge and very clean bathrooms with great showers and super strong water pressure. AC and heat is there if you need and very quiet. The free wifi is fantastic (Chris mentioned that the production team for The Lord of The Rings stayed here and hence wifi was major). Chris and Patty are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We loved our stay and hope we can return. We highly recommend The Rocks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tui bungalow and loved the big private garden area and picnic table where we could...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your nice comments we enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back in NZ Golden bay soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had the pleasure of spending two nights in the Rocks Chalet and during our three weeks on the South Island this is the most memorable hotel by far. The setting is quite interesting and the chalets are a very good size and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the carper clean and the bath large and well designed. There is adequate closet space and a comfortable sofa. The outdoor patio is private, scenic and includes a small table and chairs. What we found interesting was an individual barbecue grill for each unit. I say interesting since the studio kitchen has a very limited offering and there are neither the tools to grill nor the means to serve and cleanup afterward.

Based upon what we saw elsewhere in town the Rocks Chalet is far and away the best option in Takaka and one of the better in South Island. Our only regret is that we were unable to spend more time in this very comfortable property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

We are glad you had a good look around and enjoyed our place had you looked under the lid of your BBQ you would have found the mysterious tools of culinary creations, we replace all your dishes each morning when servicing chalets so no need for cleaning facilities .We believe in creating a home from home without the chores. Hope to see you soon no need to bring you rubber gloves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We ate at Eatery on the Rocks, the restaurant associated with this hotel. We toured the grounds and were so impressed with the free standing chalets, the beautiful grounds, and the little cave with glow worms! This is a lovely setting and we will be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SydH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you we find the glow worms fascinating ourselves see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We are currently staying in the Pukeko chalet and are enjoying it so much we decided to add an extra night here, lucky us!
This is the perfect place to return too after exploring the many amazing places up here, there is so much to do, see and explore and we come back here at the end of each day to the best shower and bed and a spacious comfortable room to chill out in. The grounds are awesome and the hosts Chris and Pat are lovely.
We highly recommend it here and we will return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DUBLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

The Bay is a special place we are glad you have taken the time to find some of its meny treasures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Rocks Chalets are conveniently located on the main road in and out of Takaka which makes them perfect for anyone interested in traveling to Abel Tasman National Park and Farewell Spit or Wharariki Beach. The owners have given a personal touch to everything on the property and made it a priority to personally show us around the grounds. The rooms are incredibly spacious and every detail has been thought of. A must stay in Takaka!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We basically designed what we like private large rooms, powerful shower, comfortable beds and quiet.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at The Rocks for two nights and also ate in the restaurant. The setting was fantastic, the chalet was immaculate and wonderfully spacious. The bed was the most comfortable of our three week stay in NZ!
The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the walk to and from the chalets to the restaurant via the glow worms was just an added bonus.
Couldn't rate this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaddieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you I'm glad you enjoyed our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
10.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
12.1 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
151 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
397 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Highway | Golden Bay, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks Chalets offers 5 open plan private chalets each with their own en suite bathroom and patio, set amongst scenic karst rock formations. Each Chalet has a toaster, jug, cutlery, cups, plates, a fridge and a BBQ. Just a short drive from the beautiful beaches and all that Golden Bay has to offer. The Rocks is ideally located 800 metres from Takaka township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing