We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Shady Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shady Rest
Ranked #1 of 9 Takaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Mark is a great host, warm and lovely and lets you use his amazing kitchen! (and he does the dishes for you :-)) This is a lovely place to stay, the house and rooms are full of character, the bathrooms super modern and the breakfasts are restaurant quality. It was a priviledge to enjoy a bit of Takaka history/heritage and this is a great location for surrounding attractions such as Pupu Springs, the Grove, the Labynith Rocks, etc.

I really enjoyed my stay and would love to come back to visit again.

Room Tip: My parents stayed at the Grand room - it was amazing (we stayed at 'the kids room' at the ba...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takaka66, Owner at Shady Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank for posting your review , it was a pleasure to host you and your family and the children were a real hoot....it was certainly memorable for me too. Hope to see you all again Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Shady Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

After a long day we found Shady Rest in Takaka and were entranced by its beautifully restored interiors with Rimu panelled rooms and a delicious spa bath in our room which refreshed us greatly. Mark is a friendly and obliging host. Breakfast is excellent. Indeed we opted to stay for another night.

Room Tip: The room with the spa bath is especially good though there is also an outside bath in the garden und...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takaka66, Owner at Shady Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words, i am glad that you enjoyed it here and indeed stayed an extra night. It was a pleasure having you and hopefully i will see both you again. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights with Mark at this lovely old home 5 min walk to the heart of Takaka. Place has been redone and the rooms are super comfy and large. Go for the blue room with balcony. mark is a great host, knowledgable and will give you the history of this great home. They have a nice living room with great movie selection. No TV's in the room which we really liked. Great place to base for Golden bay visit. I look forward to returning there is 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurejunkie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takaka66, Owner at Shady Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks for you review, its a real lift for me when i hear that the Shady Rest is appreciated like that! It was grand to have you both and i look forward to seeing you again soon! Your eggs on toast with a smattering of marmite will be ready for you!! Happy days Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here to recuperate after walking the Abel Tasman track and it did the trick! Shady Rest has fabulous warmth and character without being over the top. Mark is a wonderful host and made us two beautiful breakfasts. We enjoyed the outdoor bath and the comfortable bed and enjoyed the luxurious feel of the place. A wonderful, wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We chose the TLC room because of the air bath. It is fabulous.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takaka66, Owner at Shady Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thanks for your kind words and appreciation. It was a pleasure to have you stay and to know that i helped to make your trip to Golden Bay a good one! I Look forward to seeing again Happy New Year. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had booked a night at the Shady Rest before going on the Heaphy Track but unfortunately bad weather threw our plans into disarray. Thankfully, Mark and his great team were there to help out and they were most accommodating and flexible. We ended up there for 3 nights. Treated like a part of the family. A real home away from home. Great rooms and fantastic value. Worth going back to Takaka just to stay at the Shady. Thanks.

Room Tip: they are all good rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here with Mark for two nights, and could have (and almost did!) cancel our travel to Christchurch and stayed for two more nights. Of all the reviews we recently submitted of our honeymoon journey through NZ, this was the best one. For originality, completely different from any other B&B, the architectural design and the welcome we received at all hours.

I will admit, Takaka is out of the way from everything except natural wonders. So if you are looking for shops and stores to browse, this is the wrong place. If you want to experience authentic NZ, stay here. We did a day in Abel Tasman, and an evening in Wharariki Beach and the Archway Islands west of the "more visited" cape farewell. BREATHTAKING and worth the drive past Collingwood. Possibly the most beautiful sight we have ever seen. We spent a few hours near sunset there, with the seal pups and completely alone. WOW.

Back to the B&B! It is a restored doctors residence as the reviews and website state. And Mark did amazing work on it. Each room is unique, and we got a tour of the other areas of the house. He made a wonderful and large breakfast each morning with organic and local ingredients, and plenty of coffee. We enjoyed socializing and he always invites you down if you wish. We had a great evening one night with the other guests out on his back porch.

There is nothing wrong with this place. It is absolutely lovely. Felt like home. Oh and the shower and tub!!!! WOW!! We stayed in the Spa suite. Highly recommended. And by the way, the bed was super comfortable :)

Go there and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley_ducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We first planned to stay in Shady Rest for two nights. But the first evening we decided to stay one night longer. At the third night we didn't want to pack for the other day, so we asked Mark (the owner) again if we could stay one night longer. Mark told us a lot of things to do in and near Takaka. Our room was very big,luxurious and clean. Every morning Mark treatet us on a great breakfast in his lovely garden. After 4 nights we left to continue our roundtrip on the southern island of New Zealand. Back home we're still thinking about our great stay in Shady Rest. Thanks a lot Mark.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominiqueHenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
12.4 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
9.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
13.8 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
108 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest

Address: 139 Commercial Street | Golden Bay, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Takaka
Price Range: £59 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Rest is an early 20th century art nouveau doctors residence set amongst mature native trees 5 minutes walk from the centre of Takaka township. This lovely old house has been renovated and is now a luxury Bed and Breakfast establishment with five double rooms and a single room, all rooms (except the single which has a king single bed) have super kingsize latex beds . 3 Are ensuite and 3 have their own private bathrooms . There is a courtyard at the rear of the house with a barbecue and a pizza oven. There is also an out door bath in a private little grotto . I ultimately try and create a homely atmosphere where guests are able to fully relax and make themselves at home . Having free range of the house including the kitchen and lounge areas as well as the laundry room. A nicely prepared breakfast is served between seven and ten am but this is also flexible if required. A continental breakfast with fresh fruit ,cereals , eggs and toast is included. A full cooked English style breakfast is also available. Located in Takaka township gives walking access to restaurants and bars in the town has and is central to all the activities that Golden Bay has to offer.We can arrange and book all of the tours and rentals that you may require to make your experience of Golden Bay fulfilled and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shady Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing