We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned hospitality and comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shady Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shady Rest
Ranked #2 of 8 Takaka B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hospitality and comfort”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had a huge room, a huge bed, and a sofa, so it was a very relaxed stay. High ceilings, rimu panelled walls and a moulded plaster ceiling complete the turn of the 19th to early 20th century decor. The breakfast was exactly what we wanted, with fresh fruit. Golden Bay is a place to spend at least a week - we should know as we used to live there.

Room Tip: In hot weather choose the street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueduck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The welcome you receive when arriving at the old doctors residence in Takaka is amazing. Mark the host makes you feel right at home and the house and rooms do not disappoint! We spent one night here with my wife my parents and my in laws. It was perfect and beautifully kept, Marks breakfast is just the way to start the day!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We weren't quite sure where to stay in Takaka, but plumped for a Trip Advisor-approved place (as is often the case), and were far from disappointed. Some nice little touches here that we really appreciated. Comfort-plus. If we're ever lucky enough to pass through the area again, the Shady Rest willbe a no-brainer for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waikatonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan, Myanmar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Dont pass through Takaka wondering where to stay without checking this place out. We stopped for a nosey and didn't want to leave two nights later. Mark has worked wonders on this old property which is a pure delight. Make sure to ask about the history of the carpets/curtains. Surprise guaranteed. Marks breakfasts and company are great.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takaka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is an excellent and very reasonable place to stay given all that you get. The B&B is located near many great trails and stores, the village has wonderful cafes and heathy food within walking distance and the place is designed with loving detail. I have travelled to any destinations and have stayed in more hotels than I can count - The generous and warm service by Mark and hs staff is exceptional - I have never been so well looked after and would highly recommend this place foe short and long stays. I stayed one night and actually came back for more!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticogillani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Wonderful bed, breakfast and welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed nearly three weeks at end of Jan 2012 (visiting family) and it met our needs in every way. Marc and his colleques went the extra mile and are definitely worth a visit if you are in this area.
Thanks for a great visit Marc and hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice old house made into B&B. Mark, the host, is a nice guy, helpful. The trouble he goes to over the breakfast is exceptional - real quality. Comfy beds, quiet and homely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
9.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
174 reviews
12.4 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waitapu Springs B&B
Waitapu Springs B&B
#1 of 8 in Takaka
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
137 reviews
13.8 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest

Property: Shady Rest
Address: 139 Commercial Street | Golden Bay, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Rest is an early 20th century art nouveau doctors residence set amongst mature native trees 5 minutes walk from the centre of Takaka township. This lovely old house has been renovated and is now a luxury Bed and Breakfast establishment with five double rooms and a single room, all rooms (except the single which has a king single bed) have super kingsize latex beds . 3 Are ensuite and 3 have their own private bathrooms . There is a courtyard at the rear of the house with a barbecue and a pizza oven. There is also an out door bath in a private little grotto . I ultimately try and create a homely atmosphere where guests are able to fully relax and make themselves at home . Having free range of the house including the kitchen and lounge areas as well as the laundry room. A nicely prepared breakfast is served between seven and ten am but this is also flexible if required. A continental breakfast with fresh fruit ,cereals , eggs and toast is included. A full cooked English style breakfast is also available. Located in Takaka township gives walking access to restaurants and bars in the town has and is central to all the activities that Golden Bay has to offer.We can arrange and book all of the tours and rentals that you may require to make your experience of Golden Bay fulfilled and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shady Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing