We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rocks Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rocks Chalets
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Retreat”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our original plan was to just pass through Takaka so we only booked one night in the Quail room. When we arrived, the hosts upgraded us to the Kerere room- which was really nice, spacious and warm (once the heat pump had been on for a bit!). The setting of the chalets is stunning- natural rock formations and rolling hills surround the establishment. The hosts are nice and the food at the restaurant is good- so we decided to stay another night! Overall, great service, great room, great experience and we’d definitely book again if we visit in the future.

Room Tip: The Quail room is quite open to the office so if it’s privacy you’re after- any of the other rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay thank you for taking the time to review us hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
93
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I am normally not a person who writes reviews but I do think this establishment just needs to be known to more people in our region.
We had a great overnight stay in one of their cosy, clean, quit and very comfortable chalets.
We decided to have our evening meal at the restaurant which was the best decision ever!
The food is just incredibly good.
As a starter we shared the Greek platter which was light and fresh with delicious Tzatziki.
My husband had the vegetarian meal, a combination off perfectly cooked vegetables in a flavour some sauce with rice and a salad presented in a lovely way on the plate.
I had the fish of the day, kingfish and the texture and taste was just perfect.
Our dessert, the Crème brûlée, one of my favourites........ to die for.
I would advise anyone who wants to enjoy an outstanding meal with great service in a lovely atmosphere to go here.
We definitely will be back on our next visit to Takaka.

Jos & Melita from Nelson

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We will try and stop blushing by the time you next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Highly recommend the Pukeko unit at The Rocks Chalets - it's quality accommodation at a reasonable price, very private & quiet. Pat & Chris were very gracious hosts and we enjoyed dining at their restaurant as well. We were very glad we chose to stay & eat here during our first ever visit to Takaka. No hesitation staying here again if we ever come back to Golden Bay.
Francis & Irene C

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis-IreneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you we try our best to exceed customers expectations hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

You should not miss the opportunity to stay here if you are visiting Golden Bay. The Chalets are well-positioned on the site and are quite spacious and well-appointed. There are also private patio areas attached to each chalet. The on-site restaurant offers excellent food with a good menu selection, well-served in a friendly atmosphere.
The site itself is well maintained and very interesting and even includes a cave with its own glow-worms!
Chris and Pat are most friendly and helpful hosts and made our stay in the area a great experience. We would highly-recommend The Rocks, both to eat and to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Fantail which offered good seclusion on the edge of the site with a lovely sunny patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyW1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your comments the glow worms will be here for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Not only was this a gem of a find as a hotel, but the restaurant of the same name was outstanding - both operated by the warm, welcoming husband and wife team that runs OTR. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed, but you just get a feel that you are in your own private place - nestled in - of course, The Rocks!
We would stay there again in a heartbeat.
And Takaka was a nicely located little city that opened up Abel-Tasman park, horseback riding at Farewell Point, and kayaking nearby.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms - each is a stand alone cabin/room - set out among gian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
It is comments like these that make it all worthwhile thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Most wonderful property to stay at in our 21 day NZ trip. Chris and Pat are friendly and gracious hosts and the accommodations are fantastic. Combine this with the Eatery on property with spectacular chef Chris made this the most enjoyable, peaceful and cost effective accommodations we had in our entire trip -- a must!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you we hope you make your return Golden Bay a must
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The main business of the Rocks seems to be its rather good restaurant. But there are also a few chalets in the grounds, and detached chalets always make a nice change from standard motel rooms. Our chalet (I don't know if they're all the same) had a large living room/bedroom and a huge and very stylish bathroom area which included a roll-in shower. There were windows in the bathroom, so cooling air circulation was easy. In front was a concreted deck area with a table and chairs - all very comfortable and spacious. The only disappointment was that the side of our cabin with windows was right next to the office and the owner's house, and although they sensitively kept their blinds down all the time (they live in the dark?) we felt overlooked and hemmed in. The other side of the cabin was next to a great big rock.

The grounds are pleasant, and the chalets are far enough back from the road for traffic not to be a nuisance (this being New Zealand, though, it's hardly Fifth Avenue or Oxford Street, and a grand total of two cars passed me when I went out for a late night stroll along the road). It's a little way out of the town, though walkable along a path should you be more energetic than me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
They say size matters thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
10.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
174 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
14.8 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shady Rest
Shady Rest
#2 of 8 in Takaka
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Property: The Rocks Chalets
Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Highway | Tasman, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rocks Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks chalets offer 5 one bedroom affordable private island style chalets each with their own en suit bathroom, patio and garden, and 1 two bedroom family unit with private deck. The chalets have been built amongst the large Karst rock formations, which dominate the four-acre award winning gardens. Commanding breath-taking views of Takaka and the surrounding hills. Just minutes from beautiful beaches and all that Golden bay has to offer. The Rocks is perfectly located, within walking distance of Takaka township and sandwiched between two national parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing